We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Jungle”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we landed and were transferred to the Butterfly House for orientation , we realized that they run a
Slick operation. Naturally one is trepid about
The jungle , safety and comfort but they virtually took care of everything.
The service levels are exceptional , the
Guides are well informed . The whole setting
Is wonderful . We did 3 excursions
The night tour and lake Sandoval were
Brilliant.
The only thing is don't go with the expectation of seing loads of animals , snakes etc , we saw much more in Africa
Overall though the luxury jungle experience
Was well worth it !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    164
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
195
357
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

If you want ecotourism at a high level this is it. Wonderful staff, great rooms, like all Inkaterra Hotels they ooze charm and are genuinely Peruvian. They genuinely care about the guests and nature and our children were delighted!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Flying in to Puerto Maldonado, we were met on schedule by a representative of the lodge and were seamlessly transported by boat to their facilities. We were very impressed with the layout, marvellous structures, very clean and cozy cottages. Meals were terrific. Each morning we were woken before sunrise by a chorus from a variety of birds ... no need for an alarm clock. The guided tours were informative and there was something for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms/ccabanas are the same, very clean and well appointed. Oh, power goes off in the late eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location with lovely rooms that were very clean and more than comfortable. The meals were great. Always heaps of food, different menu for dinner each night. The "a la carte tours" do need to fit in with number of guest and number of guides so there is a chance you may not get what you want. The guides were just fantastic. Their knowledge of the jungle ands its fauna and flora was incredible. We were the youngest people there by about 30years and it would have been good to have some more challenging trips however the ones we did were good fun. We saw river ottos, monkeys, caymans and birds. The amazon in dense jungle so animals are not sitting on a bare plain waiting to be seen as some people seem to expect. We have spoken to many travellers some who camped out in remote jungle for two weeks and they too had to look hard to find any animals.
Main criticism is that the only included beverages are water and tea&coffee (which was coffee essence and not nice at all). Soft drinks and alcoholic beverages were hideously expensive (small beer 17 soles, soft drink 12) which considering the prices of accommodation is a bit much.

Overall very relaxing 3 nights and good trips into the rainforest with excellent guides.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipp a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Located in the middle of jungle in the southeast of Perú.
From the moment you arrive the hotel staff take care of you And all the details.
The food And service are the Best And a reason to come back. Highly recommend for those who want a jungle experience with all the acommodations of a hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alejandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ok, they are in the Amazon. I get it. But most of the Safari camps in africa are even more remote where supplies have to be flown in and africa has them hands down. Now I wouldn't be comparing them to Safari camps if they didn't charge safari prices. At 1000USD a night they are paid to do better. But they they don't deliver anything remotely close to the same quality of accommodation, food or service. In fact we couldn't even find anyone considered management. I can only think that often the nice comments are couched in "for being in the jungle", and that is not good enough. Small example: 3 diet sodas on the menu. For a total of 3 days and 3 nights they never had any. Got to the airport where, they pick you up, and there were 3 varieties available. Just shoddy management. Now if you are a beer drinker you probably think "so what". But if all you drink is diet soda it matters as I pay the same price as a beer drinker. And more baffling is that they charge for all this drinks on about a 500% markup from the airport so.....what gives. Seems trivial but just the beginning: Electricity shut off in their effort to protect the environment. Great, but the fact that they do this not when most guests are out on tour but back in the rooms stinks more of conserving money then the environment. I don't know what everyone else was eating but our meals were marginal at best and I left more then one meal on the plate. And don't expect a reasonable price on laundry in a place where you are slugging it out with jungle mud. Lastly, if you lack a JayLo but bring a blow up pillow. There are NO cushions on ANYTHING. Most of the boats, the jeep, the dining room....my butt was bruised at the end of 3 days. A luxury resort....not even close. Sometimes its the little things that make the difference. And sometimes it's everything!

Listen, the jungle is the jungle. It's dense, oppressive and any animals in the area are well hidden or so far up in the trees your neck hurts by the end of 3 days. But, it's worth experiencing. Do it for a night. If you have to do it here, because frankly it's easiest from the airport, then do a night and get out. Of course just one persons opinion.

Room Tip: Pay to be on the river You may get some privacy. Otherwise your stuck listening to a lot more neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likesitposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

For the remote location, the accommodations are great - understand you are not in New York - and that is a good thing. We found the food to be very good and my wife is pretty picky. The guides were great and tried hard to provide a good experience. Our only disappointment was the lack of animals. We did see quite a few birds, some caymens, a few monkeys and insects, but not much else. From talking with others, our experience was pretty typical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
133 reviews
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
820 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#2 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
110 reviews
24.6 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Property: Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing