We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on a beautiful island”
Review of B&B Hotel Cerrito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Hotel Cerrito
Ranked #1 of 4 Isla Taboga B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Cerrito Tropical on Tobago Island and loved it. The only disappointment is that we were only able to spend one night. It is a very relaxed, beautiful, and friendly island. Cerrito Tropical is a great place to stay. They arranged for us to be picked up at the ferry dock with one of the few vehicles on the island and taken directly to their B&B. Facilities are excellent with a nice porch overlooking the town and the sea. Staff is very good and the meals are excellent. Highly recommend both Cerrio Tropical and Tobago.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_n_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

The hotel was nice, pretty clean and quiet. The lounge and the balcony was a nice place to hang out. The internet was only available there and you had to have your own laptop.
Breakfasts were small and very continental. Eggs, pancakes etc were at additional price.
Dinners were very good but I would not recommend taking the meal plan. The price they were charging was the highiest on the menu. There are other less expensive and good restaurants on Isla Taboga you can try.
Rooms were clean but do not expect room service every day. There was no hot water on the main floor (the least expensive rooms) and two out of three rooms were designed in n odd way, they did not have a window. The suites on the second floor had hot water and better view.
Overall the stay was not bad but we have had expected more for that price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aska_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritoTropical, owner at B&B Hotel Cerrito, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2009

We appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative because they offer us a chance to show the staff appreciation or make corrections where needed.

The wifi internet works on all of the upstairs balconies, and inside the apartments, it also works in the living room area of the B&B. It does also work in some of the B&B rooms depending on your computer´s recieving strength. The walls are concrete.

Continental breakfast includes fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice, toast, muffins, and jams. We do offer eggs (any style) for guests at half price from the menu price.

We apologize about the dinner price mix up, you should have been charged for what you ate - this is normally what they do; I will talk to the staff about that.

The rooms without the views, are being renovated this month to be more open and will have new windows with garden view.

Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate them and have used them to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We just wanted to share our thoughts regarding a very pleasant stay at this charming bed and breakfast..inn....

We spent 3 days at this lovely inn....... a short ferry ride from Panama City......40 minutes and light years from the hustle an bustle of PC. The owner and her assitsants Aristedes and the other staff were warm and welcoming.....The inn has wonderful views of Panama Bay. This is a great respite form Panama City and a very charming island....Very good food and pleasant staff

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We were picked up from the ferry which we really appreciated.
Our room was nice, however- on the website the view was described as part sea/part canopy. It should have been described as part sea/ part construction and dirt pile. I feel it is the proprietor's obligation to let guests know prior to their arrival that work is being done- as a courtesy.
We weren't offered any information or activities or even a map of the island, even when we told the owners we were taking a walk through the town when we first settled in.
We noticed the activity info on a bulletin board. I realize there is no concierge at a more casual place like Cerrito but it would have been great to know that there were kayaks available. We didn't discover that until we saw them locked up on our last evening.
On our last evening, we were the only guests. Cynthia, the owner took the ferry back to Panama City and the tv/ dvd , board games, refrigerator with bottled water, etc, was locked up around 5 and we had no access all evening. By the way, you cannot drink the tap water without a filter which we didnt have, so bottled water was the only option and we had none at that point.

As she left to catch the ferry, we informed Cynthia that our room was never cleaned or made up.
Someone finally did it but no one was too concerned about it.

Everything was a bit to lax and casual on the part of the proprietors. And not in a laid back island way- there is a fine line between casual and apathetic.

We chose the Cerrito Tropical because reviews of the Vereda were not favorable. I have to say after dining there and talking with the staff at Vereda, we certainly regret not staying at the Vereda Tropical instead. The Vereda staff was extremely helpful and even made an exception to allow us to use their business center and internet to get our flight info all squared away.

At best Cerrito Tropical was a mediocre hotel experience that needs to take better care of its guests on an island that needs to appreciate its eco-tourism potential.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jyllyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerritoTropical, owner at B&B Hotel Cerrito, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2009

We appreciate all reviews, both positive and negative because they offer us a chance to show the staff appreciation or make corrections where needed.

While there was work being done on the public road to improve it for our guests, we cannot schedule when road work will be done. The workers come when they can and it is unfortunate that they were working when you were there. The dirtpile you mention was sand and gravel for the road. The road is now complete and offers a road right to the entance, so people can arrive by Taboga taxi if they do not wish to walk.

There is a map of the town on our bulletin board with locations of interest marked. This map is on our pamphlets for free when requested. We do offer tours which are posted on the bulletin board as well.

There have never been kayaks for rent, they are simply stored on our property. The currents in the bay are strong so we never considered renting any type of boats since there is no one on the beach to go and pick up people who get into trouble on the ocean. Our local Captains have their own boats and offer guided boat tours, snorkel tours and fishing tours.

The social area should never have been locked and the staff have been told about that. We apologize.

I was on site during the day you were there helping all the guests as we were full. Please note, that on our website it states that room cleaning in the apartments is not a daily event unless requested. When you requested it, I immediately asked the staff to do it.

We are sorry you did not have the experience you had expected and have made several changes because of your comments.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

This was our first visit to Taboga Island, indeed our first trip to Panama. After visiting some remote locations in the country, we were looking for a quiet, relaxing spot near the water, and out of Panama City. The island of Taboga, just a one hour ferry ride from the city was a perfect destination for us. Since we had reserved in advance, we were met at the ferry dock and driven up to the Cerrito Tropical, which sits high up on a hill overlooking the beautiful island and sea. We chose one of the smaller more economical rooms, and found it very comfortable and immaculate. The included breakfasts were exceptional, and we enjoyed them sitting out on the large porch savoring the view. The chef is terrific, and we ended up returning there for our lunches and dinners for the two days we spent there. If you are looking for serenity, this is the place. If you plan to go for walks each day, you should know that the walk up the hill is steep though thankfully not very long. The owner Cynthia was very friendly and helpful. We hope we can return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelspirit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We did not make reservations, but we managed to get a room from Cerrito Tropical for two nights. There is a bit of a walk from the pier, and a very steep climb to the hotel, and quite hot to be dragging your suitcases..
Our room did not have a view, but it had all the essentials,a bed, a shower and a fan (and A/C, but we do not consider that to be an essential..). Not once did we see the owner, just spoke to her (or her sister)over the phone. The chef (and carekeeper) did not speak a word of english, so when we had questions he would make a call to the owner. Most of the day there was no staff available, if you wanted a beverage (mostly beer, a few sodas, but no bottled water)you would help yourself from the fridge, and make a tab for yourself. We were advised to do this by other travellers. Since there is not a lot of restaurants on the island, we decided to eat at the hotel. This could only be done at certain times, and sometimes you had to look for personnel (the chef basically) to order. Breakfast was lousy, dinner was ok with choices of chicken or fish with the sauce of the day, so not a lot of choice.
Liked the hamocks outside, and the amazing view of the sea.

We thought 2 nights were enough, the beautiful island and lovely beach was seen and we had enough of Cerrito Tropical.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquanaut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchitoCerrito, Owner at B&B Hotel Cerrito, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2009

Dear Aquanaut,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all comments and use criticism to improve.
For example, in response to guest comments, we have recently renovated and upgraded 2 rooms and put in windows with a view of the tropical trees, hillside and pueblo. The best views are always outside from our shaded balconies. As I write this I am sitting watching ships in the distance waiting to enter the Panama Canal. We have also implemented training for our new guest relations person. Wishing you safe and adventurous travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

The suite has an overwhelming ocean view. You can also see clear skies at night, shining stars, plus I had the beneffit of an espectacular full moon that weekend.
The food is excellent at Cerrito and the personnel is alway eager to make your stay the best possible.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LDeFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Taboga
0.0 mi away
Vereda Tropical Hotel
Vereda Tropical Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Taboga
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.0 mi away
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama Canal, Panama
0.0 mi away
Villa Caprichosa
Villa Caprichosa
#1 of 2 in Isla Taboga
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taboga Palace SPA Hotel
Taboga Palace SPA Hotel
#2 of 4 in Isla Taboga
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Cerrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Cerrito

Address: Via Pizarro and Via Congresso, Isla Taboga 0832-2565, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Isla Taboga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Taboga
Price Range: $64 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 - 45 minutes from Panama City by scenic ferry.Quiet Hillside B&B Hotel and Restaurant with an ocean view plus tropical garden at the edge of historic Taboga village, 3 minute walk down to the shore and 10 minute walk from beach. Property backed by a tropical forest - great for bird watching. Offering the best of both worlds! ocean view from the exterior balconies (some rooms have exterior shared balconies, one suite has ocean view from the living area and dining nook also). Small relaxed Bed and Breakfast hotel, comfortable air conditioned room accommodation as well as vacation apartments on a laid back Pacific island under one hour from Panama by ferry. Restaurant offering delicious food by local chef, full international menu, friendly local staff; ideal quiet vacation spot to relax for 1 day to 1 month. Day packages available. Beach, boat trips, fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, Tours, weekend massage. Visit us and truly relax with the Cerrito family. Cerrito Tropical Bed and Breakfast Hotel & Restaurant, Taboga Island, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Hotel Cerrito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing