We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
Nearby Hotels
$175
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manglar Lodge(San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(San Carlos)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residencial El Valle(El Valle de Anton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anton Valley Hotel(El Valle de Anton)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Playa Corona(Playa Coronado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,600)
Filter reviews
4,600 results
Traveler rating
977
1,786
1,122
419
296
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
977
1,786
1,122
419
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal decameronmobility issuesbeach frontthe busa la carte restaurantscafe medair transatel canalpanama citycatch of the dayseafoodpoutineadult only poolbeach levelsushi sambabooze cruisebeachfront room
Filter
Updating list...
930 - 935 of 4,600 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Travelled all inclusive last week of January 2013. When we arrived at the Panama airport the line for immigration was ridiculously long, thanks to a stewardess we were told to go back up stairs and that there was immigration on both ends of the airport and go to the other - no line at all - so if everyone goes left to immigration head in the opposite direction down the main hall to the immigration at the opposite end. The trip from the airport was as expected. Check in was quick, and got a safe key for $21 for the week. We were in building 49 which is at the opposite end of the resort - so yes get ready to walk. The resort is very big and you will need to do stairs (50+ from top to bottom). Our room was very large, and had a fridge at no charge. It was quiet but you can easily hear your neighbours and others coming and going. The staff were friendly and provided good service, you have to be patient it is a big resort and there are lots of people to look after, but any request was always looked after. We ate at an a la carte evernight and enjoyed the food. Mogo Mogo - you will enjoy watching the guests who attack the sushi, I have never seen ruckus over sushi - the beef and Pad thai were very good. El Canal - great salmon, and service. Cayugo - we received poor service but the food was good. Kontiki - great beef and blue cheese fettucinni, service and salad bar. Catch of the Day - included fish was salty and deep fried, spend the extra money if you go and get something else. Bar staff is friendly and tehy have lines set up so you just wait your turn. It was really hot so we were glad to have insulated mugs and a Bubba Keg for water. We did the El Valle ATV excursion, and Panama Canal City Tour on our last day whcih drops you at the airport. We spent most days on the beach, no real chair wars, about as expected, you know - we need 6 chairs because our friends are coming, but just never show up, just be sure you get someplace with shade! Based on previous reviews we didn't expect a great resort but we were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GrWeSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed 11 nights at this place from January 7th to January 18th (we took the combo with 3 more nights at the Gamboa).
Airport to the Hotel: took 2 hours, neat and straight.
Hotel and room: the check-in took no time and overall, went pretty well. The room was average (we had beachfront in the building 30) and had nothing to complain about (hot water and pressure wewre not an issue for us, though we heard different from another couple). It was clean and well maintainded everywhere. We learned that this place is an ex US Army base and is as old as 100 years.
Beach: sand is brown and clean. Ocean was warm and clean also. We swam in the ocean everyday. Very nice to have long walks on the beach. I didn't find that easy to get chairs and palaps unless I woke uup early and went to put t-shirts and books on some to reserve them.
Tours: we took the Cultural and Craft tour: we feel we still had to take it but we were not impressed with the content. We also took the Panama city tour and found that one a must and very interesting with a nice stop at the canal.
Food: we found the choices at the buffets poor, at luch and dinner time. we still ate well at every meal but that is cause we're not picky. the a la carte restaurants though were all great and easy to reserve.
The Gamboa place was fantastic.
We enjoyed our trip and will not go back to this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rob12Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks last September (2012) and had a brilliant time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good and I got up early every day to book an A la Carte restaurant. It was worth the effort as they had a more calm and intimate atmosphere than the buffet restaurants. Our favorite was the Contiki which we went to a couple of times.
I tried out my Spanish when booking the table and even managed the room number in Spanish. Being a typical ignorant Brit they appreciated the effort and even the towel girl at one of the booths taught me some Spanish.
The room was a bit close to the shows but it stopped at midnight. Most of the entertainment was good and the trips we went on, including a canoe trip in the rainforest to have lunch with an indigenous tribe was unforgettable.
We booked one trip on our own using one of the resorts taxi`s. Good value and price quoted upfront. Driver stayed with us for the return journey.

The resort was quite full but it didn`t feel like it was and it was very clean. The Panamanians are very proud of their country as were the workers at the resort.
We have booked again for February but just for 4 days as part of a longer holiday.
p.s. Don`t forget to visit Woody`s Canadian bar and Restaurant a short walk along the beach. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a seaview but away from the showground.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loose2Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Royal Decameron Jan. 14-21. It was a long 3 hr bus ride from the airport which we knew from previous reviewers. But it did provide for a nice tour to see the countryside. Down the road, the bus driver stopped at a store so we could pick up some refreshments. We arrived after dark and check in was interesting. Outside of lobby 1, in the dark, we were given our wrist bands, told our luggage will be at the front door of our room, and were left stranded to FIND our building and room. We managed to flag down a mini shuttle car, asked for directions to our building and he was gracious to drive us to the front of our building. Next day everything was in perspective as we could actually see where we were. We were in building 41, the room was spacious and the oceanview was spectacular. There was NO clock or face cloth in the room. The mini fridge was locked and you had to pay extra if you wanted it. Bottled water was provided. Maid service was very good. Had to pay extra for the safety deposit box. Like other reviewers stated, there are LOTS of stairs and steep inclines on this resort. Anyone with mobility issues may think again about coming to this resort. Most of the amenities are on the lower level and most of the eating centers are "open air". There are alot of different places to eat and many different bars around the resort. You can always find something to eat and drink all day long. The power went off while we were there, so it was a cold shower in the morning. It was a pleasure to be able to swim in the ocean, the water is WARM. In the afternoon the sand gets so HOT that its impossible to walk without sandles! Went to Anton Valley for $2 each way. Catch the bus in front of Lobby 2. Anton Valley has its market day on Fridays. Also, picked up some souvenirs just down the road, off the resort. Went on a partial transit tour in Panama City. It's a must do. Its amazing to see how big the ocean freight liners are that go thru the locks. All in all this is a huge resort with alot of great amenities and we would recomment this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank cholitzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at this resort. Good value for the dollar. The two hour plus bus ride to the resort was rather long however the tour representative provided us with some interesting info of Panama.
Took two tours. The first tour was ATV tour of Anton Valley - only 4 of us this tour made it very personal and great fun. Two of us had never ridden an ATV before but the guides were very patient and fun was had by all. At the end of the tour we ended up at Ty's Sport Bar for lunch. A great Canadian place, wonderful food and the owners Ty and Michelle were wonderful. We even got to meet their monkey - the wonderful Mona.
Second tour was the Panama Expedition. This was a big group. Trip on the lake was interesting as we were up close to the ships going through to the canal, saw three types of monkeys and a crocodile. Only problem is that while in the boat we could not hear the guide due to the boat engine. Later we had sandwiches on a small island which was ok, went to visit a zoo and then craft market. Only complaint was there wasn't any water offered - not an inexpensive tour so this should have been offered.
The Panamian people very friendly, resort clean and rooms acceptable -food so so.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bennett2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews