We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite part of our trip to Peru!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My favorite part of our trip to Peru!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Reserva Amazonica. I am sure I had high expectations after reading all of the wonderful reviews from tripadvisor and they met or exceeded all of them! We arrived at the airport and were taken to the Butterfly farm for checkin then to the canoe for our trip to the reserve. Everyone was so friendly, positive and helpful. Upon arrival, I was a little disappointed that the cabanas were so close together, but I am sure that is partly because of rainforest conservation so I can't fault them for that. The cabanas were beautiful. Ours had two chairs, two hammocks, two twin beds and of course a bathroom. We were pleasantly surprised to find that there is both hot and cold water. The shower at was the best that we experienced in all of our travels in Peru!

Each morning we were awakened by all of the different birds around the cabanas. On really early morning outings there was a gentleman that would lightly knock on the side of your cabana until you responded. That kind of wake up call is so much more pleasant that a telephone ringing!

Our guide was absolutely wonderful. His name was Victor and I wouldn't be surprised if he was the best guide there. He was very knowledgable, positive and truly passionate about his job. You should definitely request him on your trip. Our favorite adventure was to Sandoval Lake. We found that you really should get up early each day to maximize the number of critters you will see. Also, it gets too hot in the afternoon, it's nice to be able to nap on a hammock instead of walking through the jungle in the heat of the day.

The food was wonderful! Each meal was served buffet style. No under heat lamps style buffet, but fresh and a constantly being replinished type buffet. At breakfast, they are happy to fry or scramble and egg for you.

I was very impressed with their efficently and organization of Reserva Amazonica. Be sure to pack the coolest clothes that you own that provide the most coverage from mosquitos. We didn't have much of a problem with mosquitos, but it is always a good idea to wear long pants in the woods. Also, be sure to bring a good book or two. If you are not with your guide in the jungle, there is not much to entertain you at the reserve unless a macaw has landed on a branch close by!

  • Liked — You are truly staying in the middle of a rainforest!
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy because of the close proximity of the other cabanas.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugaerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    159
    52
    14
    3
See reviews for
183
349
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

A luxury in the middle of the jungle. Great food, luxurious cabins, extremely helpful staff. Hot showers all day. The canopy walk was awesome. Extremely safe even for kids.

The staff did an electronic checkin for us on the last day, they even carried our luggage all the way to the checkin counter. Unbeatable service!!

My only complaint is they start the activities a bit late(compared to the another lodge where we were for a couple of days).

But if you really want to get a feel of jungle, if you have more time, & do not mind cold showers and spiders in the room, you should go to Tambopata Research center or Posada Amazonas. If you have kids or cannot live without hot shower & electricity, Reserva Amazonica is the place to be in.

  • Liked — awesome service
  • Disliked — trips start a bit late
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

The first thing that happens when you get off the plane is you relax and hand over all responsibilities to Inka Terra staff. They expertly handle baggage, check-in, information dissemination, entertainment. Each group of guests has their own personal guide, assigned to them not only for activities, but also to answer questions, hang out with them for a bit, and make sure everything is going smoothly. We had Cesar, a wonderful young man who knew a lot about the area despite being a fairly new employee. He really shared himself with us and I feel so grateful to have known him!

On the first day, we got to see the butterfly farm as we waited for more guests to arrive from the airport, and then did a nature trail system walk followed by a night river ride (to see caimans). The next day, we were able to choose our activities and decided on the Lago Sandoval trip and the Canopy Walk. I would not recommend the Canopy walk as it is very popular, and you do not see many animals or birds, especially if the other guests are not quiet. But Lago Sandoval was amazing - the scenery is really beautiful and we saw many rare animals too - river otters, turtles, black caimans, monkeys.

You really get a sense that Inka Terra is really trying to be ecological, which is wonderful. They encourage the use of reusable water containers, and offer free refills as well as a water bottle to all guests. They also make sure to leave the jungle in the condition they found it, as well as educate the nearby schoolchildren about how to take care of their environment and much much more.

The place itself is pure luxury, with beautiful cabanas, comfortable beds, beautiful in that rustic way. The setting couldn't be more perfect or peaceful. And the main lodge offered food and drinks at all hours of the day. At night, one could enjoy a few cocktails while discussing your day, and then proceed to the delicious buffet. The food here was really great for all the meals, including the best breakfast of our trip.

I was so sad to leave this place. I could have stayed for a week and tried all of the activities. The place is so popular that we were unable to stay for another day as we had wanted to, and only had two nights. I would recommend 3-4 nights here, especially if you love nature.

  • Liked — the sense of relaxation from not having to worry about anything
  • Disliked — having to leave it!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonSomervilleMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

Everyhing, the facilities, rooms, management, location, service is amazing. I was there before the Christmas holiday with my friends and we all loved it. You can see and hear many animals around you bungalovs, like macaws, parrots, monkeys, millions of other type of birds. The guides, and all the other service personel was so warm, nice and helpful. Food was great. I dont think that there is anything to make you feel unhappy. It is bit expensive but worth every penny.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank umurcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

stayed for 4 days for my 40th birthday - absolutely fantastic. The 45 minute boat ride from the airport was a great insight into what to expect: on arrival everything is waiting for you - you have your own personal guide for your duration and you're free to choose whatever free excursions you wish to do..we did the night boat trip to see the caimans, the trip to Lake Sondaval, canopy walk, Gamintana Creek and the night rainforest walk....all excellent. As far as the lodge is concerned, the rooms are excellent and it was the comfiest bed we had all trip - could do with a drape for a bit of privacy though. The food was great and the staff couldn't do enough for you.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — lack of privacy
  • Tips/Secrets — bring some old walking shoes you dont mind leaving behind
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

If you like to do something different, stay at Reserva Amazonica. If you don't like bugs, birds, other animals and humidity and you must have lights, hot water, air conditioning and room service...what in the world are you doing in the jungle?
Start out from Puerto Maldonado on a 45 minute boat trip down the Rio Madre de Dios where you get a glimpse of jungle life on the river.
You arrive at RA after climbing up the river bank where you are greeted by naturalists, served a refreshing drink and shown to your cabana which has hammocks, mosquito nets over the beds (which they told us were really to keep out the vampire bats) and kerosene lamps.
The tours were fantastic! We went to Lake Sandoval where we saw monkeys, all kinds of birds, heard a great anaconda story from our guide. There were more monkeys and tarantulas and plants on a very informative nature walk right around the grounds. We saw a bunch of caiman and beautiful stars on the twilight boat ride. It was fun to be at the top of the jungle on the canopy walk (one of two such walks in the Amazon jungle).
And the food was great, too!
We even had a tarantula in our cabana. Thanks goodness we didn't see him until just before we were checking out. He was probably just keeping out the other varmints.
What a wonderful experience!

  • Liked — The hammocks
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your Deet
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

Our stay at Reserva was the last 3 nights of our Peru trip and after I was glad about that because it finally gave us the chance to relax! We ugraded to a superior cabana and it was perfect. I looked at the suites but like the Superior better, its worth the money to upgrade for sure as you get hot water and MUCH nicer accomodations.

People actually had the nerve to complain about noise from the generator which runs part of the day and about goldminers on the river which the lodge can do nothing about but we were fine with both.

The food everyday was excellent, service was excellent, guide was excellent, atmosphere excellent. Minimal mosquito problems. Disappointed that massage was not available as shown on their website as we has looked forward to that throughout the grueling earlier part of our Peru trip. Often felt uninformed there, theres no main desk and nothing that tells you what to expect during your stay etcetera, your guide is responsible for keeping you informed about meal times, excursions, etcetera. I just never felt like I knew where to go with a question or problem (such as how to replace the batteries in the in room flashlight).

We saw plenty of wildlife (monkeys, river otters, possum, capibara, caiman, insects, red squirrels, birds, etc). We loved sitting in our hammocks and relaxing at siesta time every day. I'd highly recommend the Reserva to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valerinany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#2 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
24.6 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#12 of 55 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Property: Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing