We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akwadup Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwadup Lodge
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Close to paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

The red huts over the blue sea are out of a magazine's feature cover story. The huts, rustic but elegant, had everything that you need (except hot water) for a cell phone free vacation where you can only rest on the hammock while listening to the waves, read, talk and watch the starts at night. Although not inexpensive, the friendly staff, good food, amicable guests, and informative visits to the Kuna villages made it worthwhile. Despite the good food, I would recommend bringing with you water and snacks, not included in the package, for a no more than three days visit. Watch out for the no-see-ums: they will bite without mercy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasoiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Adwadup lodge was amazing. We were the only people on this little island staying in one of 7 cabins overlooking the water. Could walk around the island in 10 minutes. Lovely friendly staff who provided meals (good fish) and drinks and whatever we asked for, and guide who took us to neighbouring islands to see villages, see and learn about Kuna Yala people. One day took a boat to an even smaller island to swim. Everywhere incredibly beautiful and peaceful. And they helped us book a flight out to Achutupu (we were told no flights available) where we were met by boat to the island. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hattie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam area, the netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

The last two nights of our 14 days visit to Panama we stayed in cabana 1 of the Akwadup Lodge, an absolutely unforgettable experience. After a warm welcome we got acquainted with a type of life that we only knew from hear say. During our stay in Panama we have visited many places of interest but the Akwadup Lodge was the cherry on the cake. Do not expect any luxury but you will not miss it. Special thanks to Romario who took us to the jungle on the mainland and to the neighbouring island. Back home in the asphalt jungle this place remains our favorite memory.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank verwoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We spent three nights here as part of our vacation in Panama and this place is amazing. The staff are wonderful. Many thanks to Juan who was our translator and guide and our friend while in the islands with the Kuna people. We had an entire day with the island to ourselves. The food was plentiful and delicious. Expect conditions to be on the basic side with few luxuries and you will have a ball! Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreyMatter274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This place is great! We flew in from Panama City and were greeted by Daniel and his aide. We hopped into our little boat and enjoyed the short ride to the tiny island that holds seven green huts perched over the ocean. The huts are primitive, which adds to the charm of the place. They are very clean and have fully functioning bathrooms. (Be aware, they only have cold water!) The beds were comfortable, and fans, powered by the solar energy the island uses, cooled us at night. A porch welcomes you with woven cotton hammocks. The staff, Kuna men and women, were incredibly polite and attentive. We chose our meal times and feasted on fresh seafood and fruits. The tours offered were amazing. We were taken out to a coral reef to snorkel, visited a nearby Kuna village and spent an afternoon on a nearby tiny island where we had the whole beach to ourselves, a hot lunch delivered to us, and napped in hammocks tied between palm trees. I could go on and on, but let me just say, this was an amazing place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmac1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My travel companions and I spent 3 nights at the Akwadup Lodge at the end of a 16 day vacation in Costa Rica and Panama, and this was the highlight of the entire trip. The experience was unforgettably wonderful. With proper preparation and mindset Kuna --- (and especially Akwadup Lodge) can be an extremely rewarding experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darryl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Each day at Akwadup Lodge was an amazing experience. The staff was absolutely the best. It is not unusual for them to go out of their way to make special arrangements to meet everyone's needs.

Initially we made reservations at Dad Ibe Lodge, but when we arrived at Dad Ibe, there was no room available for us. The boat driver then took us to Akwadup Lodge to see if they had an available cabin. The staff at Adwadup made some phone calls and did some rearranging to make space for us. We would have been stranded with no where to go if it were not for all their effort. ( There was another group of people at Akwadup who also had their reservations canceled at Dad Ibe Lodge.)

The cabins are rustic yet comfortable. They are sitting above the water where you can enjoy the cool ocean breeze while relaxing on the porch in hammocks in the evening. Electricity is provided by generators at night to power lights and fans. Water is collected from rivers on the mainland and brought to the island each day to fill the water tower.

There is a common dining hall where meals are served. The catch of the day (sometimes lobster) is served for lunch and dinner. The staff did a great job preparing vegetarian meals as well.

Two daily tours are included in the price. We went for a tour to the rainforest, to Achutupu (a very traditional Kuna village), a somewhat more more updated village, to various different snorkeling spots (one with a ship wreck). The snorkeling was incredible! The last evening, a group of Kuna dancers performed for us at the lodge.

I can not say enough about the staff. They go out of their way to accomadate any needs their guests may have. Again, it was an absolutely amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zelda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Blas Islands hotels
68.5 mi away
Hotel El Porvenir
Hotel El Porvenir
#2 of 2 in San Blas Islands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
66.0 mi away
Cabanas Coco Blanco
Cabanas Coco Blanco
#5 of 27 in San Blas Islands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
59.8 mi away
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
Cabanas Naranjo Chico
#1 of 3 in San Blas Islands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ultimate San Blas
Ultimate San Blas
#8 of 27 in San Blas Islands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Demar Achudup
Cabanas Demar Achudup
#1 of 1 in Masargantupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Isla Aguja
Cabanas Isla Aguja
#9 of 27 in San Blas Islands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwadup Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwadup Lodge

Property: Akwadup Lodge
Address: Akwadup, Panama
Location: Panama > Guna Yala Region > San Blas Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in San Blas Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akwadup Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want the ocean breeze in a welcoming place, far away from your city and life’s stress, let me help,I would like to tell you about a special place in central America, off the Caribbean coast of Panama.we belong to the Kuna indigenous people and are the owners of two palm fringed eco-tourist lodges on islands in Kuna Yala, meaning Kuna territory (also known as the san Blas Islands). The names of these highly regarded resorts are UAGUINEGA (winner of an International Business award) and AKWADUP, they are on small coral reefs close to the island of Achutupu which has one of the most traditional Kuna cultures, little changed over the centuries. Our guided tours will take you to watch the native women making their world renowned molas; at your selection you may wish to take a trip up river into the rainforest. Enjoy the snorkelling, swimming, or just relax in a palm shaded hammock. At night under the moon and shining stars.We are waiting to greet you. The Kuna dance, culture, stories and enjoyable,unique experience are sure to stay in your memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Akwadup Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwadup Hotel San Blas Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing