We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See black cayman & red howler monkeys - unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here but the heat was difficult to take - or rather the humidity. One English guest told me he had showered 8 times in 1 day! However, you come here for the rainforest/jungle experience and both the day & night excursions were excellent - we saw both black & white cayman, capybara, tarantulas, a whole troop of howler monkeys and lots of birds & insects. The monkeys came close to the huts when night fell and the noise of the jungle greeting the night was just astonishing (especially as we were in the hut furthest from the main building!) The staff were all friendly/helpful, the food was limited in choice but that's to be expected - but it was great tasting and there was plenty in a buffet arrangement. The camp is a bit of a trek downriver but not too bad and the breeze as you motor along is welcome! A brilliant experience with so many fantastic photos!!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cabins, not the main building - much closer to the jungle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 361 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2012. It was perfect!

We stayed in one of the Cabanas. We are not normally out doors people, we do not camp! However, being closer to the outdoors was phenomenal! The cabanas have 3 walls and the 4th wall is a large screen. We could see and hear animals all day/night. The cabanas have plumbing with showers and toilets - we did not have hot water, although the other guests said they did. It was not an issue however, because it was so hot outside that a cold shower felt refreshing. The generators run for most of the morning and evening. They provide you with flashlights for the evening and have lanterns in the cabin to provide additional lighting when the generator is off.

All of the excursions were great and we had a very relaxing time in the Jungle. In addition, the food was great! I would highly recommend Hacienda Concepcion.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rudm0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are afraid of bugs like I am this is the perfect place to stay in the Amazon. This is a beautiful lodge where you can experience nature but everything is screened off. The rooms were beautiful - the meals were amazing. The excursions were really incredible - Alan our guide was great at spotting birds and insects. The only issue we had was with the hot water - we had to ask a few times for them to turn it on - but a cold shower added to the jungle experience.

I would highly recommend Hacienda Conception for a great jungle experience.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
8  Thank Sharonb019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I were afraid the location wouldn't be deep enough into the jungle, but we saw an amazing array of animals (more than friends who had stayed in more remote places). Staff was super friendly. Airport pickup was great. Be warned, there are screens on all the rooms--no glass--so it's not silent, but you'll find that with any place. You can hear some animals or people moving around. It didn't bother us though.

Alan, our guide, was excellent. Knew everything and showed us a great time. And our waiter, Fray, was so nice! I was sad to say goodbye. The food was excellent, and the passion fruit juice is like nature's Gatorade. Most people stayed for 2 nights, but it's definitely worth staying for 3.

Admittedly they didn't have bug spray on site (which they should definitely keep on hand to sell to guests who run out), we found it somewhat tricky to master a good temperature for the shower, and it'd also be nice if the power was on when you get back from the afternoon treks, but we had a terrific stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ashley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Pros

The airport pickup, resort location, canopy walk, wild life watching in the lake, cabana setting, beds, food, and staff are great. The guide provided us with rubber boots due to the muddy trail. Cabanas are screened from three sides without any walls, which provides for an unobstructed view. The view from Number 12 Cabana was amazing. The birds chirping in the evening was amazing. Boat ride was excellent at all times. Our repellant cream worked well and we used very little of it.

Cons
Jungle can be very warm or very cold within a few hours. The blankets were too thin to keep us warm on those cold rainy/stormy nights. Hot water was an issue for all three days. They could not fix it. The information about excursions was sketchy. Clay Lick excursion was not very interesting due to just a few birds licking the rock at a distance. We woke up at 4am for this excursion. But again this is nature and unpredictable.

Suggestions: A handout for excursions would be helpful. We did not know that we would remain in the boat from 5am to 8am. It could have been a problem if anyone needed to use the restroom.
It would be nice to have hand fans when it is hot.

Room Tip: cabana is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ranjan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staying at Hacienda was really a luxurious 5 star experience. My husband and I never should have started our trip in Peru here because the rest of Peru was a little bit of a let down after. The service, food, staff (we loved Fray, Lizbeth, and Dino), accommodations, and excursions were all top notch and excellent. I was really worried about bugs and the bathrooms in the rainforest but the rooms in the main lodge were pretty much bug free and had wonderful bathrooms. It was such a fantastic experience. We were so sad to leave. I would visit again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I think the second floor rooms might be more quiet. Stay 4 days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eahills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hacienda concepcion was a luxurious jungle lodge that gave both the authentic jungle experience while not having to rough it too much. The food was incredible and the staff very friendly and helpful. It's also located fairly close to some great wildlife spots, and through our guide we got to see three different tyoes of monkeys, caimens, capybaras, a variety of birds and plants and the river otters in a 4 day trip! It makes a fantastic place for honeymooners who want a bit of adventure but still some romance and luxury. Definitely stay in the cabanas! I highly recommend hacienda concepcion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
7.2 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
238 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
786 reviews
28.9 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
307 reviews
9.6 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
176 reviews
20.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion

Address: Rio Madre de Dios Km8, Puerto Maldonado 052, Peru (Formerly Hacienda Concepcion)
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $351 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Amazon rainforest of Southern Peru, near Puerto Maldonado-Tambopata, the lodge itself sits by a natural “cocha” or lake, home to rich ecosystems, tropical plants and beautiful wildlife. This lodge seeks to cater for nature loving enthusiasts who come to the region in search of a memorable ‘full-immersion’ experience in the Amazon jungle one of the New 7 Natural Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing