We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Rooms / Friendly Staff / Great Pizza in the Restaurant”
Review of Madang Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madang Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
279 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Budget Rooms / Friendly Staff / Great Pizza in the Restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After searching relentlessly for reasonably priced budget rooms, we elected to stay at Madang Lodge. Budget rooms cost about $100/night which isn't bad for PNG. The health/club/exercise room was nice to have and the restaurant and bar right on the ocean was fantastic. One of the best deals was the pizza for about $20. They'll even put the leftovers in the refrigerator so you can have it for breakfast the next morning. Although this lodge is not really close to much, it's so easy to hop a PMV to town and back. Don't take the Lodge van because it's expensive for each trip. I explored the surrounding neighborhood nearby and I considered Madang to be among the nicest and safest towns in PNG. The folks there are sure super friendly and helpful. I always enjoyed the pool area in the late afternoon and early evening, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
8
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is by far the best place to stay in Madang. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant is great. Rooms are clean and well maintained and the gardens and pool are beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is amazing! Beautiful Gardens,Stunning view from the ocean front and the restaurant! and a amazing pool with a beautiful view just tempting you to take a swim! Friendly staff you will meet i guarantee! this place is AMAZING!!! You will love it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

PNG is expensive. If you are planning to go you need to expect that everywhere - you will not find prices cheaper than Australia - you are doing well if you are find prices equal to Australia... Saying that, Madang is overpriced considering what you would get for the same price in Australia. Moving past price, I stayed in a seaside room which was in a double-level apartment block style- I stayed at the bottom level, and my colleague stayed at the top level.

We had beautiful views onto the ocean - but the best views were the top rooms (which have a nice balcony). Really enjoyed the sound of the water which I could hear from inside my room - lovely! I had a verandah (but the fans out there didn't seem to work). However rooms had AC and a fan, both working inside. Room had a working safe plus decent TV connection. Everything worked fine, only small issue were the pillows were all of the large variety - would be good to have some flatter ones :) Also had a desk in the room and fridge, kettle etc.

The restaurant attached is at the waterfront so can have some great views particularly in the morning with the mountains often visible. Meals are priced between 20-45 kina mostly, I really enjoyed the cajun tuna and also the romano pizza, plus the icecream is really tasty. Breakfast is OK - recommend the tropical fruit plate. Cereal is boring - just cornflakes. Pancakes were pretty good- but ask for extra lemon.

There is also a cute gift / coffee shop - best souvenirs I saw around PNG (not that I have been around much) and sometimes they have some really good cake out (plus you can have coffee and tea). All the staff in the restaurant and cafe are really lovely. Unfortunately service is often slow and there is a lot of going out back to check about any question you raise. However if you're not in a rush, it's fine.

You can purchase internet too - quite odd the way the options are. My colleague and I purchased 7 days unlimited for 200 kina (i think..) and shared it between ourselves. This worked pretty well about 80% of the time.

Also the pool is a highlight - you can see the ocean from the pool :)

ENJOY!

Room Tip: seaside top level :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Special_K24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Friendly staff, who try to help - but don't expect any assistance with tour stuff, and don't be sure organized airport transfers will happen. Had a Faulty Towers kind of experience on arrival... requested airport transfer didn't turn up, got a free lift from a local security patrol van, then, after this van is let into the lodge's compound, the manager/authority figure turns up and starts scolding the gate guard in front of us, for not checking id first. Not once did he say hello to us... a most antisocial guy who must consider hotel guests as a terrible inconvenience. And, for a 2-3 star service and accommodation, we were charged 4-5 star prices. On the plus side, the food was quite good, and the surrounds were peaceful and attractive. Nonetheless, won't ever choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnzjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadangLodgeHotel, General Manager at Madang Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
We regret the events which resulted in the failure of the airport transfer for the guests on arrival and this matter has been dealt with internally.

The Madang Lodge Hotel bus meets flights on a daily basis and this particular occasion is not typical of our service.

We do not know who the "authority figure" referred to is however Madang Lodge Hotel does take all security issues very seriously.

Madang Lodge Hotel prices are considered very reasonable by comparison to other establishments within the hospitality industry and by comparison to other centres our rates are considerably less.

It would be helpful to know which particular room the guests stayed in and it would also be helpful to have had an email sent directly to the Management for attention.

We respect the guests advice they will not return and wish them well on future journeys.

Madang Lodge Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived to the Madang Lodge at 7.30 pm. Was dark and there was a storm. We asked for a room. Receptcion gave us pricelist. After talking by themselves, they took the pricelist and said, that they have only the most expencive , Seaside Room. We asked for several times, did they really do not have any Budget, Morata or Garden View Rooms. They said, that we have to take this most expencive room. We had no choice, because there was a big storm. After we checked in internet about room availibilities for this night - there were all kind of rooms available, in the hotel website and booking.com.
At once we called reception, and asked, why they lied. They said, that they can do nothing without manager. I was very angry, and they at last apologised, but did not do anything.
Next morning we went to talk with manager Jeff Martinez. We wanted compensation for that, what was happened. Hotel was empty, there were only few customers.
Hotel manager did not even apologised, but said, that homepage was wrong and booking.com was wrong, but to the question, were are all the customers, if the hotel is fully booked, he could not answer. He was very unpolite, said that he will not apologise and will not give not any compansation, he said, that we can check out and he left in the middle of the conversation.
We just want to warn people, if you go there, book ahead in internet. Place is beautiful, but service is horrible. The worst thing is to lie to customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Agnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadangLodgeHotel, General Manager at Madang Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
The guests who arrived this particular evening were two guests and their stay has been documented in our records.

There was no prior reservation made by the guests who had travelled from the Highlands and did indeed arrive on a stormy night.

The Madang Lodge Hotel rooms - Budget - Morota - Garden Terrace - were all fully booked and occupied on the night and there was a number of early morning transfers for the 6.00am Air Niugini flight checkin.

The websites Expedia, Wotif and Booking.com only show the rooms which are available - they do not show rooms which are already reserved - so to anyone looking on the internet the information only shows rooms which are listed as accommodation options.

It is this reason the rooms appeared to be available.

It is not Madang Lodge Hotel policy to lie to customers and the suggestion that our staff would do so is totally incorrect.

Jeff Martinez dealt with the two guests in an efficient and polite manner and was firm that there would be no compensation as the guests had been accommodated in the only rooms available which were the Premier Seaside Rooms.

It is our recommendation that all overseas guests arrange prior reservations before arriving to ensure the accommodation is suitable to the standard which they are expecting in the range of their travel budget and it is very rare for overseas guests not to do so.

We understand the guests have expressed their views and we wish them well on all future journeys.

Madang Lodge Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We have reservations at Madang Lodge and although we have not arrived, we are actually considering canceling the reservations even if we forfeit our money. After repeatedly trying to get help via e mail for booking road travel between Madang and Goroka, the staff has been at best unhelpful and more accurately rude and downright nasty. The attitude seems to be one of total lack of consideration for their guest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NairobiAntartica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
1.8 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Madang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lae
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#1 of 9 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Lodge Hotel

Property: Madang Lodge Hotel
Address: Modilon Road | P.O. Box 59, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Madang Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Lodge Hotel is a privately run boutique hotel located in Papua New Guinea's prettiest town, Madang. Set on the water's edge amongst manicured tropical gardens, the hotel offers 54 rooms and apartments of varying types. The hotel also boasts an ocean front swimming pool, restaurant and bar as well as a host of other amenities including a gym and fitness centre, cafe and gift shop, business centre, conference facilities, spa and Wifi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Madang Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing