We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

There is so much to do and see in PNG have been there several times and always stay at this resort. The food is excellent, rooms spacious, comfortable and all with amazing views. The gardens are kept in beautiful condition with such magnificent tropical plants and orchards. Always something to see whilst sitting on the balcony that overhangs the water.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

We appreciate reviews which help us see ourselves through the eyes our guests, fortunately most reviews are very positive, but we know there are always ways we can improve. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 219 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

On my second visit to Madang I again choose to stay at The Madang resort Hotel which did not disappoint me.
On arrival at the airport I was meet again by the smiling Mr .Busy who drove myself and my friends to the Madang Resort and dropped us at reception.
Once allocated our rooms we were taken by golf bugy through the magnificent grounds to our over the water bungalow looking out across the main channel . This view is exceptional and all day you see villagers in canoes, or large boats being ferried across from the islands opposite.
The rooms are well laid out , fully air conditioned with bar fridge and tropical cane lounge chairs and flat screen tv .
We dinned in the new Haus Win and found the food to be excellent. There are so many activities around Madang and on my second visit I went game fishing on the boat supplied by the Madang Resort and caught some huge mackerel, a real thrill!
I can thoroughly recommend for anyone looking for a different holiday to go and stay in Madang Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TsunamiAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

We were all pleased to receive such a positive review following your first visit. Busy Bee Kudjip is his real name, he comes from Mt Hagen in the Western Highlands and would be amongst the best tourist guides in PNG, he has worked for the Company for more than 25 years and everyone that he meets speak highly of his knowledge and ability to make you feel welcome.
We are pleased that the Haus Win Restaurant was re-opened after a closure lasting 12 months during the reconstruction, since your visit we have installed the plantation shutters which is the final touch to this famous restaurant which has stood the test of time for more than 50 years.
We look forward to your third visit.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Myself and several colleagues stayed at the Madang Resort in September 2012 and all had a great time. We stayed in rooms facing the water and the view is great and the large balconies provide for a perfect area to sit and enjoy the view, morning, day or night. There is a constant flow of small fishing boats and long boats that cruise between Madang and nearby islands, which keep you entertained and not to mention the odd cameo from a pod of dolphins (quite the treat on our final night).

The rooms are well air-conditioned, the beds comfortable and the bathroom is plenty big enough.

The grounds of the hotel are very well landscaped and the room service was very good.

There is wide selection of food from the restaurant and the ambience created by the open-sided restaurant, with fish tank and grand piano made for many enjoyable eating experiences during our trip.

All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We were also fortunate to enjoy one of the snorkelling tours offered by the resort. Fish and coral were amazing and rivalled anything we'd seen on the barrier reef. Beautiful warm water too.

All in all - a great place to stay, very safe and would definitely return for either business or pleasure!!!.

Thanks

Luke Gray
Adelaide

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

LUKE
Thank you for taking time to write a review, you comments have been passed along to all staff and I am sure they will be happy that you were satisfied during your stay at the Madang Resort. As you may have experienced, we have just rebfurbished all the waterfront bungalows with Pacific Green Furniture imported from Fiji. We are also in the midst of training our staff by gaining experience in our hotels in Cairns and attending TAFE. We look forward to your return visit in 2013 and wish you a very Merry Christmas.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I think my waterfront room was about 350 AUD per night.

Nice view. Nice gardens.

No mini bar. And room service completely shut down at 930pm. Tried all modes on the aircon and it was only blowing hot air. So spent the night covered in sweat as it was humid outside with no breeze.

It could be good - but I was too tired to tell.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrmcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for your comments. At the time of writing we do not know which room you used, but this week every single air conditioner in the waterfront rooms were cleaned and checked - all reported to be working perfectly. wE WILL AGAIN CHECK TODAY. I suggest that you have been too tired to use the remote control correctly and had we been advised, we would have assisted.
In regard to being run down, sorry mate, every waterfront room has been totally refurbished in the last month with Pacific Green Furniture from Fiji, new venetians and curtains and beds repplaced.
In addition, we have spent $5m in rebuilding the Haus Win Restaurant, the new Kalibobo Haus Kibing Function room and currently using the low season to repaint every cottage in Kalibobo Village.
Whilst we appreciate honest reviews, comming from someone that is supposed to be 'senior' trip advisor it appears you have a motive for being so negative as I cannot accept your critisism without responding appropriately - we really try to work hard to maintain the Madang Resort which in reality is the oldest, most historic hotel in PNG and it is certanly NOT run down as your describe.
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were holidaying in Madang Resort during the Christmas (2011) on a discounted rate and we got the best seaside marvelous unit. It’s a very big resort with many individual units. There are many activities to do including kayaking, snorkeling, cycling inside the very large resort, fishing, etc. The sea cruise with Kalibobo Spirit is must do thing if you are staying in Madang resort or not. Enjoyed the tropical style breakfast as well as.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking time to make a review of your visit last Xmas, the memory must be still in your mind of beautiful Madang. Since last Xmas we have reopened the Haus Kibung the Haus Win Restaurant, installed the giant aquariums and before this Xmas we hope to have all the plantation shutters installed around the Haus Win. We hope that you can make a return visit to see the progress that has been made.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The resort itself is set on very nice grounds near to the rest of Madang and the sights. It is however next to a ship passageway which although it is interesting seeing the container ships go past, there is no beach nearby. The food is good, especially try the seafood curry, and the breakfast is adequate. The rooms that they put us in however were small and infested with ants, the air conditioner above the bed leaked water. It was also sad to see native animals stuck in tiny cages.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer pool side rooms and inspect the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking time to send in a review of your stay. It would help if you had identified the room allocated, as you would be aware we have several categories of accommodation and generally speaking we receive very good reviews but it appears your room had ants, we note the air conditioner was leaking so since your visit, we have had the Manager and our service engineers check all air conditioners and we have again sprayed the rooms inside to remove ants which unfortunately in the tropics are apart of like. In regard to the animals in the cages, for your information we let all the wallabies, tree kangaroos loose as well as the hornbills (Kokomos), gourier pidgeons (Vicoria Crown Pidgeons) but they need to be locked up at night due to stray dogs , snakes and the ocassional people who steal them. We are planning a completely new aviary and zoo in Kalibobo Village, hopefully this will be complete in early 2013. Thank you again for the review, we hope you return in the near future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I would like to thank the staff of the Madang Resort for their exceptional service during our stay with them in October. In particular I would like to thank Tobby, the hospitality manager, Alphonse from the restaurant and Oliver, the night security guard, for the lengths they went to in locating my lost camera and passport which they returned to me 24 hours after I left my bag in the restaurant. Your honesty and helpfulness was truly remarkable and I cannot thank you enough for all you did for me.

I would also like to thank the staff at the dive centre for not only the fantastic diving, but especially for all their help with the logistics of our trip, keeping us supplied with dive tanks for two weeks and making our field work possible.

I cannot fault the level of customer service and hospitality we experienced during our stay, with staff doing everything possible to meet our large group's needs, even opening the kitchen early to feed our hungry pizza-craving-crew as we passed through en route to the airport.

A very sincere thank you to all at the Madang Resort, and I hope it won't be too long before we will be visiting your beautiful country again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water on the Madang Lagoon are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaminFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for such a positive review. After almost 2 years of construction, we are finally providing exceptional services, we have provided each of the staff mentioned copies of your review which will encourage them to continue to satisfy our guests. We look forward to your return in the near future, thank you
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
69 reviews
126.7 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lae
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
0.9 mi away
Coastwatchers Hotel
Coastwatchers Hotel
#5 of 6 in Madang
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range: $159 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All rooms offer ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium, PADI Dive shop, marina, kayaks, catamarans, tennis, golf, game fishing, tour desk & concierge. The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business. Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing