We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved every minute of our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved every minute of our stay.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 2 week trip to Peru and we had a wonderful time. From the minute you arrive in Puerto Maldonado, Inkaterra staff takes care of everything. We drove from the airport to a butterfly house where we were met with cool towels and a glass of delicious starfruit juice. Then we were transferred to the dock where we met our boat and went to the Hacienda Concepcion.

The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Our cabana was so charming and well-appointed. At times it was hard to believe we were in the jungle because it felt so luxurious. The food at the lodge was delicious. There were lots of varieties of fresh fruits/veggies, quiches, pastas, salads, quinoa, lentils, chicken, beef, and fish. The desserts are great and are made with brazil nuts and chocolate grown on-site. We ate very well during our stay.

We loved all of our excursions and we cannot speak highly enough about our guide James. We did the botanical walk, the nighttime wildlife boat ride, the canopy tour, the Lake Sandoval hike, and the brazil nut walk. We were able to see so much wildlife: tamarinds, red howler monkeys, white capuchin monkeys, hoatzins, black caiman, vultures, macaws, agoutis, bats, turtles, and even a sloth. James also showed us many medicinal and edible plants. Our favorite excursion was the hike to Lake Sandoval. Even though it took a long time and was mostly through deep mud due to a heavy rain the night before, it was worth it. Watching the sunset over the trees while in the canoe on Lake Sandoval is one of my favorite memories from this trip.

We met some great people during our stay. It was so nice to be without a phone, internet, laptop, or TV for 4 days. You can just relax and explore the jungle. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a cabana if you can. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityOfLights1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    70
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
150
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of five. We stayed at cabañas facing a little lake. Those cabañas were very comfortable. Each has two hammocks and listening to the incredible bird songs on a hammock was very relaxing.
The excursions were fun even though we had to keep walking in the mud. We could feel the real rainforest.
Our guide, Justo, was a genius of spotting wild animals. Thanks to him, we could see a big anaconda, a white cayman , a dwarf cayman and an anteater, not to mention various monkeys, birds and insects. He is very knowledgable, showing us many medicinal plants as well.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. We never forget the hot chocolate made with cacao beans grown in the region.
We had a great experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tetsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My son (31) and I stayed here for 2 nights and cannot say enough about the staff and the experience. The cabanas are perfect. Staying in the jungle was never so luxurious but you feel at one with nature. Dawn brings bird calls, monkeys, cicadas. Astonishing. The two sink configuration in the cabana made it perfect for us getting ready at the crack of dawn. Food is outstanding. Will never forget Madre Selva Salsa Picante on superlative rice and beans. Great expeditions, knowledgable guides, caring staff.

Room Tip: Ask if any cabanas are under construction (they are expanding) and ask to be away from the expansion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranchmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments for our facilities and services, we are really glad that you enjoyed your visit and keep great memories of your visit to the southern Peruvian rainforest.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Hacienda Concepcion is able to bring comfort to the jungle. The food was delicious, the outings were well organized, and the staff was helpful and friendly. We were prepared to 'repack our suitcases into backpacks' as we had read was required on other properties, but that was not necessary. Our large suitcases were taken to our cabins for us. The entire experience was seamless, from our arrival at the airport to our departure, when a staff member helped us with a problem at the airport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kkosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Totally recommend this place for a honeymoon destination! My husband and I came here recently as part of our 3-week South America honeymoon. We stayed here 3 days & 2 nights and we would have been glad to stay here even longer if we didn't have such a packed 3 weeks. The staff were excellent and our cabana was heavenly!! The meals are lovely and the drinks are cheap! The excursions are simply lovely and they even find ways to accommodate when it's pouring outside!! We definitely do not regret travelling all this way from Australia for such a fabulous experience!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddcotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We appreciate your kind comments for our property and services provided and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion during your honeymoon trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful lodge. From start to finish the staff where very friendly and proffessional. When we arrived it was dusk and all the oil lamps on the path where lit (very romantic) We stayed in a Cabana (cabin) which was stunning, set up like a honeymoon suite, very relaxing and lovely to hear the jungle at night. The tours were good, our guide was Gabriel and he was amazing. He could spot wildlife from way off that we struggled to spot when we got closer and he had a great sense of humour making the tours very fun and informative. The food was good and everything is taken care of. We thought the price seemed quite high but when you consider everything that you get it is great value. Please note this is a jungle experience so you don't have some modern conveniences, the electricity turns off at night and in the afternoon, there is no internet access, no air conditioning, the water in the showers is slightly brown as it comes from the river but this is 5 star luxury jungle style. We had the most amazing time and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 286Robert_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our property.

Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, comprises 819 hectares of mostly primary rainforest, with a natural cocha or oxbow lake. We are glad that you keep great memories of you visit to the southern jungle of Peru.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 4 days 3 nights - This I would recommend as the maximum or alternatively , 3 days & 2 nights. The extra night just allowed us to get additional 2 tours in which were not on the 'standard' tour program. It was a truly amazing experience. We went in the rainy season (December), there were many (millions) of mosquitos - but once you get used to them, everything is OK. The experience starts from when you are collected at the airport. All formalities are sorted out a the Butterfly house, 5 mins from the airport. Make sure your hand luggage with your clothes etc is already packed in your hand luggage. The whole check in process is fluently handled. Make yourself ready for an amazing trip on the boat & the short walk to the Hotel. Absolutely make sure you book a cabana (the price difference is small versus a room at the lodge - but the difference is vast). They provide mosquito netting over all the beds. They give you an introductory tour around the jungle close to the hotel - Don't miss this one - full of interesting facts about the plants in the jungle. We did the Lake Sandoval tour in the rain, which stopped when we reached lake Sandoval - don't be scared to hike in the rain (afterall it is the rainforest!). The hotel provides a bottle of citronella - I think the mosquitos are immune to this & fly in squadrons behind a hiker - rather use a deet formulation (not too eco friendly - but it seems to work better). It is hot but do wear long pants & long sleeves (although we spent our entire holiday in shorts & short sleeves). All the tours were great. The canopy walkway was scary at places - but not to be missed. The trip (1 hour by boat) to a clay lick for which we paid extra is well worth it - we saw 2 sloths, Macau's & green parrots. We came across the most dedicated & excellent waiter by the name of Ronald - who has a keen sense of humour & really is an asset to the Hotel. Breakfast is prepared from 04h30 to coincide with your tours. The meals were good, with a selection. If you are going to the jungle this is the place to be - we compared notes with fellow travellers to the other lodges & this one always came out tops. You Must, must stay in a cabana!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
7.2 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
132 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
748 reviews
28.9 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
158 reviews
20.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion

Property: Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Address: Rio Madre de Dios Km8, Puerto Maldonado 052, Peru (Formerly Hacienda Concepcion)
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Amazon rainforest of Southern Peru, near Puerto Maldonado-Tambopata, the lodge itself sits by a natural “cocha” or lake, home to rich ecosystems, tropical plants and beautiful wildlife. This lodge seeks to cater for nature loving enthusiasts who come to the region in search of a memorable ‘full-immersion’ experience in the Amazon jungle one of the New 7 Natural Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing