We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jungle experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Maldonado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayman Lodge Amazonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I researched jungle lodges forever before booking our trip. To be honest, it was not my first choice, but our tight schedule required we stay a specific two nights, and this one was reasonably priced (compared to others) and I decided to give it a chance. I'm so glad we stayed here!

Our group of 4 had our own personal guide, even though there were other English speaking travelers there. This meant we could move at our own pace and switch up our plans on the fly. Our guide, Frank, was so much fun and taught us so many things. We would highly recommend him!

The food was delicious and filling, and they have bananas to snack on anytime you feel like you need a bit more. There was always boiled water to drink and fresh juices at every meal. Rooms are rustic (hey - you're in the jungle!!), but clean and bug-free.

Pros:
-Great and plentiful food
-Good guides, great service
-Clean rooms
-We saw lots of Amazonian wildlife!

Not-so-pros:
-Beds were very hard, but I think that might be a necessity for the humid jungle environment, because they were hard at another place in Puerto Maldonado too.
-It costs a lot to stay at any of the jungle lodges. Cayman Lodge was actually one of the more reasonable ones from what I could find, so this is not a con for them....just a reality to wanting this experience at all!
-Drinks were a bit pricy compared to a typical bar, but still reasonable when compared to US prices.

Room Tip: Since the rooms are screened in, there is not a ton of privacy. Make sure if you're traveling i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandabc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

I had a lot of trouble deciding which jungle lodge to pick, but ended up staying at the Cayman Lodge Amazonie based on tripadvisor reviews and that it was moderately priced. (I was a little apprehensive as there were not a large number of reviews for the lodge unlike some of the other lodges--not sure why) .We signed up for 4 days/3 nights.

We (3 of us) are were very happy with the jungle lodge and with our guide Mitchel (we were lucky to have him all to ourselves the whole time).

The Peruvian food served by the lodge was very good.

Anny the owner is very friendly and it is obvious she really cares about the guests and knows what she is doing. I believe Christophe is her son who works at the office in Puerto Maldonado and he was always very prompt in responding to all my emails.

I would highly recommend this jungle lodge for 4 days/3 nights if possible (3 days/2 nights is too rushed)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TFL325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were incredibly fortunate to be the only guests at the lodge during our stay. Out guide, Mitchel, was absolutely fantastic and tailored our trips/walks to our timings/needs.

This lodge is beautiful and set in a wonderful landscaped garden 4 hours from PM's port. Everything was included within the cost but we would recommend bringing your own powerful torch, waterproof trousers and jacket and plenty of snacks as meals are set to three times a day.

You will do plenty of walking so the snacks come in handy for energy boosts.

Yes there was no hot water or electrical lighting within the bedrooms but this made no difference as the showers were fine and plenty of candles were available. Considering you are in the thick of the amazon rain forest, this place is pretty homely and is a wonderful retreat after a hard days trek. Staff at the lodge were so friendly and all made a big effort to make us feel at home. The chef is very talented and cooked some wonderful local cuisine.

We really didn't know what to expect before booking but we can safely say that this is a really well run operation, very safe, very comfortable and get tops marks from us. The lodges are all eco-friendly, built with local supplies and in no way detrimental to the environment. Anni and the team go to great lengths to protect their patch of the forest and really do respect the environment they occupy.

Room Tip: Book in April to avoid the crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We signed up for the 3 night 4 day itinerary and it was amazing.... the lodge is beautiful and the rooms excellent, clean and free of insects, we didn't need to use the mozzie net...... the sound of the jungle was out of this world..... the excursions were amazing with special thanks to our excellent guide Raphael, who showed us caiman, piranha, tarantulas and loads of other wildlife & critters big and small....... the food was an amazing treat too being french influenced. if you're thinking about a tour into the jungle just do it! The sounds and sights are like nothing you've seen or heard before, and these guys don't disappoint, Good value & good times...... Jon & Lou from the UK.......

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We booked 4 nights in Cayman Lodge directly on Pt. Maldonado for a really fair price (the lodges around Tambopata are really expensive, at least when you are backpacking...) Everything was well explained and organized. The host (Anni) is french and most guides also speak some weird but understandable french. Don't expect hot water or electricity at night, but thats not what you go to the jungle for, right? Excellent place for backpackers who are looking for an affordable lodge at Tambopata... and yea, we saw the giant otter :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m31416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with Rafael as our guide. The organized excursions with him were informative and fun! He is a walking encyclopedia of jungle and nature facts/stories; and is passionate about the area. Highlights included a jaguar and condor sightings!
The lodge, food and transport were all good. Very peaceful setting and very much a retreat from the hustle and bustle of other tourist locales. The owner Anni was warm and friendly. Food was very tasty and fresh!
All in all it was a terrific stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

During the off season, in April, we were the only guests at the entire lodge. It was great having the whole place to ourselves. The lodge is beautiful, and right on the Tambopata River. Our guide, Rafael, was very helpful and we wouldn't have seen nearly as much wildlife without his expertise. The trails are pretty wet during the wet season, so expect to get dirty. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks after the tiring jungle tours.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mreichw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
237 reviews
9.0 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
123 reviews
24.8 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
306 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Collpas Tambopata Inn
Collpas Tambopata Inn
#21 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Lodge Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Lodge Amazonia

Address: Arequipa 655, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman lodge amazonia is a private project created to protect the ecology and environment in harmony and comfort. The natural beauty of this site is crying out to be known and experienced. Everything is recycled to protect nature as much as possible and minimize the effects of our installation in this protected zone. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing