We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very primitive”
Review of Hotel El Porvenir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Porvenir
Effingham, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very primitive”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

 The hotel boat transported more  people than there were life jackets on board.  All baggage is placed under a plastic tarp and be warned that if sea is rough or the tide is high you will get wet and those on the sides and in the front will be drenched.   We were shocked with the poor conditions of the place.  There was a washed up boat refrigerator near the landing and discarded plastic bottles.  There are different bed arrangements in the rooms and though the rooms are not very clean and the bathroom shower head is a pipe of cold water there are private bathrooms.  The walls are 3/4 brick with braided palms on the upper which does not filter the light or noise from adjoining rooms.  Try to get an end room if possible therefore you have only 1 neighbor.  The sheets are very old and do not stay on the mattress.  There is no way to lock the bedroom doors so I chose to carry my camera and wallet.  The menu is the same every meal but the ingredients are fresh and we were served cabbage slaw, rice, fish, chicken, or octopus.   The hotel boat takes you to a different island everyday for swimming.  There is a nice swimming area and the runway is not being used and a great place to walk at night and enjoy the stars.  The owner speaks English and the Kuna extended family live on site.  Everyone is very friendly and the ladies can share their knowledge of needlework and beading.  The generator runs from 4pm to 10 am.  In summary this is a very primitive living condition and it is as close to living in a Kuna village as you can get.

Room Tip: Rooms face common court yard and wing with back to dock have back doors and clothes line. Around 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
6
9
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having sailed from Cartagena and arrived on the morning of 31st Dec with no accommodation booked, we were left with no option but to stay at Hotel El Porvenir it seemed. Our yacht captain booked us and our four fellow sailing companions (2 Dutch ladies and a German couple) into a bungalow each.

Bungalow is a generous description of a room akin to a prison cell with 3 beds (admittedly 2 of which had mosquito nets) and a "bathroom" in the corner which was effectively a battered sink, a rickety toilet and high mounted cold water tap in one section of the room with only a shutter separating it from the sleeping area - if you don't know your travelling partner intimately, you soon will!

But the real slap in the face was the service, or lack thereof, from the Kuna owner. We might have thought he had something against us personally or just didn't like the British but within 90 minutes of arriving on his property, he had offended not only us but also our Dutch and German companions! He was rude, offhand, unfriendly and generally deeply unhelpful at every turn.

Fortunately we wandered over to the other side of the island and found the cabanas which regrettably were fully booked (we would have merrilly written off our $40 payment to Hotel Porvenir and paid again to stay in the cabanas which were nicer, cleaner, better situated and better equipped while still basic) but introduced us to the lady who ran the establishment who went out of her way to help us at every turn. We subsequently booked our island tours through her, our return transfer to the mainland and spent new year's eve at their party....and yes, you guessed it, Scrooge Kuna at the Hotel El Porvenir had organised absolutely nothing to celebrate the coming of 2013 with the whole place shut up in darkness by 11pm.

If you have to stay on Porvenir (and there is no real reason to) then be sure to pick the Cabanas over Hotel El Porvenir....

Room Tip: all rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hackney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Blas Islands hotels

Mexico, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The first thing you have to remember about San Blas is that it is expensive! At this place, we paid USD50 per night, per person. This included 3 meals a day, accomodation, and transport to a random island for the day.

Food: was fine for one day - but then you realise that it is the SAME dish for every meal. So if you are planning on spending more than 2 days here, maybe go smowhere else. The food is acceptable; nothing more. (I think you might be able to pay more to get a lobster dinner - if you like lobster, definitely do this!). It surpised me that beers and wine were no more expensive than they were in Panama City.

Accomodation: was a much lower standard than a lot of places we've been to throughout central america. But it was clean, and comfortable.

Day trips: were fairly random - noone seemed to know where we might end up for the day, but that didn't matter. A lot of the islands were amazing (we really liked Pelican Island - but get there early before the ice-cooler brigade turn up!). Chici was a briilant boatsman/guide/host!

When we stayed, they were building the new runway, so it was NOISY from about 6am.

There are probably better islands to stay on than this one, but if you end up here it's not the end of the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

In all fairness, this is neither a terrible nor a great place to stay. There is a better place on the other side of the island called Cabanas Nan Gabayai which is cheaper ($25/night vs $50, but it doesn’t include meals or boat so it probably comes to about the same) that is right on the water, very scenic, quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. (More on Nan Gabayai toward the end of this review.)

El Porvenir is relatively cheap and much prettier than the neighboring native islands, which are shanty towns with outhouses over the water and naked children playing in dirt. Which is not to say El Porvenir is beautiful necessarily—there’s more trash around than there should be, and the water’s cloudy with debris and not great for swimming. Put it this way—it’s pretty if you know where to look. It’s neither close nor far to nicer islands (about 25 minutes by very wet and uncomfortable motorboat), but everything’s pretty spread out in San Blas, and given some of your other options it’s not bad. (For example, you can stay on Dog Island—a very pretty island with a nice swimming beach—for $15, but that’s a mattress on the floor in a big shared hut with an outhouse about 40m away.) The rooms at Hotel El Porvenir are not terribly clean, the beds are not terribly comfortable, there’s no hot water, and the food is bad. But you don’t go to El Porvenir for luxury. You go because you can afford it, the nicer resorts were booked, and it’s either this or something much worse. So if you look at it that way, you can make the best of it, and maybe even have a really nice stay here. (Agree with that other reviewer about Chiki—he is awesome!)

I will strongly recommend that if you do stay here, try to get the $60 bungalow. Not only is it the only one that seemed to have any sort of privacy, but it’s steps from the water and farther away from the noise of the construction, which other people told us was bad and starts early. (We were there late December 2011 and the construction had just started—by the looks of it, it won’t be done anytime soon.) In the bungalow you wake up to gentle ocean sounds. (That being said, you do get the view of the dredging pipeline and a fair smattering of trash just outside your door, and there’s a big mouse hole in the corner. Which, now that I think about it, might have been good if it was occupied, since maybe the mice would’ve eaten the roaches. Yes, roaches. I killed two during the night and found a third that was already dead. Though they're pretty big, they're much slower than NYC roaches ;)

Though they tried (mostly), the owners of the Hotel El Porvenir are just not very nice or friendly. From the moment we got there they were yelling. (We called them the Kuna Costanzas because they seemed to be constantly yelling.) When we asked for a lock for our door because of all the workers outside our room, they looked at us like we were crazy. The first day when they left us stranded on the island until dusk because their boat man was busy, they yelled at us for worrying about it so much. (They are good about taking you to a nicer island every day right after breakfast...it's just the picking up that's bad. I get that they're on island time and all, but 3-4 hours late to pick someone up is just very troubling.) And the next day when we came back to our room and it was flooded with two inches of water, they immediately tried to somehow blame us for it.

That was the end of our stay. We got pretty angry with them (our clothes were soaked in what was most likely toilet water, and some of our electronics were ruined), and in their defense they were good in the end about paying for our other hotel (since we’d paid in advance through Panama Travel Group, who, as others have mentioned, were not particularly nice or helpful either), but I’m pretty sure if we didn’t raise a stink they would’ve shrugged and just told us to deal with it.

The following two nights we stayed at the Cabanas Nan Gabayai hotel on the other side of the island, which for us was much, much better. It’s raised up on stilts over the water, and run by an extremely nice man who keeps it clean, speaks good English, and cooks similar but far better food at his restaurant (where you can watch some very entertaining Venezuelan soap operas any given night). His beds are less comfortable (very thin mattresses), the walls are thin, and there’s no cross-breeze, but there are fans in the rooms (that work until the solar power runs out in the middle of the night). But none of that even matters because it’s just so much more aesthetically pleasing compared to the Hotel El Porvenir. Instead of a crumbling cement motel, it’s all wood and bamboo on stilts over the water, bigger, with nicer bathrooms. There are some shared rooms with bunk beds and such, so it might be different with more people, but we were the only ones staying there at the time, so it was a real paradise. There’s an amazing porch with a hammock where you can just sit and relax and watch the sunset and pelicans diving into the water without any worries or cares—which is exactly what island life is supposed to be, and, unfortunately, what the Hotel El Porvenir is not.

Room Tip: The bungalow is by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jk_actually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

El Porvenir has everything you need: rooms with mosquito nets, water, power at night. The island is lovely and hammocks and hotel setting are great. It's a relatively inexpensive way to visit the San Blas and is easy to get to from Cartí or the airport (though construction work had closed the runway at our visit in November 2011). Food is adequate, but I would recommend bringing some extra fruits. We booked via Panama Travel Group and had some communication hassles that we don't think were the fault of the hotel, but would recommend booking another way. The San Blas are lovely and for me, the outings were worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lily_F11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We visitied El Porvenir to join our world-cruising friends on their sailing yacht for a week. The flight from Panama City was an experience - and our 5-year old son was happy for the road on the island - making it possible to take the plane down. We spent 2 nights at Hotel El Porvenir which is a quite simple place with very friendly and helpful staff. The food is traditional "kuna" meaning fried fish, chicken, boiled rice and beans. This is a part of the cultural experience I would say- and you don´t go there for the food only. The fish is fresh from the sea and really great. We went there in april which can be a bit uncertain - but we had 27 centagrades, 90% sun and a fresh breeze.

The beaches, palmtrees and swimming is extraordinary - it is really a taste of paradise. The hotel offer include 2 boat trips a day to unhabited islands. We went there with 2 kids (7 and 5 years old) and therefore we stayed close to the shore. There were a lot of dead reefs, but we heard it was better further out.

This is really a place hard to find elsewhere and we really would like to recommend it. Hotel el Porvenir is a good start for visiting Kuna Yala / San blas and it is easy to meet up with sailors. 2 days is a good length before moving on elsewhere - and I really suggest sailing yacht.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaSafvestadAlbinss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This place is nice enough, with okay food and cold beer. Wouldn't stay at Porvenir for more than a night anyways. The little lady who seems to run the place can arrange anything, she's sort of like the Godmother.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Blas Islands
9.4 mi away
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
#2 of 3 in San Blas Islands
44 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabanas Coco Blanco
Cabanas Coco Blanco
#4 of 28 in San Blas Islands
75 reviews
13.0 mi away
Coral Lodge
Coral Lodge
#1 of 1 in Santa Isabel
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
Dolphin Lodge Uaguinega
#14 of 28 in San Blas Islands
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Demar Achudup
Cabanas Demar Achudup
#1 of 1 in Masargantupo
8 reviews
68.5 mi away
Akwadup Lodge
Akwadup Lodge
#5 of 28 in San Blas Islands
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Porvenir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Porvenir

Property: Hotel El Porvenir
Address: Isla el Porvenir Kuna Yala | KunaYala, 0834-02496, Panama
Location: Panama > Guna Yala Region > San Blas Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Blas Islands
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Porvenir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel El Porvenir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing