We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Farallon
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,089)
Filter reviews
5,089 results
Traveler rating
1,093
1,970
1,216
472
338
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,093
1,970
1,216
472
338
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal decameron the bus air transat cafe med beach front a la carte restaurants mobility issues el canal seafood golf course beach level sushi samba huge resort atlantis buffet ocean view adult pool atv tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 5,089 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there Jan 9-Jan16, 2020. Beach is beautiful and swimming was great all week (waves were manageable). Twice we faced the white flag which means presence of stingrays and jellyfish. Luckily pools are great throughout the resort. The slides are quite rough, no one returned more than twice. We were a group of ten, including three children ages 7 to 12. Food was great at the buffet, everyone could find something they loved. I personally had fish everyday. We had À la carte three nights, Italian, Mediterranean and Steakhouse. We greatly enjoyed all three. The rooms were cleaned every day, with towels replaced, only a small sample of shampoo was provided. No big deal for us as we had brought all our personal care items. The staff did not understand English, French and even Spanish at the bars and buffet. I tried every morning to get a cup with half-milk, half-coffee but never succeeded, as an example. I realize that staff speak the language of the country, but they should not pretend understanding and then serve something different than what was ordered. I witnessed a few frustrated tourists because of this. In all we really enjoyed our vacation and everyone in our group agree to return. The only thing I really missed is lack of entertainment in the main lobby at night; a musician playing piano or guitar accompanied by a singer, or even some DJ music playing would be welcomed for folks like us who enjoy lingering in the lobby after a nice dinner.

Room tip: Rooms on the hill are quieter
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dufdan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We will consider it for our continuous progress.

Regarding your comments, we are working on the continuous preparation of our employees to always provide the best to our guests. Additionally, we are working on the continuous improvement of our facilities and services.

Likewise, we thank you for sharing your recommendations and opinions, as they are of great value to us and allows us to evaluate the opportunities for improvement in the service.

We hope to give us the opportunity to show you the changes based on your comments in an upcoming stay.

Carlos Diago
Decameron Panama Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was no dresser in the room, and a few hangers. It took 3 days to get more hangers, and hours to finally get a couch where we could put out suitcases. No one speaks English....or Spanish, for that matter. "Top Shelf" vodka is Smirnoff???? No quality alcohol, and we were in the "plus" category. Food was only average to poor, and the wait staff didn't understand what we wanted, even when we just pointed to the choice on the menu. Four of us had to share a menu. Activities were mentioned, but no sign of a schedule telling us where or when. Chair-hogging is encouraged, so if you don't get out there by 7am, you won't have a chair in the shade. They really could use 3 times as many palaces and umbrellas. No tissues. No face cloths. In what language does 'bogatony' mean vodka and tonic?????? However, the place was clean, pools were immaculate, and personnel was cheerful....even if they had no idea what we needed. No need to go back again.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank peggetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Estimado,
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribirnos su retroalimentación. La tendremos en cuenta para nuestro progreso continuo.

Respecto a sus comentarios, nos encontramos trabajando en la preparación continua de nuestros colaboradores para brindarle siempre lo mejor a nuestros huéspedes. Adicionalmente, nos encontramos trabajando en la mejora continua de nuestras instalaciones y servicios.

Así mismo, le agradecemos por compartir sus recomendaciones y opiniones, ya que son de gran valor para nosotros y nos permite evaluar las oportunidades de mejora en el servicio.

Esperamos nos dé la oportunidad de enseñarle los cambios a partir de sus comentarios en una próxima estadía.

Carlos Diago
Gerente de Decameron Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We went for a second time to Royal Decameron Panama. First time was January 2019 and now we went early January 2020. First time was great and all & this is why we choose to go back. However second time was not as amazing I'll say the good thing first, food and drink are stil amazing, but buffet do miss variety. Same food is given at lunch and diner or two diner in a row, but that's manageable in our opinion. Service at bar and "restaurant à la carte" is great, however most staff don't speak English, only Spanish so if you don't speak Spanish it is manageable but difficult to get your order properly especially steak and meat.

However for the cleanliness only deserve a 2/5if not a 1/5, first of our room; the day we arrive the bed sheet were dirty, the shower and bathroom mirror full of soap and we did not have any towel. For your information we went to our hotel room at 5pm. Some day our room would only be donne a 4pm and some time we would get towel at 5pm. It was ridiculous, and unbelievable. Most of the public bathroom (lobby, buffet and restaurant) are not clean often, and the toilet paper is rarely refill by staff..

All in all we could had a great experience but the room really threw us off from the start.

We will not be going back to that resort for a while if ever.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer249264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear,
Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We will consider it for our continuous progress.

Regarding your comments, we are working on the continuous preparation of our employees to always provide the best to our guests. Additionally, we are evaluating our cards to implement various gastronomic offers that all our customers can enjoy.

Likewise, we thank you for sharing your recommendations and opinions, as they are of great value to us and allows us to evaluate the opportunities for improvement in the service.

We hope to give us the opportunity to show you the changes based on your comments in an upcoming stay.

Carlos Diago
Decameron Panama Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Spent a week over new year with our family including 2 young grandchildren...had rooms in the Plus area near the Pacifiko buffet...food was average with nothing standing out either great or bad...bar tenders did a good job but could use some additional help to speed things up...not crazy about the fact that the pacifiko buffet was closed for dinner Saturday and Sunday so having little ones was inconvenient to say the least.

The rooms were fine and cleaned well everyday...there are no face cloths in the rooms so if you want to wash with more than a bar of soap you may want to bring some...the phones are good for room to room but unless you know an extension don’t plan on dialing “0” for help in any way

We always like to tip the staff knowing that it shows them that we appreciate their service...if you do the same bring your smaller bills from home since you will find it difficult to find any at the resort...went to all 3 lobby’s and could get any on more than one occasion....not sure if the resort doesn’t want the tipping but they make it tough to do so

On a bright note the fireworks display was a show stopper...we were there in 2013 at New Years and the resort outdid themselves this time around...awesome...special shout out to the lifeguard at the plus pool...can’t remember his name but he was always willing to chat (his English was the best of most staff) and give any advice about whatever

All in all we enjoyed the week but the resort needs to step up their game if they want people to return...there are plenty of options out there to vacation at

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank ToocoldinMuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear,
Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We will consider it for our continuous progress.

Regarding your comments, we are working on the continuous improvement of our facilities and services to always provide the best to our guests.

Likewise, we thank you for sharing your recommendations and opinions, since they are of great value to us and allows us to evaluate the opportunities for improvement in the service.

We hope to give us the opportunity to show you the changes based on your comments in an upcoming stay.

Carlos Diago
Decameron Panama Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Horrible service, staff are not nice. Dirty bedrooms. Entertainment is horrible. Food is bad. The ocean and the beach are nice but it is not a relaxing experience. They keep trying to sell you the VIP experience???

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DBankTulua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Dear
Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We will consider it for our continued progress.

Regarding your feedback, we are working on the continuous improvement of our facilities and services to always provide the best to our guests. In addition, we are evaluating our menus and activities to implement various gastronomic and dynamic offers that can be enjoyed by all our customers.

We also thank you for sharing your recommendations and opinions, as they are of great value to us and allow us to evaluate opportunities for improvement in service.

We hope to give us the opportunity to show you the changes from your feedback in an upcoming stay.

Carlos Diago
Manager of Decameron Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews