We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Home in the Jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back Home in the Jungle”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Woke up hanging upside down again. Head-rush!
Nice thing was, the bananas in the tree were just below me.

Room was amazing and high humidity meant I had to shave my hair every day. (Has grown back now)

Was nice to get away from the City and back to basic.
Would recommend to any ladies who need a private escort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    70
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
150
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights in cabana 10 in early August,and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Our guide Gabriel really knew his stuff,and on night walk we saw huge tapir,deer,tarantula and more.The cabana was comfortable,and we were glad to be there instead of the main "lodge"...far more quiet,spacious and private,and worth the extra dollars.Restaurant and bar staff were friendly enough,and tried,but they'd benefit from a better,stronger and more visible "hotel manager" who knows F&B,and service/training.No regrets about staying there,but some aspects not fully up to Inkaterra name...so we'd still recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will allow us to keep on improving our services.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Unsure about what we were really getting ourselves into, my girlfriend and I nervously made our way to Puerto Maldonado in September 2012 after seeing much of Peru.

We were picked up at the tiny airport and driven maybe five minutes away where we registered and checked out the butterfly house. Afterwards we bonded with one of the lodge's employees on the boat ride to our home for the next couple of days.

Of course, we were there to see the Amazon, but let me say this -- the food was AMAZING. We made sure to enjoy every meal and every drink (we racked up a nice little drinks bill by the end of our stay). Our room wasn't exactly what we expected as it was in the lodge and not the cabins, but it was definitely comfortable.

Nearly as soon as we arrived we were on our first excursion, a quick walk around the nearby trails. We were back on these trails for a night walk, where I was quickly a little freaked out by giant spiders and an enormous scorpion that our guide had only seen once or twice previously. Speaking of our guide, her english was certainly passable and we felt safe at all times.

The three highlights of our stay had to be the Lake Sandoval excursion, the canopy walk, and the boat trip at night when we saw animals like capybaras. All of these are truly unforgettable experiences -- don't miss the Peruvian Amazon while in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property.

We are delighted to know that your visit exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the experience at the Peruvian Amazon.

We hope to welcome you again in a next visit.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in a cabana for 3 nights and had an excellent time. Our guide (Mariana) was very knowledgeable, friendly, and funny! The food was very good and the service in the dining area was outstanding.

We were looking for a Jungle/Rainforest experience but wanted the comforts of hot water, electricity, etc. This was the perfect fit for us. It's not as deep into the Jungle as some of the other lodges but many of them take 8 hours to get to. Since we only had 4 days / 3 nights for the jungle portion of our trip this was a good fit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind comments for our property, and are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción, we hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel and cabins in the Rainforest is a great location and when all the building works are finished will be great.
The main building which houses all the catering facilities together with some rooms is a beautiful building.
We stayed in one of a handfull of cabins close to the main building and these were excellent with good shower and toilet facilities. Power was off every day in the afternoon but not an issue.
What was unfortunate was the construction of further cabins around us which was intrusive (cabins dont have proper walls as the climate makes them unnecessary) to gether with all the ground works for services to navigate to get to your cabin.
The construction of a swimming pool was imminent fright next to the main building which won't help people staying there over the next few months.
But overall a good modern facility in the rain forest which was more than adequate for our brief 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Cabins are preferable because they are free standing whilst the main building is a bit public - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The cabana is big, new and very well designed. A bit disappointed though to get one that was facing the back of the other cabanas instead of the jungle. It felt intimate with not many rooms and cabanas but that won't be the case for long - construction of more cabanas is underway. The quality of the buffet meals were high but the on a couple of occasions, some of the spread ran out quickly and were not replenished. The service was top notch although there was a lacked of service staff at the dinning and reception area in the afternoon. The standard of the guiding and activities were also good. It's only about 25 minutes boat ride from PM - a great choice if you want to experience the jungle in relative comfort and ease. However, if seeing wildlife is top priority, then you may want to consider other lodges further away from PM.

Room Tip: Opt for a cabana (jungle facing) and not a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcw-indietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind comments for our property especially for our staff, always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

We would also want to thank you for your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services. We have transferred your comments to the correct departments.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hacienda is new and only about 7 miles down river from Puerto Maldonado so the jungle experience is somewhat limited. The facilities and staff were excellent. The food was very good. Our biggest disappointment was the limited wildlife we saw. Very few monkeys and even birds seemed to be in short supply. We had thought we would go to a macaw salt lick but were told it was too far away. We did a morning on Lake Sandoval, an afternoon canopy walk (too hot for any animals to be about) & several other excursions. We stayed 3 nights, but 2 nights would have been better. It just wasn't deep enough into the jungle for us. We have experienced the jungles of Uganda & Nepal so perhaps our expectations were too high.
Next time I would opt for a longer boat ride to get deeper into the jungle so the opportunities for spotting wildlife would be greater.

Room Tip: Do request a bungalow as opposed to a room in the main lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

It is important to keep in mind when visiting the rainforest, that it is an open system where many species co-exist. The Amazon has abundant wildlife, but many of the animals like to hide in the dense vegetation. Part of the experience is to go with the explorer spirit awake.

We appreciate your kind comments for our food, facilities and for our staff who are always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
7.2 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
132 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
747 reviews
28.9 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
158 reviews
20.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
841 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion

Property: Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Address: Rio Madre de Dios Km8, Puerto Maldonado 052, Peru (Formerly Hacienda Concepcion)
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Amazon rainforest of Southern Peru, near Puerto Maldonado-Tambopata, the lodge itself sits by a natural “cocha” or lake, home to rich ecosystems, tropical plants and beautiful wildlife. This lodge seeks to cater for nature loving enthusiasts who come to the region in search of a memorable ‘full-immersion’ experience in the Amazon jungle one of the New 7 Natural Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing