We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ecoamazonia Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    San Fernando Plaza Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Hospedaje Chonta(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Reviews (815)
    Filter reviews
    815 results
    Traveler rating
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridethree nightslaundry servicecanopy tourriver viewnight walkamazon experienceceiling fanmosquito netting
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    659 - 664 of 815 reviews
    Reviewed June 1, 2007

    The first thing that happens when you get off the plane is you relax and hand over all responsibilities to Inka Terra staff. They expertly handle baggage, check-in, information dissemination, entertainment. Each group of guests has their own personal guide, assigned to them not only for activities, but also to answer questions, hang out with them for a bit, and make sure everything is going smoothly. We had Cesar, a wonderful young man who knew a lot about the area despite being a fairly new employee. He really shared himself with us and I feel so grateful to have known him!

    On the first day, we got to see the butterfly farm as we waited for more guests to arrive from the airport, and then did a nature trail system walk followed by a night river ride (to see caimans). The next day, we were able to choose our activities and decided on the Lago Sandoval trip and the Canopy Walk. I would not recommend the Canopy walk as it is very popular, and you do not see many animals or birds, especially if the other guests are not quiet. But Lago Sandoval was amazing - the scenery is really beautiful and we saw many rare animals too - river otters, turtles, black caimans, monkeys.

    You really get a sense that Inka Terra is really trying to be ecological, which is wonderful. They encourage the use of reusable water containers, and offer free refills as well as a water bottle to all guests. They also make sure to leave the jungle in the condition they found it, as well as educate the nearby schoolchildren about how to take care of their environment and much much more.

    The place itself is pure luxury, with beautiful cabanas, comfortable beds, beautiful in that rustic way. The setting couldn't be more perfect or peaceful. And the main lodge offered food and drinks at all hours of the day. At night, one could enjoy a few cocktails while discussing your day, and then proceed to the delicious buffet. The food here was really great for all the meals, including the best breakfast of our trip.

    I was so sad to leave this place. I could have stayed for a week and tried all of the activities. The place is so popular that we were unable to stay for another day as we had wanted to, and only had two nights. I would recommend 3-4 nights here, especially if you love nature.

    • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank ShannonSomervilleMA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 27, 2007

    Everyhing, the facilities, rooms, management, location, service is amazing. I was there before the Christmas holiday with my friends and we all loved it. You can see and hear many animals around you bungalovs, like macaws, parrots, monkeys, millions of other type of birds. The guides, and all the other service personel was so warm, nice and helpful. Food was great. I dont think that there is anything to make you feel unhappy. It is bit expensive but worth every penny.

    Stayed: December 2006
    3  Thank umurcan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 19, 2006

    stayed for 4 days for my 40th birthday - absolutely fantastic. The 45 minute boat ride from the airport was a great insight into what to expect: on arrival everything is waiting for you - you have your own personal guide for your duration and you're free to choose whatever free excursions you wish to do..we did the night boat trip to see the caimans, the trip to Lake Sondaval, canopy walk, Gamintana Creek and the night rainforest walk....all excellent. As far as the lodge is concerned, the rooms are excellent and it was the comfiest bed we had all trip - could do with a drape for a bit of privacy though. The food was great and the staff couldn't do enough for you.

    • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank sally4holidays
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 13, 2006

    If you like to do something different, stay at Reserva Amazonica. If you don't like bugs, birds, other animals and humidity and you must have lights, hot water, air conditioning and room service...what in the world are you doing in the jungle?
    Start out from Puerto Maldonado on a 45 minute boat trip down the Rio Madre de Dios where you get a glimpse of jungle life on the river.
    You arrive at RA after climbing up the river bank where you are greeted by naturalists, served a refreshing drink and shown to your cabana which has hammocks, mosquito nets over the beds (which they told us were really to keep out the vampire bats) and kerosene lamps.
    The tours were fantastic! We went to Lake Sandoval where we saw monkeys, all kinds of birds, heard a great anaconda story from our guide. There were more monkeys and tarantulas and plants on a very informative nature walk right around the grounds. We saw a bunch of caiman and beautiful stars on the twilight boat ride. It was fun to be at the top of the jungle on the canopy walk (one of two such walks in the Amazon jungle).
    And the food was great, too!
    We even had a tarantula in our cabana. Thanks goodness we didn't see him until just before we were checking out. He was probably just keeping out the other varmints.
    What a wonderful experience!

    • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank PapaJerryW
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 7, 2006

    Our stay at Reserva was the last 3 nights of our Peru trip and after I was glad about that because it finally gave us the chance to relax! We ugraded to a superior cabana and it was perfect. I looked at the suites but like the Superior better, its worth the money to upgrade for sure as you get hot water and MUCH nicer accomodations.

    People actually had the nerve to complain about noise from the generator which runs part of the day and about goldminers on the river which the lodge can do nothing about but we were fine with both.

    The food everyday was excellent, service was excellent, guide was excellent, atmosphere excellent. Minimal mosquito problems. Disappointed that massage was not available as shown on their website as we has looked forward to that throughout the grueling earlier part of our Peru trip. Often felt uninformed there, theres no main desk and nothing that tells you what to expect during your stay etcetera, your guide is responsible for keeping you informed about meal times, excursions, etcetera. I just never felt like I knew where to go with a question or problem (such as how to replace the batteries in the in room flashlight).

    We saw plenty of wildlife (monkeys, river otters, possum, capibara, caiman, insects, red squirrels, birds, etc). We loved sitting in our hammocks and relaxing at siesta time every day. I'd highly recommend the Reserva to anyone.

    • Stayed: July 2006
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank valerinany
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews