We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are a Latino family, this is a great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you are a Latino family, this is a great resort”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The pools are quite nice, the beach is not crowded, but when I swam in the ocean my swimsuit was covered in green algae afterwards. Most people at the resort really seemed to enjoy it, there were a lot of Latino families, we saw very few other US/European people. The rooms were really nice, nearly all have balconies. The entertainment was all in Spanish, and geared towards having the kids of the families come up onto the stage. The food was buffet style and OK. They do have a sushi restaurant, but when we inquired at the restaurant with many open tables we were told that it was reservations only. There was some sort of grill down on the beach but we could not find anyone with good enough English to tell us what was on offer. Then again, we were the visitors and should have had some Spanish. All the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Also, there was a huge school group of kids visiting one day which rather took over one of the pool areas and the dining area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoLikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    502
    337
    173
    162
See reviews for
660
494
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

service at the bar was very rude, most of the time.
buffet food was good,but the service was far from it
definitely will not go back to this resort. entertainment was geared mainly for children.
nothing much to do after 9pm

Room Tip: hotel rooms facing the large pool are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usn5326
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent pools that are well maintained, stage shows for kids and adults that are entertaining and funny. All you can eat buffet is included in the price as well as drinks and beverages. We stayed for one week and it was great, the staff is VERY friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is furthest from the check-in area. (In the 700s), those room are closer to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usn5326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I traveled here with my elderly father & my sister and we had a wonderful time. My father wanted to see the Panama Canal which we saw and plenty more. The resort is a little far from Panama City but worth the drive on a very comfortable bus. The resort staff were very friendly helpful & accommodating to our needs with wheelchair & assistant as well as baggage handling. We paid for ocean view and had to take ground level rooms as there are no elevators in this part of the resort (villa #7), we were actually glad as these rooms were very close to the pool, beach & restaurants and it was easier for my father to get around. This part of the resort is somewhat older and in need of some repair/updating, the hairdryer & telephone in our room didn't work. But I can't put into words how wonderful the resort staff and our Sunwing representative were during our stay. They went above & beyond for us when my sister fell & broke her arm. The resort staff were quick to administer first aid, arrange transport to the nearest hospital and were very helpful with making my sister comfortable when we arrived back to the resort. Our Sunwing rep Daniel was with us every step of the way during our hospital stay. He acted as our interpreter, made sure we understood what the nurses & doctors were saying, helped us find the necessary supplies we needed, helped us contact family members & our insurance company, arranged for help at the airport on our departure, but most of all was very supportive, never once did he give us the impression that this was an inconvenience to him. He went above and beyond.

On a personal note, I wish to extend my gratitude to Daniel for being there for me, helping me cope with an extremely stressful situation and helping me get the best care for my sister, if it weren't for your kindness & support I don't know what I would have done, Thank you!!!

BTW the resort staff were always friendly, they had lots of fun entertainment, the pool & beach were lovely, lots of non motorized sport activities & motorized sport activities at reasonable prices, the food was excellent, try the Sushi!!! Panama is a beautiful country, could improve with litter but plenty of things to see and do. I would go back in a heart beat!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are close to everything (pool, ocean, food & fun) we loved it, but some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 991Diana_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUSTOMERSERVICE P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing Playa Blanca Beach Resort holiday is a pleasure to know that their expectations were met.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience, and your comments help us to improve therefore thank hard on behalf of all the staff at Playa Blanca Beach Resort.

Therefore we will be more than happy to welcome you again,

Nayeni Lòpez
Customer Service Playa Blanca Beach & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Americas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were assigned a Master Suite at the Town Center section and were not disappointed. Some of the facilities need updating/refreshing but this is still nice for a three star all-inclusive product. The Town Center is a bit far from the beach and the restaurants though. It is not luxurious but it is quite adequate for a family. There are plenty of things to do. Try to get a visitor pass to the lagoon. It is remarkably big and pretty. It claims to be the largest swimming pool in Central America and the Caribbean. It is certainly the largest I have seen. It is filled with saltwater though. The beach is one of the nicest near Panama City (about 1.5 hours). The food is not as good as it used to be. It is now more like a regular all inclusive whereas it used to be better than it is now. They are very generous with the drinks, and the food and there is always some food at hand. The show is not worth going to. The views and the landscaping are still very good. The Town Center is half empty (the businesses) but you can go to the Lebanese restaurant which is excellent (not included) and the disco/bar. The one by the lagoon is actually nicer. This resort now caters to the massive Colombian middle market. The percentage of Europeans and North Americans is not as high (some people may actually like this). Overall not a bad experience. It is not luxurious.

Room Tip: Stay at the Town Center suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We celebrated our wedding at Playa Blanca Resort in February, and it was amazing. Yes, the property can use updating...yes, the buffet food is not out of this world (like 99% of all inclusive resorts)....and yes, the resort is lacking some added service (clinic, spa, etc)...but the service it's out of this world. I am Panamanian living in the US for over 15 years, and I can tell you with absolute certainty...you don't get this type at competition (DeCameron or Bijao). When you go to Playa Blanca you pay for the service, and the family environment. There are not any resorts in the price range that are as family friendly as Playa Blanca resort.

Like I said before, the hotel has some shortcomings... but their business operations/model is not a result of carelessness; it is deliberate. Playa Blanca management has made the business decision not be affiliated to any major hotel brand in order to spread the wealth among its employees (without the corporate overhead). But as a result, you get long tenured employees that are passionate about the work they do...


I can personally recommend Jenny De Gracia as a contact person....she is good.

One important fact about Playa Blanca - they are very relaxed and personal - you don't feel like you are just another transaction...I can't say the same for the competition.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bensorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night in Feb. while driving to Pedasi. If I hadn't pre-booked the hotel, we definitely would not have stayed here. The front desk was extremely busy, chaotic and under-staffed upon check-in. We were given a room without a balcony, even though our reservation specified that we should have one, so we had to go through the hassle of switching rooms.

The hotel is noisy, filthy and run-down. Maintenance is definitely an issue, because there were several things that needed fixing in our room. The breakfast buffet was barely edible and the lunch buffet was revolting although we did have a decent dinner in the Oriental restaurant at the beach.

The hotel is part of a huge mega-complex of high-rise condos and beach houses and there was construction everywhere. The hotel seems to cater to Spanish-speaking guests and Panamanians. We were definitely a minority by a long shot. Almost none of the staff spoke English and the nightly stage show was entirely in Spanish.

Farallon beach is well on its way to becoming a Panamanian Acapulco, dirty, polluted, noisy, over-developed. Not at all, the beautiful quiet beach it was 8 years ago when we last visited.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farallon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
1.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Casa Guardia Panama
Casa Guardia Panama
#2 of 5 in Farallon
69 reviews
22.1 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Address: 115 Km Via Interamericana, Farallon, Rio Hato 8437, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel Farallon
Playa Blanca Hotel And Resort
Hotel Playa Blanca Panama
Playa Blanca Resort Panama
Playa Blanca Panama City
Blanca Panama Playa
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort Panama/Farallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing