We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing jungle experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This "resort" though luxurious is very discreet an enviromentally aware. The cabins are very comfortable and they have tried to use as many natural products as possible. It is a wonderful place, although pricey everything is included. The excursions are included during your time there and you can do as many as you can fit into your day. The guides are well informed and the have an amazing ability to spot animals and birds. The food was good too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moose97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 811 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was a hard hotel for me to review. The location is beautiful and the rooms are gorgeously decorated. There were a few things though that made it less than spectacular for us though.

Firstly, the rooms offer very little for privacy. No shyness allowed basically. It is all basically open air with screens from the neck up, fine. Except, when you get out of the shower. You have to change in the shower pretty much unless you want to give the neighbors a show. The bathroom offers very little privacy to. Anyone walking by can hear everything going on.

The excursion while a lot of them, are pretty much the same. Very soft excursions, nothing really adventurous offered I think hence why the crowd was mainly 55 plus. The guides are great though. We did enjoy the Canopy walkway though!

I think for the cost, they should offer more variety in activities. It was cool seeing the amazon but just left feeling a bit underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenstero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at this lovely luxurious oasis in the Amazon jungle. The cabanas were superb. Especially loved the lanterns at night ,very romantic ! Moises was our guide and we had him all to ourselves , he was wonderful. Catching piranha and having them cooked to perfection along with a few glasses of wine in the midst of the jungle was a once in a lifetime experience. No need for alarm clocks ,the bird song in the morning is unbelievable ! If you have always wanted to explore the Amazon , along with some good food , excellent service and some fine wine , then Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica is the place to be.

Room Tip: Cabana facing the river are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were initially worried about this part of our trip due to all the creepy crawlies but felt a trip to the amazon would be an amazing experience, and inkaterra reserve didn't disappoint. The staff were amazing, the guides were patient and their knowledge was brilliant. The hotel was great and the food was superb. An absolute must for anyone worried about visiting the amazon. Pure luxury mixed with an authentic amazon experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The resort was everything we were expecting and much more! Absolutely beautiful and inviting grounds.
The food wasn't quite as good as we would've thought but after a day of hiking we weren't picky. The excursions were so much fun and we were able to see just about every wild species we'd wanted to.
The staff was friendly, not as accommodating as at a 5 star, but extremely knowledgeable about the area. We thoroughly enjoyed speaking with them about their customs and lifestyles.
Highly recommend this resort!!! Be ready to rough it however, since there is not air conditioning and the power generators only run periodically. If you're able to definitely upgrade to a suite with the private pool, we used it between all of our morning and afternoon excursions! Lastly, if you drink coffee be sure to bring Starbuck's Vias as they view coffee a little different than most Americans. It's a syrup you add water too.

Room Tip: Suite cabana with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I started our honeymoon by spending five days at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonia. We planned a trek to Machu Picchu and wanted to experience the rest of Peru and are we glad we did!

This property is a little oasis of awesomeness in the middle of nowhere. Carved into the banks of the Madre de Dios river, you will find wonderful cabanas with comfortable beds. The staff is attentive without being pushy and the food, oh the food.... One meal was more delicious than the next.

When you arrive you sit with a guide and go over the different excursions available to figure out what you'd like to see. Our guide, Wilson, was absolutely wonderful. He knew everything about the jungle. He could spot birds and animals by sound alone. He pointed out plants and their medical properties at every turn. And he had a great sense of humor too.

We really enjoyed seeing a troop of hundreds of squirrel monkeys pass overheard when we visited Gaitamba Creek. The endangered Giant River Otters made an appearance when we went to Lake Sandoval. We were blown away by the amazing blue color of butterflies that could be found on the property. And we saw caymans, macaws, tocans, sloths, and others. It felt like the only animals we didn't see were jaguars and anacondas.

Be prepared for heat and humidity. It is the jungle after all. There is no air conditioning, although there are plenty of overhead fans, both in the common areas, and in your cabana. The cabanas have plenty of open sides, all covered with mosquito nets. The bed has its own mosquito net. We didn't use the mosquito netting over the bed because 1) it made everything a lot hotter, and 2) there weren't any mosquitos in the cabana,

You will want to bring 30% DEET to use when you go on your excursions. They provide a homemade citronella spray, but the guests that just used that were soon asking to use ours. We used the Ultrathon brand found at REI and had no issues at all.

We also upgraded to a Tampopata Suite that included a plunge pool and outside shower. It was not a lot more to upgrade and was really worth the small increase in price. I began calling the plunge pool "Jungle Air Conditioning."

We were really happy we did this part of the trip before our trek to Machu Picchu. At the end of our trip we both felt that if we had to go to the Amazon after the trek, we most likely would have not enjoyed ourselves. If you are thinking of doing both, go to the jungle first.

And finally, we both felt that five days was probably one day too much. We had fun on every day, but would have been able to see and explore everything just fine in four days.

Room Tip: Go for the Tampopata Suites. The plunge pool and outdoor showers are well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What an incredible experience! Where do I start? Even now, 3 months on from our time at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica I still cant quite believe what an incredible place it was.
This review falls into two parts, firstly the location and environment were simply stunning. The big house; where we dined and relaxed, is located a few hundred meters into the forest. From here we sat, enjoyed the sounds, and through the thin mosquito net walls watched a tremendous variety of wildlife.
We were allocated rooms in the big house - i think there was a booking issue. The rooms however were great, and I have no reason to complain. Shower times are limited, due to the limited electricity in the building. Rooms are always clean.
Secondly Inkaterra itself, offered a great service, the food was some of the best we had eaten in our 4 months in Peru - each night a self service dinner was provided, with a good variety of options (always suitable for vegetarians, and gluten intolerant). There was even a particularly fussy group who were catered for with a variety of alternatives to the standard menu. The dining room was typically served by one waiter, who at times was very busy, but worked his hardest to please all diners. You cannot expect to come to such a remote place like this and expect all the home comforts, but the people here certainly tried.
Inkaterra provide a packed trip, with activities in morning, afternoon and evening sessions. One such trip was a night time boat ride, where amongst other delights we had the great pleasure of coming across a family of wild Capybara on the river bank.
The combination of the excursions, early starts and the humidity will leave you exhausted by the end of the day, but its entirely worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bourneymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
246 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Cabana Quinta
Hotel Cabana Quinta
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
206 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
870 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#6 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
181 reviews
5.5 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#4 of 70 in Puerto Maldonado
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $386 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing