We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful cabana!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“wonderful cabana!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights in cabana 10 in early August,and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Our guide Gabriel really knew his stuff,and on night walk we saw huge tapir,deer,tarantula and more.The cabana was comfortable,and we were glad to be there instead of the main "lodge"...far more quiet,spacious and private,and worth the extra dollars.Restaurant and bar staff were friendly enough,and tried,but they'd benefit from a better,stronger and more visible "hotel manager" who knows F&B,and service/training.No regrets about staying there,but some aspects not fully up to Inkaterra name...so we'd still recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments as well as your feedback that will allow us to keep on improving our services.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    66
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
138
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Unsure about what we were really getting ourselves into, my girlfriend and I nervously made our way to Puerto Maldonado in September 2012 after seeing much of Peru.

We were picked up at the tiny airport and driven maybe five minutes away where we registered and checked out the butterfly house. Afterwards we bonded with one of the lodge's employees on the boat ride to our home for the next couple of days.

Of course, we were there to see the Amazon, but let me say this -- the food was AMAZING. We made sure to enjoy every meal and every drink (we racked up a nice little drinks bill by the end of our stay). Our room wasn't exactly what we expected as it was in the lodge and not the cabins, but it was definitely comfortable.

Nearly as soon as we arrived we were on our first excursion, a quick walk around the nearby trails. We were back on these trails for a night walk, where I was quickly a little freaked out by giant spiders and an enormous scorpion that our guide had only seen once or twice previously. Speaking of our guide, her english was certainly passable and we felt safe at all times.

The three highlights of our stay had to be the Lake Sandoval excursion, the canopy walk, and the boat trip at night when we saw animals like capybaras. All of these are truly unforgettable experiences -- don't miss the Peruvian Amazon while in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property.

We are delighted to know that your visit exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the experience at the Peruvian Amazon.

We hope to welcome you again in a next visit.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in a cabana for 3 nights and had an excellent time. Our guide (Mariana) was very knowledgeable, friendly, and funny! The food was very good and the service in the dining area was outstanding.

We were looking for a Jungle/Rainforest experience but wanted the comforts of hot water, electricity, etc. This was the perfect fit for us. It's not as deep into the Jungle as some of the other lodges but many of them take 8 hours to get to. Since we only had 4 days / 3 nights for the jungle portion of our trip this was a good fit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind comments for our property, and are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción, we hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel and cabins in the Rainforest is a great location and when all the building works are finished will be great.
The main building which houses all the catering facilities together with some rooms is a beautiful building.
We stayed in one of a handfull of cabins close to the main building and these were excellent with good shower and toilet facilities. Power was off every day in the afternoon but not an issue.
What was unfortunate was the construction of further cabins around us which was intrusive (cabins dont have proper walls as the climate makes them unnecessary) to gether with all the ground works for services to navigate to get to your cabin.
The construction of a swimming pool was imminent fright next to the main building which won't help people staying there over the next few months.
But overall a good modern facility in the rain forest which was more than adequate for our brief 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Cabins are preferable because they are free standing whilst the main building is a bit public - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The cabana is big, new and very well designed. A bit disappointed though to get one that was facing the back of the other cabanas instead of the jungle. It felt intimate with not many rooms and cabanas but that won't be the case for long - construction of more cabanas is underway. The quality of the buffet meals were high but the on a couple of occasions, some of the spread ran out quickly and were not replenished. The service was top notch although there was a lacked of service staff at the dinning and reception area in the afternoon. The standard of the guiding and activities were also good. It's only about 25 minutes boat ride from PM - a great choice if you want to experience the jungle in relative comfort and ease. However, if seeing wildlife is top priority, then you may want to consider other lodges further away from PM.

Room Tip: Opt for a cabana (jungle facing) and not a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcw-indietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your kind comments for our property especially for our staff, always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

We would also want to thank you for your feedback that will allow us to keep improving our services. We have transferred your comments to the correct departments.


Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hacienda is new and only about 7 miles down river from Puerto Maldonado so the jungle experience is somewhat limited. The facilities and staff were excellent. The food was very good. Our biggest disappointment was the limited wildlife we saw. Very few monkeys and even birds seemed to be in short supply. We had thought we would go to a macaw salt lick but were told it was too far away. We did a morning on Lake Sandoval, an afternoon canopy walk (too hot for any animals to be about) & several other excursions. We stayed 3 nights, but 2 nights would have been better. It just wasn't deep enough into the jungle for us. We have experienced the jungles of Uganda & Nepal so perhaps our expectations were too high.
Next time I would opt for a longer boat ride to get deeper into the jungle so the opportunities for spotting wildlife would be greater.

Room Tip: Do request a bungalow as opposed to a room in the main lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

It is important to keep in mind when visiting the rainforest, that it is an open system where many species co-exist. The Amazon has abundant wildlife, but many of the animals like to hide in the dense vegetation. Part of the experience is to go with the explorer spirit awake.

We appreciate your kind comments for our food, facilities and for our staff who are always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the moment that we were met at the little airport at Puerto Maldonado and escorted to our transport down to the port, a lovely open bus built on the chasis of an old Ford truck ecerything about this two night stay was first class. The bus doesn't travel far to Inkaterra's Butterfly House where we were greeted with a chilled towel and a very cold glass of starfruit juice (delicious!) where we were checked in to the hotel. We had a quick look around the butterfly house before we clmbed back on to our bus for the next part of the transfer, by boat (perfectly safe and comfortable) to the Lodge.

We were welcomed with a nice Pisco Sour before being allocated our room keys. Our Cabana which fronted the lake was delightful, simply furnished, but with everything that you'd need, toilet, twin wash basins, shower and a large comfortable double bed crowned with a large mosquito net. The walls at the front of the cabana mostly consisted of insect netting, no glass in any windows, they afforded a lovely view on to the lake and made it feel as if you were in the the middle of the jungle while you relaxed on the large daybed or the hammocks. The only minor comment that I would make is that there is a slight lack of privacy in the front section of the cabana that we are not familiar with, nut this open nature does allow you to enjoy the most fabulous dawn chorus. The lack of electricity at certain times didn't cause us any problems at all, and it's quite nice to come back to your cabana after sunset to find the hurricane lamps lit on your doorstep.

There was a busy programme of activities laid out for us, an afternoon walk around the grounds, a night trip on the river to look for caimans, an early morning trip to Sandoval lake where we saw squirrel and howler monkeys, giant river otters and lots of different birds, an afternoon on the rope bridges up amongst the canopy where we saw a sloth in the distance and capybara on the boat journey, a night walk around the grounds to find various insects and reptiles and even a brief visit before we were due to leave to the botanic garden to learn how Brazil Nuts are harvested. Our guide Gabriel was first class, and seemed to spot wildlife through the densest foliage, he also brought an insight in to day to day life of those living in this corner of Peru, be they farmers, gold miners or timber men.

The food at the hotel was of an amazing quality when you considered where we were. Breakfast was a fairly basic buffet, with good omlettes, lunch was a small tasty buffet and dinner was a fine a la carte meal. The hot chocolate at breakfast is made from cocoa beans harvested on site.

We had been rather apprehensive about our visit to the Amazon Basin, but left there having enjoyed every minute. It is so different from any other holiday that you are likely to experience, If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Peruvian jungle don't hesitate to check out the Hacienda Concepcion.

Room Tip: Make the trip more memorable by booking one of the lake side cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our property.

Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción, comprises 819 hectares of mostly primary rainforest, with a natural cocha or oxbow lake. It is home to diverse ecosystems, tropical plants and wildlife. The lodge acts as a buffer zone between the Tambopata National Reserve and the shores of the vast Madre de Dios River, making our location a privileged one.

We are pleased that you enjoyed you experience and that you keep great memories of your visit.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Hacienda Concepción!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
7.2 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
131 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
730 reviews
28.9 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
818 reviews
9.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion

Property: Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Address: Rio Madre de Dios Km8, Puerto Maldonado 052, Peru (Formerly Hacienda Concepcion)
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Amazon rainforest of Southern Peru, near Puerto Maldonado-Tambopata, the lodge itself sits by a natural “cocha” or lake, home to rich ecosystems, tropical plants and beautiful wildlife. This lodge seeks to cater for nature loving enthusiasts who come to the region in search of a memorable ‘full-immersion’ experience in the Amazon jungle one of the New 7 Natural Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing