We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cerrito Tropical is a paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Hotel Cerrito Tropical Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Isla Taboga B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We are transfered to Panama City, Panama for a year. To get away from the noise decided to go to Taboga Island for a night. It is an absolutely gorgeous place. We ended up staying at Cerrito tropical. It is a beautiful and extreemly clean B&B hotel.
The suite is very nice. It has a well equipped kitchen; It is located up on a hill, which makes it so peaceful and allows you to have a beautiful view of the ocean.
It has a beautiful terrace where we ate. El Chef, and Ida, the waitress did an excellent job feeding us with yummy food they prepared. The staff is very nice and friendly. I can hardly wait to go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobolinopanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

Cerrito Tropical was nice, basic accommodations a 3 minute taxi ride or 10 min walk from the ferry. The room was large, had good AC and the common room had a DVD player for watching movies. They also provided a great continental breakfast of fruits, coffee/tea/juices, and toast. We were here in the rainy season, so it was hot and very humid! We spent just a couple hours at the beach and then struggled to fill our remaining time on the island. There is not much to do - there are a couple of restaurants but that's it. When the last ferry leaves the place completely empties out. If you want some serious alone and relaxation time with no human contact, this is probably the place for you. Otherwise, I'd do a day trip and stay in Panama City instead.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourGuide23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritoTropical, owner at B&B Hotel Cerrito Tropical Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2009

Thank you for taking time to review Cerrito Tropical. We appreciate the positive review.

In the past, we have had some guests who found there were not enough activities for them, so we hooked up with a couple of local fishermen to offer fishing tours with a local - just yesterday our guests caught a 30 pound corvina (sea bass). The fishermen also offer snorkeling and round the island tours. The local taxi trucks can offer trips to the top of the mountain, and we can organize guides to go hiking with you in case you dont want to explore the trails alone.

Most of these excursions are either done in the early morning or late afternoon to take advantage of the cooler weather.

Some guests are indeed happy to go to the beach, lay in a hammock and read.

Taboga is a small and simple island, not touristic with three beaches. We believe in sustainable tourism and assist the village by organizing all the tours through the locals.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Cerrito Tropical recently hosted our one-day staff retreat and exceeded all expectations for service and attention. The hotel was a beautiful setting for the day, with an incredible view of the ocean and ships waiting near the mouth of the canal, from the upstairs suite that we used as our meeting spaceoom. Our lunch was delicious and delivered quickly with almost no interruption to our day. Cynthia, the owner, took care of everything from a private water taxi from the mainland, to a taxi from the pier to her door, to even buying a new table and extension cords to accommodate our group. The hotel was spotless, perfectly run, with very professional and friendly staff.

The island itself has some incredibly stricking geography with steep green hills providing the tropical backdrop. Looking forward to returning to explore the various trails on foot and (hopefully) mountain bike! The beaches are what you'd expect given the proximity to the mouth of the Canal and Panama City, but it's a great destination for the beauty and ruggedness of the island, it's easy access, and for Cerrito Tropical.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlayaVentosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We have been to the Cerrito Tropical three times now, and each stay gets better. This last stay was like a homecoming weekend, except that we made 'new' friends! The hotel was full, yet the patrons all seemed to bond in the two short days. The owner, Cynthia, was a great host throughout the weekend, and was even able to arrange a snorkeling and island circumnavigation tour on very short notice. The experience was very peaceful. The young tour guide was competent, patient and accommodating, and we were a little surprised that he did not charge us a "tourist" rate!
The staff were on the ball this weekend for sure. The meals we ordered arrived hot and tasty. The evening meal of fish was fresh and well prepared, as only Aristedes (sp) can do, and the beer and water fridge was open and well stocked.
We spent the greater part of the weekend sitting in the open-air common area/balcony, enjoying conversation and the soothing tropical breezes. We slept in one of the smaller rooms without any view, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, I hate the cold water showers but you can get used to that quickly,....... but what we seek for the most in a weekend retreat, this hotel has in abundance......quiet nights!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollywood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritoTropical, owner at B&B Hotel Cerrito Tropical Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2009

Thanks for the lovely review. We really appreciate you taking your time to write about us on Trip Advisor. With reviews like yours we are able to keep imrpoving which is very important.

For your info, the next time you visit us, all the upstairs rooms/apartments now have hot water, and the 2 downstairs rooms with no view - we are installing new windows so each room will have a garden view.

Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

I visited Cerrito with two friends for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. Cerrito couldn't have been a more perfect choice; between lounging in the hammocks overlooking the gorgeous water, Aristides' delicious cooking and the overall atmosphere and decor of the place...it was hard to leave!! The staff was very helpful when we had any questions about the island and its activities and everything was kept clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Panama and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great island experience with fantastic people!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandmonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My husband & I returned to Panama in February. We enjoy the unique atmosphere of the smaller lodgings as opposed to the cookie-cutter AI.
Cynthia met us upon our arrival and it was a welcomed surprise. We truly appreciated the taxi service as the trip up the hill with baggage in tow would be a bit of a challenge.
Our room did not have a view but we typically spend minimal time in a room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. We did not receive daily room cleaning, but we did not expect it - "thinking green". The fabulous view and ambiance on the front balcony provided a fun meeting place. This is a perfect place for a family as there are lots of board games to play and a leisurely atmosphere.
Aristides always provided tasty food especially the fish dinner . The continental breakfast was good but I would recommend ordering eggs etc. as it is well worth the value. The fridge is stocked (make special requests if you wish) and it is on an honor system. It was never locked!
Cynthia was very informative and helped arrange a private fishing trip and told us about the island. She also can direct you to a secluded beach which is a bit of a stroll but very private and a great place to spot stingrays.
Cynthia is a great hostess and adds to your stay. I am confident that all you need to do is ask and she will attempt to make it happen.
This is a place for those who wish to escape the hustle and bustle. It is a quaint B&B for those who want to experience the laid back atmosphere of a quaint island near Panama City.
My only caution would be to anyone who had mobility problems. The hill is steep.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Across the Bay from Panama City there lies an enchanted island - Taboga. It is close enough to the big city that you can see it in the distance, especially at night, yet far enough away that you can leave the hectic life style with all its contraptions way behind. I stayed on Taboga a couple of months ago, at a charming bed & breakfast by the name of Cerrito Tropical, high up on the hill above the little town, overlooking the bay. This B&B is a real delight. It is charming, the service is excellent, the chef will cook you almost anything under the sun, the hosts really know how to make somebody feel at home. It liked it so much I stayed for 10 days instead of the planned 3 or 4, and I never got bored. There are quite a few activities to choose from, from swimming and snorkeling to fishing, hiking, and simply being lazy. In any case, I really wanted to share this with other people who are looking for this kind of scenario.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Taboga
0 mi away
Vereda Tropical Hotel
Vereda Tropical Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Taboga
90 reviews
0 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0 mi away
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 2 in Contadora Island
347 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Caprichosa
Villa Caprichosa
#1 of 2 in Isla Taboga
109 reviews
0 mi away
Taboga Palace SPA Hotel
Taboga Palace SPA Hotel
#2 of 4 in Isla Taboga
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Cerrito Tropical Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Cerrito Tropical Lodge

Address: Via Pizarro and Via Congresso, Isla Taboga 0832-2565, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Isla Taboga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Taboga
Price Range: $60 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet Hillside B&B Hotel Lodge plus Apartments. Ocean view plus tropical garden at the edge of Taboga village, 3 minute walk down to the shore and 10 minute walk from beach. Property backed by forest - quiet & great for bird watching. Offering the best of both worlds! ocean view from the exterior balconies (rooms have exterior shared balconies, one suite has ocean view from the living area). Relaxed Bed and Breakfast hotel lodge, comfortable air conditioned individual rooms, as well as apartments, all with TV & WIFI. Located on the laid back Pacific island of Taboga just 30 minutes from Panama by ferry. Restaurant by reservation offering delicious food by local chef, served by friendly local staff. Ideal quiet vacation spot to relax for 1 day to 1 month. Activities include: Beach, boat trips, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, tours and more. Visit us and truly relax with the Cerrito family. Cerrito Tropical Bed and Breakfast Hotel Lodge, Taboga Island, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B Hotel Cerrito Tropical Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing