We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,928)
Filter reviews
4,928 results
Traveler rating
1,052
1,917
1,188
449
322
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,052
1,917
1,188
449
322
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal decameron air transat the bus beach front cafe med a la carte restaurants mobility issues el canal seafood catch of the day golf course poutine beach level sushi samba adult only pool large resort beachfront room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 4,928 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I traveled to Royal Decameron in Rio Hato in April. We chose the normal room option, when booking, as that is in our opinion the best way to experience the first time visit to any new place.
First we noticed the beauty of the landscape. While nearby Rio Hato, Farallon and Playa Blanca were in desert brown colours (it hasn’t rained here for months), the hotel grounds were green and resplendent with fabulous reds and pinks due to a perpetual watering and maintenance. The trees and plants were truly beautiful.
Our room, not so much. Very ordinary, two queen beds rather than a requested king bed, no coffee or tea maker, nothing in the little fridge, a room safe optional at $3.25 US per day and, alas, no box of tissues. I guess as a pampered traveller, I can do without any of this but Royal Decameron is in the big boys league, so this is a rather petty way of lowering the operating costs. When we asked for some tissues at the reception, we were shown a gift shop to purchase some :)
One appalling thing this hotel did was using single-use plastic and styrofoam glasses for all the bars, inside or out, including the coffee bar! We bought ceramic cups and steel water bottles to minimize the plastic refuse which, according to permanent residents in Playa Blanca this part of Panama does not recycle. After being in other resorts this year where the reusable plastic and glass vessels were used throughout to reduce the plastic waste, this was shockingly irresponsible of Decameron.
Overall impression, shared with some other guests was that the staff were overworked and very unhappy. We have met a few exceptions, folks who actually looked at us and tried to converse with a smile. A wonderful barista, Mr Ronaldo Moran we encountered daily at a coffee bar had always a smile and a conversation ready and we were glad to oblige. Thank you Ronaldo.
Paradoxically he shared a counter with someone who in our opinion should never be dealing with the public. Ms Jaramillo made the booking for à la carte restaurants a singularly most unpleasant experience we have ever experienced in our 20+ years of travelling in the Caribbean and Pacific regions. Her first reaction upon raising her head to view us was that of a hibernating bear awoken early. Eyes rolling to the ceiling as she was explaining the rules of engagement for such a demanding task as the booking for restaurants surely must be...Anyway, I was ready to do the buffets rather than dealing with Ms Cynthia in her little kingdom, but my wife swallowed her pride and managed to get us some bookings.
Restaurants were very nice, good food, some right by the beautiful ocean. The only one we did not like was Canal; seafood plate served there made my wife sick for most of the night and all of the next day.
Anyway, we will not come back here; the unhappy employees were too much for us, even though we always tried to dispel their sadness with a nice tip.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank supergd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear supergd2014:

I am terribly sorry to read that your experience was not up to your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We are concerned at some of your comments regarding some of your service interactions on property and would be happy to speak with you in greater detail if you would like to share your contact information with us privately. We hope to have the opportunity to speak with you, work to make the situation right.

Sincerely,
Carlos Arias.
Manager Decameron Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

My bathroom had hair all over the floor when I first checked in, as well as I didnt get any towels at all. The pressure in my shower was very bad. The toilet paper was cheaper than you would find at hostels, literally the worst I've ever gotten at a hotel, Especially one where you pay more than $200 a night. Only 3 of the restaurants were working (If we are paying the full price, we should get the full service) was very unhappy about that as I reviews what I wanted to do there beforehand. No one knew English so it was very hard to communicate even with the front desk. The nightly shows were only in Spanish so there was nothing to do after dinner. Overall I would not recommend, I wont be back.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaySweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear MaySweets:

I am terribly sorry to read that your experience was not up to your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely valuable as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to host you again and fulfill your expectations.

Best Regards,
Carlos Arias.
Manager Decameron Panamá.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

Went Jan. 2018

We went with a group of 11 and had 2 small kids traveling with one of the couples. Before we arrived, we requested to be in specific buildings and have rooms close together. We arrived before check in time as our flight was early in the morning. They were very understanding and gave the family with the 2 young kids an early check in as they needed to get essentials out of their luggage such as sunscreen. The rest of us were able to check in shortly after and they put us all beside each other. They were very proactive and must have checked to make sure everything was working as we got there and they had to move me and my sister rooms (only the next building over) due to A/C not working.. would much rather service like this than arriving and needing to figure it out then!

The only restaurant we did not like was the grill (near the stage). Other then this all the food was amazing.

This resort is big but it has a lot of different pools to go to which makes it feel more intimate as there are a lot of different areas to go. We set up every morning at the main pool where all the entertainment was held. The entertainment was great and had lots to do during the day!

There is no smoking at the pool, only on the beach. This wasn't a problem as the beach as right next to the main pool. Not far of a walk and did not feel inconvenient at all. The weather was sooo hot and nice. It rained one day but only for 15 minutes then cleared up within minutes to bring sunshine again.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank CKC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear CKC16:

We are honoured by your comments towards our hotel, food and staff; we truly appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. The team is ecstatic to had made your stay memorable and fun. It is our top priority to ensure that all of our guests leave with lasting, positive memories.

Thank you, thank you so much. We look forward to continuing to welcome you back as part of our family and continuing to be your home-away-from-home!

Sincerely,
Carlos Arias.
Manager Decameron Panamá.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Vans drive very fast through guest walkways and unsafe if you have kids. Birds pick at buffet food and not replaced, shows are loud at night and you hear everything until 11:30PM, so pick a room that is not too close to the event section. The food is not great and pretty stale at times. Food is not available at the same restaurants everyday. Staff is not welcoming. Many overworked and get only one day off and travel hours to get to hotel and back. Look tired.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Explorer09937075029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Explorer09937075029:


Please allow us this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely valuable as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We would like to reassure you that we have taken under serious consideration all of your remarks and the shortfall that happened during your stay. We have already communicated with the appropriate departments so as to improve the quality of our service and facilities and avoid similar incidents in the future.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back in our property and have the chance to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
Carlos Arias.
Manager Decameron Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

We have been looking forward to our Trip to Panama for a long time , we purchased 8 years ago a membership for Royal Decameron Hotels , and we have visit a few , this was our plan when purchasing it to visit one per year , unfortunately it hasn't been the case . It took us a while before we were able to finally visit the one in Panama only to be completely unsatisfied.
We had no special treatment as a matter of fact we were told that having a membership was not enough that we should consider a VIP status (bummer). The food was awful every day we were there (4) seemed like it was the same food over and over just pre-heated or left overs . When we finally were able to get space for a la carte dining ( we were there celebrating our anniversary) it was not as we have experienced in other hotels , the waiters /waitresses rude people ,people were not even dressed , we had to self serve the entrees and then people ate at whatever time so it was not even a formal dining , we were trying to make conversation and they just seem to be cold people period , no conversation , no sense of humor , very dry and short.
The hotel is beautiful , it could use more activities to keep the guests entertained , we did enjoy a ride in four wheeler which by the way the people that rent these were the only nice people we found at the hotel.
I will not be visiting Royal Decameron Panama , I wish our experience would've been nicer

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank planzacampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smdecameron, Gerente at Royal Decameron Panama, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear planzacampos:

Please allow us this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback which although not necessarily pleasant for us is absolutely valuable as it ensures that we not only become aware but are being proactive in addressing our guests concerns.

We would like to reassure you that we have taken under serious consideration all of your remarks and the shortfall that happened during your stay. We have already communicated with the appropriate departments so as to improve the quality of our service and facilities and avoid similar incidents in the future.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back in our property and have the chance to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
Carlos Arias.
Manager Decameron Panamá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews