We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still under construction?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still under construction?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We spent a couple of days at Playa Blanca resort with a group of about 40. I know places like this are never perfect because nothing that is all inclusive ever is, but we were extremely disappointed with Playa Blanca. They advertise that they have "the second largest pool in the world" however it was closed due to construction. They advertise free wifi, however that was not working the weekend we were there. All around the hotel and even on the property, buildings are being put up (they even block the sunset from the beach!). The top floor for the towncenter is still being worked on so to get to the rooms you have to go up one elevator, then down another 1 floor, and then up another.
I'm not sure who designed the place, but the bathroom in the room has no door at all, and the shower and toilet stalls have doors, but they are clear glass (very awkward). The beds are pretty stiff and almost feel like they are just box springs.
Service was ok. Frequently we would go to the bar in the lobby, but there was no bartender. I also left a package at reception for another room, and returned the next day to be sure it was picked up and they said yes, but it was not and is still there today.
There are only a couple of restaurants (sushi and thai) and you have to reserve by 10AM in the morning to get a table for that evening. This leaves you with the buffet which was ok, but nothing special. There are also lots of services and things on the property that are NOT included in all included. These include 2 other restaurants, an ice cream parlor and more.
The disco is totally dead and smells very strongly of cat urine. The beach "closes" at 6 because the life guards leave and there are supposedly creatures that come to shore at sunset.
This place may be great in a few years, but I would not recommend it to my worst enemy right now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    423
    272
    148
    130
See reviews for
523
403
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Food was horrible, the menu was extremely dissapointing, even the "a la carta" restaurants, buffet was basic. The room is old and some of the equipments doesn't work properly. I think that even Decameron is now better than this hotel...
In a nutshell, Money wasted...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Abraham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farallon hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed with a group of friends for 5 nights for Christmas in two standard rooms.
The provide both stays with lodging and daily passes, so some days the resort was totally full (weekends, holidays) and some days almost empty (weekdays). The daily passes guests are quite noisy and not vey polite.
The room decor was really basic, lack some maintenance (wall painture old, humidity smell, old bath towels). Very basic and small drawers and closets. The main problem was the WC that didn't stopped charging water. They tried to fix it, but we passed 2 nights with this quite annoying noise that really disturbed our sleep. They came to fix it every time we called, but seemed unable to solve the problem permanently. Expect a limited choice of international tv channels (no CNN, no Fox, no Europen TV).
Wifi as an extra at 6 US$ per day and mostly works only in the recepcion hall area. No business center, so bring your own printer if you need to work during your stay.
The food is totally caribbean style, abundant but of medium/low quality, quite greasy. Most in our groups had stomach problems during the stay. The morning/afternoon open snack is limited to a disgusting frozen/heated pizza, chicken nuggets that may resembre the McDonalds ones to gourmet and rare cooked french fries. They seem to aim more to quantity than to quality overall.
The "supposed" and only gourmet restaurant "El Velero" (only by reservation) has beautiful sea views and nice decor, but the menu is a ridicoulous intent to provide Thai/Asian cuisine. Expect to wait 45 minutes for your main course there, even if the restaurant is empty.
The animation is provided by a group od 12 young guys and girls, amusing but with limited resources. The adult show is 9.15 pm to 11.00 pm, previously is all concentrated in kids and families. If you are a honeymoon couple or searching for tranquillity, this is definitely not your place. All day long playing maximum volume salsa and merengue rythms in the pool/bar/restaurant area. Fun for a while, but not if you want to read a book or just sleep after lunch.
The night disco basically plays only latin rythms, so be prepared to have a couple of wekks of lessons prior to your arrival if you want to dance.
The beach is not particularly attractive, white sand but very few maintenance and cleaning, the water is ocean style deep green, not very clear. Jellyfish at times, most times...
Overall, the resort doesn't seem to be aimed to an international public, rather a local one less pretentious and of quite simple tastes.
Honestly, I cannot recommend it and certainly won't get back

Room Tip: Rooms as far as possible from the main pool if you want to sleep or rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tauroromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Food was awesome. Service in the restaurant was also good. It's a great place for relaxation, not so for partying. The rooms were only acceptable; I see great room for improvement there. But I got a great price for it, since we went there in a huge group; so no complaints there whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilJayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

So far my husband and I have spent here one night from six which we booked, but we have already regretted about our choice a zillion of times. Hereby I'd like to share our impressions from this very first day of our staying. First of all, the hotel receptionist could not find our booking and offered a town centre room (newly built complex a bit further from the main hotel area) instead of the hotel room which we booked. We had to accept it because we had no choice. The room is nice, however it took me 30 minutes and 3 calls to the reception in order to have finally got regular towels to the room. Hotel is overcrowded due to the weekend time, so that on the first night we didn't get a chance to have an included dinner because of a huge queue to the restaurant (which is the only place where you can have included meal as the hotel is positioned as all-inclusive). Today the breakfast was extremely pure, but the main highlight of the day happened when electricity got down and power generators started working. It lasted for 3 hours, both building were trembling like from earthquake and the noise was terrible. Noone from staff could explain how long more it can take and no apologies were done. By the way, there is only one staff person on duty, who speaks English more or less, so that if you don't know Spanish, it would be quite difficult for you to get anything. And the cherry on the cake was served just now when all of a sudden the door to the room got opened from outside without knocking and for whatever reason a bell boy started requiring to provide him with our booking number. Given the above described implications with non-English speaking staff, I couldn't get why he needed that so desperately. I pray that the rest of our staying will be more pleasant, but this is the first and the last time when we came to Playa Blanca hotel. Never ever and strongly recommend to everyone to consider other options for spending your time on this country's beaches.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Katy18181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Don’t know why but our company had an international meeting at Playa Blanca Resort. We had about 15 rooms for two nights. All of us agreed this is a terrible resort. We arrived at the Panama International Airport (Tocumen) at about 5pm and took a van out to the resort. Playa Blanca is about 120 kilometers from Panama City. The highway is pretty good but due to rush hour and a small accident with lots of rubberneckers, it took us over four hours to get to the hotel. The rooms were clean and have a safe deposit box, flat screen tv and hair dryer. My room had a mini bar but it was empty and the fridge did not work. All the buildings have 4 floors and no elevators so, if like me you’re on the third floor, be prepared to walk up and down stairs a lot. The suites are all on the 4th floors of the buildings. If you can, get a room on the first floor, they all have direct access to the pool area. The hotel has two large pools. One they call the activities pool and the other has a more relaxed atmosphere. They do have two “Jacuzzis” but neither has hot (or even warm) water. The worst part of this resort is the food. It’s disgusting. I could not finish any of my meals because of the bad taste of the food. It’s made with very low quality ingredients, maybe even leftovers. For example, I could not recognize the chicken pieces, at least nothing that looked like a drumstick, breast or wing. All the “chicken” pieces had very little meat and a lot of bone. In fact it was mostly bones!! I really have no idea what part of the chicken it was. I don’t know for sure but I’m willing to bet prison food is much better than what they serve at this hotel. For breakfast they did not have any natural juices. The “orange” juice was some sort of chemical fake. The fruits seemed old and over ripe. Trust me, the food is really, really bad. The bar near the pool isn’t good at all. I asked for a lemonade and was served some sort of concentrated chemicals diluted with tap water. I know because I watched as the bartender prepared it filling a jug with this concentrated lemonade mix and then filling it with water from the faucet!!!! None of the rooms had hot water in the showers. Incredible but true, none of the 15 rooms our group had, had any hot water. Not even warm water. We all took cold water showers both days!!!! Also, don’t expect to go to bed early, the shows and music at night can be loudly heard in the rooms. They seem to have shows every single night. Another thing you won't be able to do is surf the web. The internet connection is terrible and you have to pay extra for it. Water activities are not free, you have to pay extra for them. On the positive side, the beach is very beautiful and clean. Avoid this resort, I’m sure there have to be better options ins Panama.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricardo618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We come here on a last minute booking, being in doubt how to spend a three nights in Panamà in the rainy season. It was first time in a allinclusive resort for my companion and she loved it.
Check in - when we arrived around dinner time by car selfdriving from Tocumen airport - was confused as they could not find the reservation. It took therefore a bit longer than it should but in no moment the staff was unpleasant neither rude.
Eventually we got our room key after explanation of options(near the beach - beware may be noisy for the disco - o nearby the main pool etc all correctly explained). It means they pay attention to guest and are willing to do good.
I am not much the kind for an allincusive and I expected a "cheap" attitude also considering the low price we paid. The surprise was on both sides: restaurants are well managed and food quality super satisfacory, in no moment buffet is abandoned and despite the number of guests everything looks continuously managed and well presented. Rather home style food than neutral international boring stuff. More options with no extra cost at their served fish restaurant on the beach and some Japanes food options. Wine comes at once (a very reasonable Chilean) and the overall service tends to run rather than walk. We were also pleased with other guests: unlikely more "high level" resorts people was educated, talking low, respecting turns and lines (if any, actually almost nothing) and smiling.
Entertainement was tireless. A rainy afternoon become just a fun moment on their theater and at any time food and drinks were available. I do not really need that much but I noticed people enjoying and families finding for every taste.
A barrack on the beach was offering at reasonable cost other options: catamarans, scuba horseback riding and a number of other options.
Nice pools (two large ones within the resort plus an enormous one nearby). The beach so-so and the sea not attractive.The room was simple and not charming, however clean and quite wide. Therefore I like to rate 5 stars this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUSTOMERSERVICE P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing Playa Blanca Beach Resort holiday is a pleasure to know that their expectations were met.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience, and your comments help us to improve therefore thank hard on behalf of all the staff at Playa Blanca Beach Resort.

Therefore we will be more than happy to welcome you again,

Nayeni Lòpez
Customer Service Playa Blanca Beach & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Las Perlas Hotel & Resort Playa Blanca
0.7 mi away
Casa Guardia Panama
Casa Guardia Panama
#3 of 5 in Farallon
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Address: 115 Km Via Interamericana, Farallon, Rio Hato 8437, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel Farallon
Playa Blanca Hotel And Resort
Hotel Playa Blanca Panama
Playa Blanca Resort Panama
Playa Blanca Panama City
Blanca Panama Playa
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort Panama/Farallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing