We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Even though Panama is surrounded by water there are not too many beaches. Most resorts are either 1-2 hrs away from Panama city. This resort is 2 hours away and paid $48 per person for airport transfer so see if you can get a better deal with taxi or other company. Also, I learned it rains 8 months out of the year. It doesn't rain all day but if it rains in the morning it may not in the afternoon and so on. Best months to go are December to March. This is a large resort that's right on the beach. The beach is nice. Its got many pools. 3 buffet restaurants for bfast and lunch and 5 specialty restaurants for dinner. You will need to make reservations for dinner. While there are many choices for food, its average at best. If you are a foodie this is not the place for you. While this may sound like I'm spoiled, I can eat with the best of them from the simplest food to the most exquisite but trust me the food had no flavor even though there's many choices. We asked other couples or people what they thought and they were not impressed either. Service was average except for Carlos in the management office, he was excellent. I spoke Spanish but my friend did not and she did not feel like they made an effort to attract an international crowd. The resort is away from any town so in order to go shopping you either have to rent a car, take a taxi or take a shopping tour. The shopping tour however will take you to Panama city malls which is not much different than here. While the activities office does offer many tours it all depends on a certain number of people signing up for the tour so if there isn't at least 4-6 people willing to go the tour will not be available to you. I found that disappointing but at the last minute some people signed up for the panama canal tour (2 hrs away) and we were able to go. Even though we specified my friend needed the tour in English the guide gave her a hard time and translated as little as possible. I had to fill in the gaps with the translation. We had a relaxing time but will not be going back. All inclusive resort. Internet cards are sold by day for $16 or 3 days for $42 so it may be better to add a plan from your carrier.

Room Tip: If you are an RCI member there have designated units in the center of the resort over looking the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MONKEYBUZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 4,395 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

From Panama City airport ,it's a 45 to 60 minutes bus ride..we had a stop at a local 'cantina' food was Ok.
The resort is big,lots of restaurants,food is acceptable ,lots of bars ...lots of choice of beuverages.
3 pools ,not so crowded.The ''playa'' is perfect ,and you can walk far from the resort and enconter fishermans.
The ocean is to hard for me.the Pacific is good for surf ,not for snorkeling.If you like hot temperature..it's the place..the sand was so hot ,we could'nt walk barefoot...so early in the morning reserve your place ''palabre'on the beach..near the pools and bars...bring a good book and relaxe
Be prepare to walk a lot and use stairs.

Room Tip: To avoid stairs and hill road,if you can, ask for a room in the buildings in the lowest part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaderActonVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My expectations were low in a decameron, but i had a surprise with this hotel.
Very big, with many restaurants (very good food), excellent service and very very nice beach..
i satayed in a "villa" which is a biggest room than the regular and was very nice, with enough space and the bathroom was also OK.
I would highly recommend if you look to be relaxed and laying at the beach..
The location is just for that.. to be inside the hotel all the time.. the city is very far so you cant plan arrive here and go to the city at the same time.

Room Tip: ask for a villa if you go with friends.. if not ask for the regular rooms that have ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gabyalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place, great food, great drinks all inclusive, you can play golf, you can relax at the beach.
Ocean a bit hard, not so great to swim, will change that for 3 excellent pools with bars and restaurants.
Great pre-honeymoon trip ja ja, also rent a car is less expensive than public transportation.
And for tours to the Panama Canal is much easier and relax than a multitude of people tour's.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are fully prepared to climb stairs and steep hills you'll enjoy this resort. Lots of pools for you to enjoy. Where this resort gets a failing grade is in customer service from the top down. The restaurant staff have no idea what they are serving and how it's prepared and are not inclined to find out for you, language being the barrier in all areas of service. The only time they excelled was if you broke their unwritten rules hanging towels on the balcony and walking on the grass so, beware as my travelling companions found out first hand much to their chagrin!

Room Tip: Find out exactly where your room is. All lobbies are on the top of the hill and there are over 80 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gloucestergal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff. The hotel has excellent views of the gardens/pools and the sea.
The water in the pool is always clean and warm. The food is also amazing with lots of variety.
Totally recommendable for a family since I went there with my wife and two boys and we had a blast. The stairs to the lobby can be a bit tiring but all in all is a fantastic resort!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazarus730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is older but the staff was friendly, just understand many do not speak good English, its a Spanish speaking country. So brush up on your Spanish. Rooms were clean but remember to put the clean my room sign on. And there are no face clothes so take your own. We booked a beach room which I would definitely recommend for the little bit extra cost. Take the pirate ship available at the resort boat rentals. The owners run a great excursion. There is quite a bit of walking so probably not great if walking is an issue. Beach was awesome and weather hot - we went in Feb 2012. Its a long way from panama city but take the the trip to Anton Valley. It not far andr is interesting really highlighting the diversity of the country. If you want to do the tours in and around Panama city I would recommend staying closer to. We booked with nolitours and their reps were very helpful but they are really only available in the main entrance. This is a big resort. While there my husband got sick and the staff was extremely accommodating with food and such that could be taken to the room. We enjoyed ourselves and the people of Panama are awesome.

Room Tip: Beach front - pay for it its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BBlue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
1.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Guardia Panama
Casa Guardia Panama
#2 of 5 in Farallon
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Acuarela
Hostal Acuarela
#1 of 1 in Farallon
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Perla de Farallon
La Perla de Farallon
#4 of 5 in Farallon
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115 | Carretera Interamericana, Farallon, Rio Hato, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range: $171 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 1170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama is an all inclusive hotel located about 2 kilometers of white sandy beach in Farallon, Panama. The hotel is located on the Pacific coast, close to many tourist attractions. Also, the city of Panama and the Tocumen International Airport (PTY) are located 120 miles away. The Royal Decameron in Panama hotel offers 852 guestrooms in low-rise buildings and 370 rooms Villas. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, closet, safe (local charge), direct dial telephone (with deposit cash at the reception) and a private bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Also have a minibar as part of the all inclusive plan and the villas are located on the golf course. Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers eight pools for adults three wading pools, three hot tubs, a casino, a golf course with 18 holes and a full spa. This beach hotel also offers a variety of organized activities on land and water for the whole family, and two convention centers for business travelers. The Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort has 11 bars, a nightclub and 10 restaurants ranging from traditional to the more exotic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel Farallon
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf And Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Panama
Hotel Royal Decameron Beach
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Golf & Casino
Royal Decameron Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama/Farallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing