We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
5
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My wife and I stayed at Los Amigos for 4 nights in April 2018. We got the nicer cabin upgrade right next to the river overlook, which was very nice. I think other cabins were more like dorms. I am a birder and my wife loves to tag along to take photos and be in nature. She also loves monkeys. We hired a birding guide to come along with us from Puerto Maldonado, and each day we went out to hike and bird from 5:00 AM - noon and 3:00 PM - 5:30, plus some owl birding. The trails are well marked and in pretty good condition. We saw about 170 species of bird and 6 species of monkey in the 4 days, plus a short-eared dog (or was it a bush dog), many large insects, lizards, frogs and only 1 snake? The wildlife was amazing!

The food was good, typically rice, potato, chicken, some vegetables, and dessert. Breakfast had eggs and always a juice made with local fruit. Once, on a long trip, they packed a lunch for us to carry with us, egg sandwiches and fruit. Beer (and wine?) were available for an extra fee.

The negatives were that it was hot and/or humid the entire time, as you would expect in the jungle, but there is little escape, as rooms do not have fans or AC. In fact our room only had electricity from 5:30-9:00 PM each night. Hot water was only available when they ran a generator, but being as hot as it was, a cold shower felt good. Finally, internet connection was basically non-existent. Some people got slow access but I had no luck. After a day and a half, I gave up and just enjoyed my internet-free time.

Everyone working there were nice. We were there during a very slow time, as only 3 other people were visiting, so we didn't get to see and discuss a whole lot about the scientific projects that occur there. That would have been nice, but the extra attention to us was also nice.

Room tip: There are 2 cabins that have a view of the Rio Madre de Dios within steps of the front porch and hammock.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chuck J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

We loved interacting with the scientific researchers that were studying the reptiles and amphibians of the area. The lodge grounds are home to over 4300 species of plants and animals, with researchers finding more all the time. There's a wide variety of habitats to explore, each with their own set of flora and fauna. Although you have to climb 200 steps to get to the lodge, this affords one a view overlooking the Madre de Dios river and provides for great sunrises and sunsets, which is rare in other rainforest lodge locations. We loved watching the macaws, giant river otters, birdlife and exotic insects of the area.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017

Los Amigos is the perfect place for those who want a wild experience, my friends and I saw a huge amount of wildlife including birds, amphibians, snakes, and several species of monkeys. Do not expect luxury, it's hot, slow internet, but like in all ACA stations the staff is very friendly and they care about you. My recommendation for the station is to have a site for tourists to recharge their divises. in the laboratory there is not always space or you can interfere with some of the activities of the scientists.
Being in the station you have the opportunity to interact with professors and students about the different projects that are carried out in the station, besides they give you an introductory talk about the station and conservation, it is very interesting.

Room tip: We took the bedrooms with concrete floors because they were cheaper, but there are nicer private cabins.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Los Amigos hosts a suite of lowland habitats that culminate in near maximum avian diversity all within walking distance from the station. Black-faced Cotingas are not hard to find, Rufous-fronted Antthrush can be found in the heliconia on trail 15, and Ihering's Antwren is near the station on trail 10. And then Rufous-vented Ground-Cuckoo, Harpy Eagle, and Agami Heron can be found with enough time and patience. The accommodations are great, although of course it's no 5-star hotel since it's in the middle of the rainforest. Pascual's cooking always satisfies!

Room tip: Cabins are comfortable and there are good accommodations for researchers and students
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seanbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews