We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives a feel of living in the jungle but comfortably”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday to Peru and had a superior river view cabin. The cabins have a terrace with hammocks and chairs with ceiling fans for use when there is electricity. All meals were included and the food was excellent although service could be a little hit and miss.

We did not have dressing gowns in our room and it was quite a performance trying to get them as a lot of the staff did not speak English and our Spanish was obviously not good enough and we ended up at one point with 2 coat hangers! The guides were well informed and make the trips interesting. We especially enjoyed the evening walk in the forest. Wildlife opportunities are limited but it does give you a good insight into jungle life. We did find it difficult returning from an excursion at between 4 and 5 pm, hot and sweaty and not being able to take a hot shower until the electricity went on at 6pm. Looking for items with a torch was a little difficult. However the electricity stayed on until about 11.30 and then came back on at 4.30 am so you could shower before going out on an excursion.
One point we would mention is that there was a miners strike on the day we were due to leave the hotel for the airport and the staff did not explain fully where we were going and how we would get our luggage back from the main office. Our boat trip which had been about 45 mins going to the hotel was about 1.5 hours leaving and we landed in the middle of nowhere and then had a 40 minute coach trip on dirt roads to get to the airport. We understood they did this to ensure we arrived safely but a little more explanation previously would have helped as no one understood why we passed the port we expected to get off at.
Overall though we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your kind comments. We would also like to thank you for your feedback, we have informed the correct department in order to keep improving our service and communication with our guests.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here during our honeymoon in March. What a wonderful place!! It was rustic but with enough amenities so that were weren't roughing it too much. We were even upgraded to a Tambopata suite which was just a wonderful surprise!! The outside shower was our FAVORITE! Such a wonderful cool down after a hot day in the amazon.

Our tour guide Louis was fantastic!! A master animal spotter!

The reastaurant staff was fantastic and house keepers were like ninjas! They work around your tour/meal schedule and you constantly come back to a clean space.

We can't say enough about this special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gatraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Inkaterra.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you keep great memories of your visit. We would like to thank you for your kind comments, especially about our staff that is always willing to assist our guests and offer them an authentic natural experience.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica during your honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the start of our Peru adventure and loved every second of being here. Lets get real though, you'll love it if you immerse yourself in what this is about, it's about being in the rainforest learning about the rainforest, whilst camping 5*. The charm is in having a top explorer guide, ours was Julio, having attentive service and not having 24/7 power supply and being surrounded by gadgets. Seriously, I heard a guest moaning and was stunned they either didn't look at the holiday they were booking, or were just one if those types that thinks the word revolves around them, because this is the place where you learn you have to respect the rainforest and care for your environment and those who inhabit it. Couldn't praise Inkaterra enough, this place is special and it shows in the enthusiasm of the guides, staff and how other guests were smiling all the time.

Try to take as many combinations as DEET based products as you can, you'll need it. I preferred creams to spray. You'll sweat into your clothes quickly and we showered a lot! If you have them pack binoculars as you'll see plenty of tree based animals high in the canopy. They provide torches, but you may want your own as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the Inkaterra experience and your visit to the southern jungle of Peru.

We would like to thank you for this lovely review that encourages us to keep working on providing all of our guests with authentic natural experiences.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. The excursions are well planned and our guide Anna made them even better. The room was well appointed and had everything we needed. The one night was on the cooler side and the staff had placed two hot water bottles in the bed (being Canadian we didn't really need them but the thought was still appreciated). The main lodge is stunning and the meals were very good. The dinner choices are limited but the menu changes daily and the hotel does a fantastic job showcasing local ingredients and dishes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank List-of-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our property and for your lovely comments, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We would like to also thank you for your special mention of our trained professional explorer guides; their knowledge and interpretive skills combine to provide understanding, insight and an enhanced experience of the surrounding environment.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location. Extraordinary huts but it is the extras that made our visit special. I tire of hotels charging extra for water, inkaterra not only provides endless wate but souvenir water flasks. Our boat ride back was a bit cool but staff had included blankets on the boat. These and other small extras set Inkaterra above others.

We have stayed at a similar lodge in Darnum Valley in Borneo and Inkaterra is of the same exceptional standard (though Borneo providedore wildlife and hiking challenges).

Finally Thankyou Sonia our guide for sharing your wealth of knowledge and compassion for the region

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phantasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about your stay at our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Inkaterra experience and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica during our tour of Peru. You are met at the airport by a Inkaterra and giving a refreshing bottle of cold water and then taken to the Inkaterra butterfly house for the check-in. You are met the with a refreshing ice drink of star fruit and a cold wet face towel. After about fifteen minutes you are bussed to the river where you catch a motorised canoe for the 45 minute trip down river.
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica is a complex of cabins and a main house where all e excellent meals are taken. We had cabin 24 which was very near the river. In the evening there is tilly lamps provided for extra light.
We went on several excursion with a guide called Luis who was simple brilliant and I would recommend trying to get him as your guide. We saw 5 species of monkey including the rarely seen Owl Night Monkey. Both Two Toed & Three Toed Sloths, Both White & Black Caimen and also Giant River Otters. Loads of different types of birds to be seen including many species of Parrots and Hummingbirds
The night excursion are not for the faint hearted as you get quite close to some very big spiders!!
Would have loved to have stayed longer and will certainly return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you keep great memories.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights in late December (sorry for the late review!) and had a great time. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, the tours were great, and the food was surprisingly good. Three days was the perfect amount of time to stay as it allowed time to relax and not feel pressured to be on the go the whole time. I would recommend booking a spa treatment on the first day you get there since they do have a tendency to fill up fast.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bmargner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Inkaterra.

We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to know that you keep great memories of your December trip to our property.

We hope to welcome you again in a next occasion. Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
245 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
376 reviews
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#6 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
180 reviews
24.6 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
895 reviews
10.2 mi away
Green House Tambopata
Green House Tambopata
#4 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $386 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing