We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still not ready for prime time, but staff is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Chiclayo
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Still not ready for prime time, but staff is excellent”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I am surprised to hear that rooms have been renovated. We just returned from Chiclayo after spending three nights. Only one floor has been renovated and that is not open to the public. We were given an unacceptable room on the 6th floor, very old and dingy, and we were immediately given a large corner room on the 7th floor. Not renovated, but more than adequate. The reason I still recommend the hotel is its staff--the greatest asset. They constantly apologized for the state of the hotel, sent us fruit to our room and really tried their best to accommodate. Since the hotel is not very close to restaurants, we ate several meals at the hotel restaurant, all of excellent quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your insights with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor.

As you know, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under a full renovation of all public areas and rooms, doing it floor by floor. This is done since Casa Andina took the administration of the hotel last year and we are refurbishing it according to our standards.

Certainly, we are now remodeling floors 3 and 4, and due to the occupation and effort required to do a total refurbishment, the rooms are enabling progressively.

We very much regret if this works caused you any discomfort or bad experience and please be sure that it is not our intention to cause this.

Once again, thank you for letting us to know your comments and we hope we have a second opportunity to offer a real Casa Andina experience.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    234
    92
    24
    8
See reviews for
139
169
40
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been several times in this hotel before. This time they belong to Casa Andina, and you notice the new management immediately. They have two brand new elevators. We stayed at the 6th floor, it was a huge renovated room,with wood floors, a/c, free wi-fi, with view to the pool. Although they are still working on the renovation, it is quiet. The staff is very helpful and efficient. They have an excellent buffet breakfast. Free parking. This is the best hotel to stay in Chiclayo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54lillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

You cant go wrong with any hotel in the Casa Andina chain. We highly recommend them throughout Peru. The Gran hotel has recently come under their management and refurbishments are currently taking place. This hotel is in a very handy location close to the main centre. Its in a busy/noisy area as are most decent hotels in Chiclayo. The refurb including windows will help greatly reduce traffic noise (they love their car horns). Decent restaurant and bar and the rooms are high standard and will get even better. As short term visitors we didnt use the outdoor pool but it has a large area and looked well maintained. The staff have been well chosen are there to take care of your every need. A special mention about Ana, Lucia, Pamela and Antonio all on reception who are most helpful and proud to do their jobs.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if traffic noise concerns you. Once refurbs are completed this may not bean iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyUrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Gran Hotel has a terrific bunch of staff, helpful and full of smiles and I am not just saying this because they noticed from my passport that it was my birthday and arranged a surprise cake, pisco sours and sang Feliz Dia beautifully! Thank you Michael, Felix, Walter, Narumy, Vanessa and Nelly. The staff are working under difficult conditions as the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment, but their enthusiasm is undaunted. Although not the ideal time to stay, I would still heartily recommend it and it is still probably the best option in Chiclayo. We were there 3 nights. It is situated in a serene area within a very easy walk to the centre of the very busy, town (a taxi, as described in some sites is not at all necessary). A very good base for visiting all the absolutely stunning pre-Colombian sights in this part of N Peru. But nothing can protect you from the sound of the car horns down in the town apart from the friendliness of the people living there.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank birthdaytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Huge room, huge bathroom, good location - still being renovated. Quiet tho. No p;roblem with access to elevator reported by others, tho only 1 elevator was available. Cafe had very limited menu - nothing simple.

Room Tip: We had room 420 facing the back and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your impressions about your experience at our hotel.

As you know, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under a full renovation of all public areas and rooms, doing it floor by floor. This is done since Casa Andina took the administration of the hotel last year and we are refurbishing it according to our standards.

We would also like to mention that we have two brand new elevators operating, allowing that the access to the rest of our hotel areas be easier.

Please, accept our apologies if there was any inconvenience while you were with us. Be assured that these changes will be greatly appreciated when they are completed.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Casa Andina / Gran Hotel as part of our tour. The lobby is nice and as previous reviewers have stated, all the people we met went out of their way to help us. We stayed in two rooms (room 612 the first night and room 604 the second night). The reason we switched rooms is because we complained that the room we had the first night was noisy and smelled moldy. They accommodated us and upgraded us to a suite the second night. The suite was quieter as it partially overlooked the pool but there was still lots of traffic noise; the room was bigger and even included a jacuzzi tub but we didn't use it. The room however still smelled of mildew. Based on those two rooms, I'm guessing that all the rooms are noisy and have a mildew problem. The air-conditioning units are either on or off - there is no thermostat setting so we were constantly turning it on and off to maintain a comfortable temperature which was annoying. I tend to be sensitive to mold and mildew and as a result I ended up with asthma.

The restaurant attached to the hotel (Cappuccino Cafe) has a decent selection for breakfast and one night we chose to eat dinner there. It was surprisingly good. We especially enjoyed the Mixed Seafood Ceviche as an appetizer.

As a gauge, for those familiar with the quality of a Hampton Inn in the USA, I typically rate those as very good since I think these hotels offer extremely good value for money and at a minimum I expect a hotel room to be clean and not make me feel ill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0baltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your impressions about your experience at our hotel.

We would like to mention that Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under Casa Andina’s administration since last year, and since then we have been redesigning and refurbishing all public areas and hotel rooms, doing it floor by floor. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced while you were with us. Please be sure that these changes will be greatly appreciated.

We sincerely hope to get the opportunity to visit us again and offer you the real Casa Andina experience.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed for a mini-vacation and read about this hotel. Thanks to all for the objective information. Well, here is my report... Arrived on a Monday morning first flight from Lima, unfortunately, check in information is erratic, somewhere in a web page it says noon, however it's more like 2pm, that's what is posted on a wall in the hotel counter.

The service throughout our stay was impecable. Even though we were inconvenienced by a presidential visit, we were moved to another suite (check your jacuzzi, make sure it works), and given some complimentary treats. My special thanks to Christian, Marco, Charlie and the manager on site. Also my thanks to Gisella in reservations who helped me clarify some questions, especially this 18% tax that is charged if just one member of your party is a peruvian national.

I can confirm that the infrastructure is old, but solid. There is much work left. They are only working with one elevator that is very outdated, but it does the job. We had to take the stairs a couple of times due to heightened security, but it was pleasantly roomy. The restaurant in the 2nd floor is not working, and only the first floor restaurant is running. The breakfast buffet is very satisfying, with daily variety. We had dinner there too, and the food was very good a la carte.

The location is great, right in front of a park, and next to a main avenue. You may hear some noise but nothing compared to a stay in Lima, where it's super noisy. All in all I would recommend this location, but mainly for its staff. They were all very helpful at all times.

Chiclayo is not a very big city, and pretty safe to walk around. Otherwise you can get around by taxi, which is not very expensive (3 soles / daytime; 4 soles / night -one dollar is 2.6 soles). There is also a nice mall where you can find anything, including movies, a karaoke bar and a good restaurant set.

I am only giving this hotel 3 stars because the pictures that I saw and lured me onto this location were of a different location. This was confirmed by local staff and my stay. I've noticed that these pictures have been updated since, at least on the Expedia site. I have just entered the Casa Andina site for Chiclayo and cannot see any pictures, so they must be updating the site. Additionally, during my stay I had extremely poor internet connection, in both suites assigned.

Again, this hotel is worth the stay, to experience the care of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for letting us to know your valuable comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We very much regret the inconveniences presented and if perceived your stay was not to what you expected.

As you may know, Casa Andina started managing Gran Hotel Chiclayo since 2011 that is why we are still in a refurbishing process and adapting it to our standards. We would also like to mention that some improvements have been made since your stay with us; we now count with two new elevators.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at any of our hotels in Peru and guarantee the real Casa Andina experience.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
0.7 mi away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 37 in Chiclayo
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
0.8 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Chiclayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Intiotel Chiclayo
Intiotel Chiclayo
#3 of 37 in Chiclayo
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solec
Hotel Solec
#9 of 37 in Chiclayo
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Sipan
Hotel Gran Sipan
#13 of 37 in Chiclayo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Property: Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo 14000, Peru
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiclayo
#1 Business Hotel in Chiclayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing