We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Blas Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yandup Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here. It was an amazing experience one I will never forget! The whole setting was breathtaking! We stayed on a cabin over the water. The sound of waves at night right under me was fantastic. I read some bad reviews on the food. But they must of changed that because all our meals were great! And I'm a picky eater. Everyone who worked there really wanted to make you happy! The daily excursions were fun. The community trip was the best! It was very humbling. The private islands were beautiful. The only bad part was the trash that washed up everywhere. The lodge really tried to keep on top of it though. There was plenty to do but also plenty of down time. I brought a good book and spent a relaxing time on our private hammock. Make sure to bring bug spray. We also brought some snacks.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jzazzzjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 427 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spend 2 weeks in Panama and this was by far the best part of the trip! We spent 3 nights at Yandup Island Lodge.Totally relaxing! Didn't miss contact from the outside world at all. The staff was terrific! It was interesting to talk with the staff as they were all Kuna and lived in the nearby Kuna community. We were well taken care of.. The tours and food were awesome! I was nervous about the food being mainly seafood, but it was great! The Tours that Domy, Blanco, and Luis took us on were fun and educational. Ladies who served us our food were great. We truly enjoyed our stay. It was beautiful, serene, quiet, and exactly what we needed and wanted for our vacation. Yandup Island Lodge should be on everyone's list to visit when in Panama!

Room Tip: Rooms over the ocean bring with them crashing waves at night! Take advantage of all of the tours off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank widx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I enthusiastically recommend this hotel! Keep in mind the style is rustic.
The San Blas area is very beautiful and very natural, very authentic as it is managed by the local indians, the Kunas. There are many small islands where you can go and spend a day at the beach on a deserted island all to yourself, it is very beautiful. Yandup Lodge is very well organized. They pick you up at the airport and take you on a boat to the island, only ten minutes away. You are served breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food is well prepared and very good, balanced meals. A lot of fish and sea food, breakfast includes bread, cereal, fruits, yoghurt and coffee. You don't have to think about anything and can totally relax as they call you when the meals are ready for lunch and dinner, and there are two activities every day, that include snorkeling in nearby islands, a walk through the jungle, a visit to the Kuna village...The rooms are rustic but well set up. Bathroom has fresh water showers. Bedding is all right. Overall I think it is good value for money and a trip worthwhile. We stayed two nights but could have stayed a third.

Room Tip: Rooms over the sea have the sound of the ocean when you sleep but are very humid. You have a feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

had a great time at Yandup. wonderful people and it's absolutely beautiful out there!! extremely relaxing (there is not much to do out there-no internet, etc) so bring your book! the food was very tasty as well. very unique experience

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank 1nlee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights at Yandup Island Lodge, It is truly an amazing adventure into one of the remaining remote places on earth. Everything was wonderful, lodging, food, weather, activities. The only negative comment I do have is there is no internet, phone or communication on the island. Unfortunately, my family needed to reach me due to a death in the family and it was very difficult. The message was relayed but it was necessary to leave the island, (by boat) and then try to reach the states via payphone and phone card. For a full hour I was frantic. My one suggestion is for Yandup to have a satelite phone in case of extreme emergencies. I must commend the staff for their caring attitude towards me. The team, led by Blanco, was very nice and made sure that I eventually got my call out. From the sounds of it, we were lucky with our Air Panama flights. Both were on time and a fun part of the vacation. We will surely return for another visit sometime in the future. BM

Room Tip: We were in 8 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love this place ! It's not for travelers who need wifi or television. it's a pure getaway almost like gilligans island ! If you have the spirit of adventure you should check it out . The food is good but take snacks to hold you over between meals . I would also advise writing down any drinks or purchases so that there are no discrepancies when you pay at the end of your stay . If you can take your own liquor . The tours are fun the snorkeling is awesome and the Kuna people are very friendly . The only down side is Air panama :( they are simply horrible . But if you don't want to take a boat there fly yourself ! The airline is rude late and overpriced . But once your there it's heaven :)

Room Tip: Stay in the over water rooms and a bar was being built when we were there so it's getting better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed two nights at Yandup Island Lodge and loved it. This is not a place if you are expecting a 5 star hotel. There is one daily flight from Albrook to Playon Chico at 6 am. The owner was there to meet and greet us.

The room was ready for us when we arrived even though checkin was not till 4pm. We stayed in cabin 10 over the water.

The 2 tours daily and food satisfied us.

The only downfall was after dinner there are no activities and since it is an island there is nothing to do. Yandup was great for a short getaway from Internet, television, and phones.

A bar was being built when we visited. Bring bug spray and one pair of long sleeve pant and shirt to sleep in.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Blas Islands hotels
8.5 mi away
Hotel El Porvenir
Hotel El Porvenir
#2 of 2 in San Blas Islands
41 reviews
7 mi away
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
#2 of 3 in San Blas Islands
47 reviews
60.9 mi away
Akwadup Lodge
Akwadup Lodge
#17 of 32 in San Blas Islands
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
#11 of 32 in San Blas Islands
27 reviews
22.5 mi away
Cabanas Digir Dubbu
Cabanas Digir Dubbu
#1 of 3 in Isla Tigre
3 reviews
0 mi away
Isla Perro - Barco Hundido
Isla Perro - Barco Hundido
#12 of 32 in San Blas Islands
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yandup Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yandup Island Lodge

Address: Playon Chico | Kuna Yala, 0838, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Guna Yala Region > San Blas Islands
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in San Blas Islands
Price Range: $120 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yandup Island Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yandup Island Lodge is the perfect getaway in the Caribbean of the Kuna Indians, in the San Blas Archipelago. Perfect place to relax in a hammock, enjoy the sea breeze and the sound of the waves and birds. In this private island with coconut palms, surrounded by coral reefs and a small beach you will be treated as kings and queens in one of our six lovely and comfortable cabins in front of the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yandup Island Hotel San Blas Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing