We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-charge before the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cabana Quinta
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Puerto Maldonado
Menlo Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Re-charge before the jungle”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

From SFO to the jungle in the same day was pushing it, so we decided to spend a day in Puerto Maldonado prior to heading down the Madre de Dios to the EcoAmazonia Lodge. The Cabana Quinta is clean, safe and modern with a dedicated PC WiFi lounging area for re-charging and re-connecting before heading into the communication dead zones of the jungle.

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful for day tripping around local neighborhoods. First exposure to electric showers (hot water) wash and rinse quickly as reserve tanks deplete in 5 minutes. Nice restaurant with breakfast included. Major addition underway next door so initial appearance is disruptive, but once inside all is fine. Airport pick-up included in modern mini bus. Very positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    94
    51
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
27
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We Left Dallas via AA, after going thru Lima Customs, it was about 2am. So we grabbed a bite and drink at the StarBucks, we updated Friends and Family using SBs WiFi. We took naps on the Comfy Chairs at our gate. We came prepped with pillows, lite blankies and jackets. Waking up around 7am due to the Gate area now becoming packed with travelers. A quick trip to the Facilities and a fresh Toothbrushing, we hopped onto a LAN airliner that would stop in Cusco and then keep heading to Puerto Maldonado, Gateway to The Amazon:). At the PM airport our Prearranged driver met us with our Name on a BOLD Print sign held high above his head. We loaded into his van. About 40 Soles, exchange rate was approx 3soles to every US Dollar.(makes for easier math:)) NOTE: after this we used ONLY MotoKar drivers. Each ride No Mattter where we went within Puerto M. was never more than 4 soles...WOW!!! But, I was extremely generous and would sometimes pay Up to 10 soles. The drivers looked at me like I was crazy to tip so much, Just call me MR. BIG Spender!!! Consider the service they give, and compare that to Taxi service in a big US city...No way that a US taxi would give you a ride, even for just ONE BLOCK...for 2 Dollars No WAY!!! So be generous, leave a good impression. They really need and appreciate the extra $$$. Puerto is a Dirty, Noisy, Stinky little town,...BUT it has PERSONALITY:) Those Faint of heart should be prepared for the 3rd World conditions and CONDITION of this busy Little Amazon town. Our Hotel was right next to the main Hiway and in what some may call The Hood:) Very close and within walking distance to the Plaza, Bridge, Market, shopping, eating, everything very close. We always walked as a group, and never felt scared or uncomfortable. The Cabana Quinta accommodations, for the Price was GREAT!!
Our Beds were made fresh EVERYDAY. Linens were fresh and clean, never a stray hair or stain.
The towels were formed into neat jungle animals or flowers everyday...almost didnt want to use em:) But the Towels are very THIN, and they do not give you face/wash cloths.WiFi worked great...when the electricity was not out:) We were in a 3rd World Country. Americans, we are So spolied!!! Anyway..back to the Hotel, the Breakfast Buffet (which ends at 9am) was GREAT! (Keep in Mind what the Room rates are). Fresh multiple Fruit selections, Fried Plaintain, scrambled and fried egg. Pastries, bread. Fruit Juices, Coffee, fresh cream/milk...I think they may have milked the goat and plucked the eggs out of the nest,out back:)Be aware, the napkins they give out at the Buffet or almost as big and thick, ALMOST...as 2 ply toilet paper from Walmart. Complaint(s): Towels, too THIN, Too Few. Pool, too COLD, Too small. Staff too Snottty, Inattentive...EXCEPT for the maintenance guy...he was very nice and quick to address our non working AC. When Checking in or if possible when BOOKING, DEMAND or ASK for one of the rooms with the NEWER AC units. Lush Jungle landscaping and Rustic design will not let you forget that you are near The Jungle. Fresh water and coffee in the lobby was a great perk...we abused the priviledge and some times filled up our water bottles there:)
But HUGE bottles of Fresh water can be bought at almost every store for around 5 soles.
Overall we would definitely stay here again...but we would go and buy our own Towels.
Plenty to see and do in and around PM...dont be shy, visit on your own the surrounding villages, like Laberinto. An extremely poor Village that appreciates Tourist. Warning it will be an Adventure getting there:) After 6 days in PM we headed back to Cusco, landing in Cusco we dropped of our big luggage at the Hotel Warari, it provides great storage system if you go away for a few days and they look after it and it's ready in your new room when you come back. Place is really nice and clean, We packed into our backpacks, enough to for an overnight stay in Aguas Calietes. Our Biggest mistake was booking a low priced room at the Pirwa in Aguas Calientes...Pay at least $100 US to be sure that you get a Clean, Quiet Nice room...because you will NEED your strength to do Macchu Piccu properly....in other words Do NOT stay at the Pirwa!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Newer Rooms with Newer AC units...if NOT an early riser ask for room that does not have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The room we stayed in had a bit of a bug repellent smell, or cleaning supply smell, so if you are very sensitive to this, it might not be the best option (though our rooms were bug free :)). The hotel has a swimming pool, computers, games etc. so we were well entertained. The breakfast was wonderful and much more than we expected. There was a great variety of local and international options. It is located close to the main square. I'd stay here again if I return to Puerto Maldonado.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is hotel looks like its one f the best in town. That being said the hotel lobby is nice. WiFi only in the lobby. The room are average and simple. Lots of tile on the room so it does get cold in the winter. The room has has a tube TV. The restaurants are walking distant away. The breakfast is good here. Its a good place to stay the night before going or leaving the jungle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When I first arrived at this hotel the lobby was very nice however the rooms were a different story. We were located on the second level and walking up to our room there were a large number of dead bugs and dirt in the enclosed stairway. This wasn't a major concern at first since we were in a jungle region and technically still outside but it was another issue when the level of cleanliness carried into the rooms. Our room had a number of dead bugs in it and the bathroom was heavily populated with drain flies. The surface areas of the bathroom appeared to be clean but the corners of the showers and the ceilings had pockets of dead bugs, indicating that a thorough clean had not been done in a very long time. Additionally our shower knob had fallen off and a quick fix to the shower head had broke resulting in a stream of water being spayed back at the wall. The shower also drained very slowly and water would leak out onto the main bathroom floor. The sleep here wasn't great either, the beds were mediocre and the rain and traffic outside produced a lot of noise in the room making it hard to sleep. Compared to other hotels I stayed at in Peru this location had the most variety for breakfast which was refreshing but due to the poor quality and cleanliness of the rooms I would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompson761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I usually stay at Cabana Quinta on business, at the end of December I spent 1 night with my family. I think it is a great option to stay in Puerto Maldonado. A lot of tourists skip this town to go to the Jungle, there is a fair amount to do actually from visiting the suspension bridge and the Grau memorial to walking around the plaza de armas, going through the market which is fascinating and climbing the mirador. Plus there is a small zoo etc. Cabana Quinta is centrally located (2 soles mototaxi ride to anything), clean, the rooms have A/C and electric ceiling fans, a hot water shower, and the breakfast buffet is huge, delicious, and included. Or room had a master with comfortable double bed, and a door for privacy from the kids at night which was awesome and hard to find in most Peruvian hotels, shared bathroom with shower, and 2 single beds for the kids. There were 2 satellite TVs in the room.There is also a nice little pool for swimming, a bar with happy hour drink deals, a room with 3 free internet terminals and free wifi with decent speed, and last year they redid their lobby which is now huge, airy and has great couches to sack out on and read or chill. the only complaint which was minor was that our room was facing the interoceanic highway which meant a fair amount of traffic noise but it became white noise at night and so it was a minor issue and we slept fine. At other times I've had a cabanita which was great and quieter. A great little hotel for a sweet price and best breakfast in P.M.

Room Tip: the cabanitas are in the middle of the property and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night with a tour. The hotel was nothing special except that it had air conditioning which was desperately needed and a swimming pool. I even suggested to the tour to leave the town as soon as the tour was done with the amazon as there was nothing to see. I would strongly recommend leaving immediately but if you must stay in this town then the hotel was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Torre Inn
La Torre Inn
#9 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#13 of 59 in Puerto Maldonado
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sotupa Eco House
Sotupa Eco House
#1 of 22 in Puerto Maldonado
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chimicuas House
Chimicuas House
#3 of 22 in Puerto Maldonado
27 reviews
24.9 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 59 in Puerto Maldonado
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabana Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabana Quinta

Property: Hotel Cabana Quinta
Address: Jr. Moquegua 422, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cabana Quinta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cabana Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing