We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Spot”
Review of Akwadup Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akwadup Lodge
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Best place to relax and disconnect from the city....just go and let them to be the hosts, guides, and even chef! Had a great time with my family in July 2013 and will always remember the Kuna friends.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Calderisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Akwadup Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went with my mum for two nights.
The facilities available are definitely nicer than in the rest of San Blas. There is a proper bathroom with tiles, a shower, sink and mirror. This is not something that you will find in other places.
The beds were comfortable with mosquito nets.
You get a nice ocean view from each room, hammock included.
Food was very nice, all fresh and local.
Anselmo, our guide, took care of everything and was exceptional. Service in general is really good and everyone is really nice and polite.
I really do recommend you bring the following:
-mosquito repelent. The hotel will give you one, but in my case it didn't work. Bring the strongest one you can find
-long sleeved shirts and long trousers
-cream for the mosquito bites you'll still get
-cash

Towels and bed sheets are provided

Overall it was a great experience, even though I'm Panamanian I learned a lot about kuna culture.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraperez15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A friend and I chose to go to the Akwadup Lodge as opposed to the more touristy Western part of Panama. We cared less about hanging out on the beach and being with other tourists and more about seeing the local Guna culture, an indigenous group. With that said, the beach alongside the hotel really isn't for swimming. It's too rocky with some trash. There is the potential for snorkeling, but it's not even that spectacular. What I will say, is that this is worth it to see a different culture and to eat fresh seafood (shrimp, octopus, king crab) by a hotel run by wonderful people. The cabins are on the water with hammocks in the back. The staff ensure there is bug-repelling incense burning at night and misquito nets. Please note that the airport strip is full of little biting bugs so definitely bring the bug spray.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband, daughter, and I stayed 3 nights at the Akwadup Lodge in San Blas, Panama. We had a magnificient vacation. We wre well taken care of and made many happy memories and met some wonderful Kuna people. The staff, especially including "Sam", Fronilda, Jose, and Horacio were so gracious and fun. Sam, the chef, really prepared some of the best fresh seafood we have ever tasted! Fronilda was a darling server that taught us during each meal, and Horacio and Jose took us on boat adventures, including snorkeling and a beautiful day trip to a gorgeous beach on the Carribbean. We definitely reccomend this lodge - and would go again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We accidently crashed in the Akwadup Lodge because we first wanted to go to another Island but then we stayed there for 4 wonderful days. Due to the fact that we were alone most of the time, the beach was completely ours and the service was excellent. During these four days I think I ate the best fish I've ever tasted!
It was a really relaxing time and we enjoyed it very much !

Room Tip: My tip would be to prepare very very good against mosquitos !!! we got bit like 200 times although...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Ka_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent my vacation in Panama in multiple hotels and lodges, but Akwadup was the best experience I had! Spending time on such a beautiful island, staying in rooms built over the crystal blue water was so exciting. The people on the island are so friendly and open their home up to their guests. During the day, the young man working there Daniel was so kind and after me telling him I really wanted to lay on a beach, he took all the guests out to a private island with perfect white sand, in the center of the turquoise water. Every location in San Blas is beautiful, and Daniel showed us all the most exquisite ones. The lodges are comfortable and at night, the sound of the ocean and slight breeze are very comforting. Waking up and laying in one of the hammocks or going in for a meal with fresh, local fruit, it is always an amazing experience. I would love to go back and stay longer! Thank you, Akwadup :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosalie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We wanted to get a real experience with the Kuna's and this is it. We arrived at our islands to view the 6 thatched cabins over the water...great way to arrive! We had a slight mix up with the number of cabins but we were able to sort it out quickly. We booked our reservation ourselves and had some translation issues over email. The cabins are basic but clean and comfortable. Bring something for the sand fleas! You will get eaten alive in a short period of time without it. It was great to visit the local villages and see life as they live it. The food was just OK - they cook what they catch for the day so it is always a surprise. Overall it is a great way to relax and live life like the Kuna's do!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodpeckerllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Blas Islands hotels
68.5 mi away
Hotel El Porvenir
Hotel El Porvenir
#2 of 2 in San Blas Islands
40 reviews
59.8 mi away
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
#2 of 3 in San Blas Islands
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Demar Achudup
Cabanas Demar Achudup
#1 of 1 in Masargantupo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Isla Perro - Barco Hundido
Isla Perro - Barco Hundido
#6 of 29 in San Blas Islands
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Ukuptupu
Cabanas Ukuptupu
#1 of 1 in El Porvenir
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ultimate San Blas
Ultimate San Blas
#14 of 29 in San Blas Islands
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwadup Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwadup Lodge

Address: Akwadup, 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Guna Yala Region > San Blas Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty Lodging in San Blas Islands
Price Range: $50 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akwadup Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want the ocean breeze in a welcoming place, far away from your city and life’s stress, let me help,I would like to tell you about a special place in central America, off the Caribbean coast of Panama.we belong to the Kuna indigenous people and are the owners of two palm fringed eco-tourist lodges on islands in Kuna Yala, meaning Kuna territory (also known as the san Blas Islands). The names of these highly regarded resorts are UAGUINEGA (winner of an International Business award) and AKWADUP, they are on small coral reefs close to the island of Achutupu which has one of the most traditional Kuna cultures, little changed over the centuries. Our guided tours will take you to watch the native women making their world renowned molas; at your selection you may wish to take a trip up river into the rainforest. Enjoy the snorkelling, swimming, or just relax in a palm shaded hammock. At night under the moon and shining stars.We are waiting to greet you. The Kuna dance, culture, stories and enjoyable,unique experience are sure to stay in your memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Akwadup Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwadup Hotel San Blas Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing