We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of La Fogata

La Fogata
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Farallon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Proudly from Panamanian Pacific and Caribbean since 2000 specializes in seafood, homemade food, simple
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went for a walk one afternoon and found this place. It was closed but Luz, a very friendly gal came out and spoke to me and told me about her menu. I continued my walk over to Woody's but was not impressed with the service at Woody's and decided to go back to La Fogata and make a reservation (recommended) for that night. My wife and I were not disappointment. The lobster special was excellent as well as the service. George the owners history lesson on Panama was very informative and appreciated. I would recommend this place for sure. Lobster and large shrimp with salad, shrimp cocktail, dessert and coffee, $30

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    58
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Spectacular and Inexpensive”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I liked it all. From Seafood to Meats, all on the grill with a cold Panama beer or Malbec Cabernet. It was spectacular!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ginny_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central America
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, worth visiting”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were staying in Playa Blanca and decided to go out to dinner. There are not many options and I wanted to try something I haven't visited yet. I found "La Fogata" located at almost the end of the road that takes you to Decameron, entering the town of Farallon.
It advertises itself as a "Caribbean cooking in the Pacific". We were pleasently surprised. The food was delicious. Fancy drinks are not part of the offerings. The service was slow but the place is rustic and relaxed, so we waited. The restaurant logo seems to be "We serve good food, not fast food". Prices are not cheap, the servings are "semi gourmet size". We had Mahi/Mahi (doral) and Lobster ($15 small $30 medium). Dessert is limited, however the "flan" which was more like a "tocinillo del cielo", was as good as my grandmother used to make.
I plan to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MEDTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

One does not expect to find a great resto in the middle of Panama. This is the exception. Luz and Jurg are committed to customer service and Luz, who runs the kitchen, is fastidious about the quality of her product. If you find yourself anywhere near Farallon of the Royal Decameron Golf and Beach Resort, it would definitely be well worth your while to make a reservation at La Fogata. The "Sexy Lobster" is definitely a must!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris Point, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went to Panama for a well needed vacation. Staying at the Royal Decameron the food was great but a night out to La Fogata was truly amazing. My wife even got a second Calamari dish to take back too the hotel. If you are in Farallon or passing through you have to stop at the La Fogata, your taste buds will thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry-Hilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fogata also viewed

 
Farallon, Rio Hato
Santa Clara, Panama Province
 
Santa Clara, Panama Province
Rio Hato, Cocle Province
 

Been to La Fogata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing