We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Torre Valsai(Puerto Maldonado)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
$77
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (815)
    Filter reviews
    815 results
    Traveler rating
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridethree nightslaundry servicecanopy tourriver viewnight walkamazon experienceceiling fanmosquito netting
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    392 - 397 of 815 reviews
    Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

    The inkaterra Puerto Maldonado was our first proper stop on our Peru holiday. In essence it was excellent. For me it strikes a perfect balance of getting you close to the jungle and the environment, but in a way which is comfortable and not too challenging for city-dwellers and the over 30s.

    We spent 3 nights. There is no WiFi or mobile signal, so for some that's good enough reason to go (or not!). As they use generators, power goes off at 11pm and in the middle of the day, but to get the best from the tours etc, you need to be up by 5.30 or 6am, so you'll likely be asleep before 11pm. In any event, Paraffin lamps and torches are also provided and pre-lit in every lodge every evening on your return from the day's adventures.

    My wife and I loved the place. We did night tours in the river and the nearby jungle. We did a canopy walk in the rain forest, we took a trip to see wildlife on a local lake and best of all, an all day trip (the only one which was at extra cost, all the rest included) where we travelled up to an ox-bow lake and were able to fish for piranhas which were later cooked and served as a part of a super buffet picnic lunch.

    Everything was well thought out, well explained and we both loved it.

    Highly recommended!

    • Stayed: October 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 586Paul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

    Dear guest,

    We appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review.

    It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your visit to the southern jungle of Peru and that you keep great memories of your stay at our property.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 9, 2013

    We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday to Peru and had a superior river view cabin. The cabins have a terrace with hammocks and chairs with ceiling fans for use when there is electricity. All meals were included and the food was excellent although service could be a little hit and miss.

    We did not have dressing gowns in our room and it was quite a performance trying to get them as a lot of the staff did not speak English and our Spanish was obviously not good enough and we ended up at one point with 2 coat hangers! The guides were well informed and make the trips interesting. We especially enjoyed the evening walk in the forest. Wildlife opportunities are limited but it does give you a good insight into jungle life. We did find it difficult returning from an excursion at between 4 and 5 pm, hot and sweaty and not being able to take a hot shower until the electricity went on at 6pm. Looking for items with a torch was a little difficult. However the electricity stayed on until about 11.30 and then came back on at 4.30 am so you could shower before going out on an excursion.
    One point we would mention is that there was a miners strike on the day we were due to leave the hotel for the airport and the staff did not explain fully where we were going and how we would get our luggage back from the main office. Our boat trip which had been about 45 mins going to the hotel was about 1.5 hours leaving and we landed in the middle of nowhere and then had a 40 minute coach trip on dirt roads to get to the airport. We understood they did this to ensure we arrived safely but a little more explanation previously would have helped as no one understood why we passed the port we expected to get off at.
    Overall though we enjoyed our stay

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Alchrisuk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

    Dear guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

    We are glad you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your kind comments. We would also like to thank you for your feedback, we have informed the correct department in order to keep improving our service and communication with our guests.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 9, 2013

    We stayed here during our honeymoon in March. What a wonderful place!! It was rustic but with enough amenities so that were weren't roughing it too much. We were even upgraded to a Tambopata suite which was just a wonderful surprise!! The outside shower was our FAVORITE! Such a wonderful cool down after a hot day in the amazon.

    Our tour guide Louis was fantastic!! A master animal spotter!

    The reastaurant staff was fantastic and house keepers were like ninjas! They work around your tour/meal schedule and you constantly come back to a clean space.

    We can't say enough about this special place.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Gatraf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

    Dear guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Inkaterra.

    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you keep great memories of your visit. We would like to thank you for your kind comments, especially about our staff that is always willing to assist our guests and offer them an authentic natural experience.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica during your honeymoon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 30, 2013

    We stayed 3 nights at the start of our Peru adventure and loved every second of being here. Lets get real though, you'll love it if you immerse yourself in what this is about, it's about being in the rainforest learning about the rainforest, whilst camping 5*. The charm is in having a top explorer guide, ours was Julio, having attentive service and not having 24/7 power supply and being surrounded by gadgets. Seriously, I heard a guest moaning and was stunned they either didn't look at the holiday they were booking, or were just one if those types that thinks the word revolves around them, because this is the place where you learn you have to respect the rainforest and care for your environment and those who inhabit it. Couldn't praise Inkaterra enough, this place is special and it shows in the enthusiasm of the guides, staff and how other guests were smiling all the time.

    Try to take as many combinations as DEET based products as you can, you'll need it. I preferred creams to spray. You'll sweat into your clothes quickly and we showered a lot! If you have them pack binoculars as you'll see plenty of tree based animals high in the canopy. They provide torches, but you may want your own as well.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Cat E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

    Dear guest,

    It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the Inkaterra experience and your visit to the southern jungle of Peru.

    We would like to thank you for this lovely review that encourages us to keep working on providing all of our guests with authentic natural experiences.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 29, 2013

    We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. The excursions are well planned and our guide Anna made them even better. The room was well appointed and had everything we needed. The one night was on the cooler side and the staff had placed two hot water bottles in the bed (being Canadian we didn't really need them but the thought was still appreciated). The main lodge is stunning and the meals were very good. The dinner choices are limited but the menu changes daily and the hotel does a fantastic job showcasing local ingredients and dishes.

    • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank List-of-21
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

    Dear guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our property and for your lovely comments, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

    We would like to also thank you for your special mention of our trained professional explorer guides; their knowledge and interpretive skills combine to provide understanding, insight and an enhanced experience of the surrounding environment.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews