We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by Chiclayo standards”
Review of Muchik Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiclayo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muchik Hostel
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spend a couple of days in the dorm of Muchik hostel (25S per Person/night). The staff of the hostel is very friendly and helpful and the hostel is modern and clean.
It is more a hotel than a hostel (no kitchen, no common area, no backpackers) but it has wifi and a dorm. And the room was cleaned every day and the reception is open 24h (which is helpful if you arrive late at night).
It would have been nice to have waste bags in the toilet bin and if the hostel invested in buying sheets that fit the beds (it's not a good feeling, neither hygienic to wake up on the mattress).

Room Tip: The dorm (6 beds) is big and with its own bathroom. It looks out on a busy street so take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muchikhostel, Front Office Manager at Muchik Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for writing and highlights our values: cleanliness, friendliness, good conditions of our little hostel. It is true that failure to implement some services but that are within our growth plan, we expect more tourists to come to our city to grow and improve standards. Thank you for your message.

Muchik Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were very happy to find a place like this in dusty and chaotic Chiclayo. It was the only place in Peru where we did not need to sleep with ear plugs! It felt more like a hotel than a hostel though. The room was super clean, the bed was large and we had tv and private bathroom too, for just $25 a night. It might be a bit more expensive than hostels in Chiclayo but you do not get the tranquility you get at Muchik. The staff were also very helpful and the owner loves to get to know her guests. There's also a cute little breakfast/lunch place right next door and the women there also offered to cook us dinner for less than 10 soles. The only downside to this hotel is that the wi-fi signal is not that strong, but then again remember you're in Peru. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more peaceful it gets but the wi-fi is best on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay when in chiclayo. Taxi max. 2 soles from all the busstations.room ar clean, location is central, deskservice is good, price/quality is good. There is wifi at the reception and there are more then enough things to do and see in chiclayo for 4 days

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It's hard to find actual dorms out here, the dorm rooms are clean with new tile work in the bathroom. The room does get hot in the summer (late December-March) and the bathroom door didn't always close right. The owner speaks some English and is very happy to practice, tell you stories, and help you out. The guy really went out of his way to help me find some local food after some prodding about not wanting the touristy food in the parque principal. He was a bit overprotective, I think in reaction to the last review (and theft incident) and accompanied me to the room after a new guest arrived to make sure everything was there. I'm not sure why he knew I had accidentally left my camera under my pillow, but he was very concerned. Wifi barely works near the door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived at this place very late - the first impression was fine as you can read in many reviews before. The woman at the reception was very friendly and the room was small but okay. Next day we went out to see the city. When we got back in our room it was cleaned and okay. But some minutes later we noticed that our Laptop was stolen out of our backpack! The window which we had closed because we were on ground floor was now open... After we reported this to the owner we spent almost 6 hours with the police. The owner of the hostel told us, that it can not be possible. She even didn't believe that we had a laptop. The only problem of the lady was the reputation of the hostel. The situation was getting worse the next day so we just wanted to leave... of course without our Laptop!
Conclusion: A good hotel room is worth nothing if security is an issue.

Room Tip: No rooms on ground floor as cleaning staff will leave windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Traveling-Nici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place used to be called and was still erroneously labeled in our guide book as Hostal Santa Catalina.

We came here to spend the night and ended up staying two just to relax. The room was extremely clean and quiet. For 60 soles we got a private room, private bathroom with seriously hot water, cable TV and spotty wifi. They cleaned the room during the day as well. The woman at reception was there all of the time. She was very friendly and more than happy to help me practice my Spanish. Also, the last day our bus didn't leave until 9pm. She watched our backpacks all day so we could walk around the city comfortably and then when we returned she called us a cab. Overall the hotel was good quality for the money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnekeAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed the 'luxuary' of a hotel-like room with tv and bathroom. The room was very clean the lady at the reception very friendly. It's not the place to meet other people though since there are no common rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Santa
Villa Santa
#10 of 39 in Chiclayo
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Oasis
Hospedaje Oasis
#11 of 50 in Chiclayo
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 39 in Chiclayo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
0.3 mi away
Hostal Colibri
Hostal Colibri
#8 of 28 in Chiclayo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchik Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchik Hostel

Address: Vicente de la Vega 1127, Chiclayo Chiclayo centro, Peru
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Chiclayo
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MUCHIK HOSTELWe offer to you the best location at best price! We are three blocks from Chiclayo’s main square, five minutes from the airport, in a neighborhood that counts with bars, restaurants, shops, banks and other useful places.We incorporate to our facilities relect the pre-Columbian cultures of northern Peru, creating a special, relaxed, fun atmosphere for our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay We have professional well-trained staff, willing to provide any information you need to visit the city and its surroundings. The quality of our servicehas been certified by Promperu Get comfortable and enjoy our city! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing