We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disappointment!”

Pipa's Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Farallon
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under new Administration from 1 November 2012-Pipa's Beach is a Bar & Restaurant specialized in fresh seafood, cold beers, variety of drinks and tasty coctails. Ideal for families, groups and couples. Located about 1.5hr from Panama city, 20 minutes walk on the beach from Decameron Resort in Playa Blanca, Panama and 5-10 minute drive from Playa Blanca Resort. If you have a group reservation we will pay for your taxi transport from either hotel. Come and enjoy one of the best beaches in the Panamanian Pacific Coast! We are open from 11am. Dinner by reservation.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a disappointment!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are in Panama for the last couple of months and fell in love with the laid back culture and enjoy the food very much. Panamanians are very friendly people and make you feel at home. We try to check out a new restaurant every week and, based on the reviews, we decided to go to Pipa's. The surrounding is nice, right on the beach so it started well. However after ordering sangria the disappointments were multiple. The sangria was very poor quality, like they added water. I ordered a ceviche and lobster and i regret to say that the ceviche was not fresh, my stomach is still upset.
There are lot's of pretty beachplaces with great food, excellent service and nice people in Panama Pacific. Pipa's is not one of these places. Definitely an experience not to repeat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 294480Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    72
    26
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's the vibe!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The food is pretty standard beach/seafood fare. Fresh and simple. But it's the laid back, authentic beach vibe you come here for. At the end of the road in Farallon, just past the Decameron Resort, is this great little beach bar and restaurant. Service is super friendly and attentive (not the usual sullen porcine grunt you get from the wait staff in some Panamanian bars and restaurants). Good beach installations, good music, clean restrooms and post beach shower available, and of course, ice cold beers. There is an additional nominal charge if you want to bring in your own cooler. Don't be disgruntled...shut up and pay it...no one is in business to give business away. Two hour drive from the city, but it's worth it. Start early and dig in for a relaxing day. Bring a frisbee and your thirst!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marcodelbarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau Qc
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice cold cervezas but the fish was overcooked”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nice little place on the beach, at the end of the road. We went to find a geocache and stayed for lunch. Beer was nice and cold. The corvina was overcooked but tasted good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ororaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Manager at Pipa's Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your message! We would like to invite you to come back and try our new menu...tasty and fresh, and also enjoy the new infraestructure: huts, aquatic sports, showers... (Pipa's Beach is under new administration from November, 2012).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nicely set on the beach”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

ok food and drinks. the service was rather poor and we needed to wait or seek the service when we wanted anything. the main feature for this restaurant is the location

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Manager at Pipa's Beach Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello. Many thanks for your review. Pipa's Beach is under new administration from November, and the service is a priority! We would like to invite you to come back and leave everything in our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place to go to kick back and relax”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I spent the day at Pipa´s and rented one of the private tables to have a little more privacy ($30USD). It was well worth the trip because it took us about 1.5hrs to get there from Panama City. The service was friendly and the atmosphere was very laid back. The beach was clean and we were there until closing time (10pm). The food was perfect, we ordered the pargo frito and some piña coladas. I will go back on my next visit to Panama. It´s a nice place to sit back and relax. Bring plenty of sun screen!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipa's Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Farallon, Rio Hato
 
Farallon, Rio Hato
Santa Clara, Panama Province
 

Been to Pipa's Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing