We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing getaway!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My daughter and I spent the March break at this resort and we loved it!!! The resort was clean the food was awesome and we had no problems with the staff they all were very friendly and some would even try to teach us spanish. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels on a daily basis. I have no idea what people were thinking about the beach not being clean it was spotless and umm of course the sand was not white their travel agent should have told them that. when dealing with valcanic sand its not white people. Our room was by the large pool and it was quiet during the day and night time too. Yes they had shows going on but no big deal my child and I could sleep through it and it wasn't all the loud anyways. I don't know what some were expecting but if you were expecting Trump tower than you should have stayed in Panama city at the Trump Tower!

I would go back to this resort anyday!!!! or any other resort we LOVED Panama!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenjr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUSTOMERSERVICE P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing Playa Blanca Beach Resort holiday is a pleasure to know that their expectations were met.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience, and your comments help us to improve therefore thank hard on behalf of all the staff at Playa Blanca Beach Resort.

Therefore we will be more than happy to welcome you again,

Nayeni Lòpez
Customer Service Playa Blanca Beach & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    502
    337
    172
    161
See reviews for
659
493
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I like to give it 3.5 out of 5 Stars. We ended up with 2 bedrooms - one with 2 beds and the other was a king-sized with a pull out sofa. If they had extra bedding, the sofa bed will be used. The beds are hard and only one garbage can out of the whole place. If you love hot water, the hot water is not consistent. You have to understand that hot water is a privilege and an added feature (those that live in North America too long, we take that for granted). The kitchenette didn't have any dishes to use but we did eat at the buffet available. Dinner buffet had plenty to choose from salads, fish, chicken, pasta, desserts, and fresh fruit.

Since we stayed at the residence part as oppose to the all inclusive area, we couldn't cut through the property to see the beach. Luckily enough my family owns property there including their friends have also purchased commercial lot so we eventually did get privileges to see the beach and rest of property. Also if you need to get a swimming pool towel, you will have to show a Playa Blanca "residence" card and it also helps if you speak Spanish.

However, the big pool is quite nice with a floating trampoline aka large donut, swimming in sea salt water, kayaking, waterslides, outdoor gym, and more water fun for the active people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawt_cbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I liked it and if the chance ever arose I would go back
Reception was good, no problems. I don't speak Spanish and the the staff bent over backwards to try and understand me ;-)
Units were big, clean, air conditioned and well stocked.
Very large swimming pool, but I choose to swim in the sea (helps to be a strong swimmer)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to me. There are lifts to all the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUSTOMERSERVICE P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing Playa Blanca Beach Resort holiday is a pleasure to know that their expectations were met.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience, and your comments help us to improve therefore thank hard on behalf of all the staff at Playa Blanca Beach Resort.

Therefore we will be more than happy to welcome you again,

Nayeni Lòpez
Customer Service Playa Blanca Beach & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Where do I begin? We had booked four nights here on our recent Panama trip (May 2013). We left before we'd been there 24 hours, and moved to the JW Marriott, which was FAR superior to this awful place.

We had three rooms in the Town Center Suites (the newer building), and only one of them had hot water. The sheets were too small for the beds, and we all discussed how they wouldn't even tuck under the mattresses. The towels were thin and fairly useless. There were no doors on the bathrooms. (Really!) The food at dinner was lousy, and the wine was barely drinkable. We ordered "frozen" beverages at the pool bar, but they were not frozen, and barely even cold. The new pool (which is accessible only to guests staying in the Town Center part of the hotel) is advertised as 7 hectares. (If you care, it's currently only 3.5 hectares; there's a planned expansion. It is big, though.) When we arrived there was very loud techno music playing at the pool--it was audible throughout the resort. The worst thing about the pool, though, was that there were only about 10 chairs with any shade at all!

But the night from hell began when we fell into bed around 10 (after a long day of traveling), and the extremely LOUD music began. There was a party at the big pool, and the music was so loud our bed was vibrating. (Seriously!) We called the desk and learned that one of the owners was hosting the party, so they "couldn't do anything about it". At 2am, we went down to the front desk to ask whether they couldn't at least turn down the volume of the music. Alas, they still "couldn't do anything about it". While we were at the desk, the loudest fireworks I've ever heard began exploding at the party. We actually couldn't hear each other speaking and had to wait for the fireworks to end before continuing our conversation with the front desk clerk.

At that point, we requested to be moved to a room in the older part of the property (near the beach). There were none available. When we said we'd just move to another hotel, suddenly a room in the older part became available. When we walked into the new room, we were met with the strong stench of sewage, but we were so tired we just fell into bed anyway. About 3:00 or 4:00am we were awakened by yet another round of fireworks from the owner's party which was still in progress about 1/2 mile away! When we awoke to the sounds of the maids yelling back and forth in the tiled walkway outside our room (around 7:30), we gave up on trying to sleep, and started to make a pot of coffee. That's when we found that there was something that looked like mold growing in the coffee pot. The room looked like a very cheap motel, and it still smelled of sewage.

We left that morning, as soon as we could book rooms elsewhere (at the lovely JW Marriott, just a few miles away) and will never return to the Play Blanca Hotel and Resort.

The one positive thing we can say about this place is that Jennifer at the front desk of the older building was very nice and understanding when we told her why we were leaving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farallon hotels

Paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Pros:
-Food is good for a all inclusive

Cons:
-Front desk welcome is horrible. No smile. We arrived at 2:30 not on a weekend. Reservation was not found, We had to wait until 4pm to get a room. Hotel was half full.
- room was dirty, 2 towels (we booked and paid for 4),
-access to the big swimming pool is not free.
- No free wifi even in the lobby
- Expensive for what it is. Other options in the area

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Got my boyfriend a trip out of the city for his birthday and it was money well spent! I paid about $79pp for one night, but we got free late check out (very much worth it) included in a promotion. Although the site states you cannot check in until 2pm we arrived much earlier than expected, at 12pm, and the friendly reception staff allowed us to check in at that time anyway, at no extra cost. I even chanced my arm and asked for a sea view room, and they obliged us!! Very taken aback at this because after living in Panama for a few months we are not used to such accommodating staff! The room was lovely, very big with a comfortable bed and the view was beautiful. The drinks that were included in the price even included cocktails, which were not half bad, especially those at the bar that was in the pool (another great feature of the hotel). The food was nice, fresh, and better than we expected. Not a great choice for us vegetarians but better than most places in Panama. We treated ourselves to a meal in the sushi restaurant, which was nice. Not the best sushi in the world but we didnt have to pay extra for it. What we did pay for was some tempura and a seaweed salad, both nice, and cheap at only about $3 each.
The beach was clean and well stocked with sun loungers and shade.
All the staff we interacted with were friendly, helpful and upbeat and genuinely seemed to enjoy working there.
All in all, although I wouldnt call it a 4 star resort by western standards, we had a really lovely time and will definitely return, maybe for my birthday!!

Room Tip: ask at check in for a sea view, you might get lucky like us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katcc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUSTOMERSERVICE P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for choosing Playa Blanca Beach Resort holiday is a pleasure to know that their expectations were met.

We appreciate you took the time to share your experience, and your comments help us to improve therefore thank hard on behalf of all the staff at Playa Blanca Beach Resort.

Therefore we will be more than happy to welcome you again,

Nayeni Lòpez
Customer Service Playa Blanca Beach & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am writing in hope that others wont have to be as put off by their experience as we were! From the time we arrived we were unhappy. The people at the front desk were very unfriendly and apathetic. We had a room with a kitchenette. However there were no dishes, silverware, no coffee maker. Nothing. We were 4 in a room and there were towels for 2! No soap no shampoo...When we asked for these thing the girl just said "no" we dont provide those and went back to eating her lunch. As if we were interrupting her and couldn't be bothered.
The room is wide open without a bathroom door. A clear door on toilet and shower but not enough of a screen in my opinion. It is not comfortable to shower with a 13 year old boy on the other side of the glass! I took a shower and touched the shower head because it was facing away from my being able to get the water and the whole thing fell out of the wall, flooded our room, and there I was in a towel in the middle of my family!! No one even asked if I was okay, which I was but it would have been nice if they acted liked they cared.
There is a nice patio and furniture but it looks like it has never been cleaned. All it needed was a broom and someone to wipe the table and furniture. Paying 400.00 dollars a night I had higher expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martha59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
1.7 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Casa Guardia Panama
Casa Guardia Panama
#2 of 5 in Farallon
69 reviews
22.1 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Address: 115 Km Via Interamericana, Farallon, Rio Hato 8437, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel Farallon
Playa Blanca Hotel And Resort
Hotel Playa Blanca Panama
Playa Blanca Resort Panama
Playa Blanca Panama City
Blanca Panama Playa
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort Panama/Farallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing