We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Nacional
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lobby was WOW.

Great check in because it was fast smooth,easy and painless. They were busy, but had the staff. I liked it.

The room has a perfect size for the four of us,city view,wifi,TV’s are great...Plenty of channels for kids.

The food at the restaurant downstairs amazing,kids love the pizza and ROOM service was prompt.

The location of the Hotel is wonderful. Walk to high end stores,casinos,coffee shops and David Park.

Every staff person had a good idea of the area so whether it was shopping, eating, site seeing they were very very helpful.

The drinks near the pool and close to the movie theater was really good.. the cocktails presentation are excellent, the staff are extremely friendly.
The setting is beautiful. Great architecture,very relaxing.....while the kids swim at the big pool.

And I recommend try a Panama food named "Sancocho" it's like chicken soup but with Great flavor.

We enjoy stay there,prefer it over OTHERS hotels ...It has all the facilities and service that you need on a trip, it doesn't matter if it's business or pleasure.

When We leave a hotel I always ask myself if I would stay at the property again if I was back in the area and I can say with certainty that, YES I will absolutely return to the GRAN HOTEL NACIONAL the next time I am in David,Panama.

Thanks



Mary and family !!






  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 208 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Room was clean but dated. We had a ground floor room with a small screened porch which would have been nice except there were no chairs and the back was overgrown. The outdoor bar/restaurant was good, the included continental breakfast was just o.k. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Although Wi-Fi was advertised, we had lots of problems getting connected. Dropped signal frequently. Very frustrating. Room was clean but very old and musty. Lots of noise from water pipes. Staff was polite and friendly and some spoke English. Moved to Hotel Ciudad de David. Much much better.

Room Tip: try to stay in newer section of hotel. some is remodled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night because it was close to the bus station and we were leaving in the morning. The rooms were clean, kids enjoyed the pool. We didn't eat in the restaurant because we prefer local food - we did enjoy the breakfast buffet which was included and was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safe2birth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

After having stayed at a hostel for part of my trip and hotels for the remainder, I wished I chose a different hotel. While the staff is nice and friendly, the rooms are dingy and feel dirty. The pool isn't chlorinated and the outdoor restaurant was so bad that I had to send back my fish. Good for one night if all you need is a place to put your feet up. There are better hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenK165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the third floor. It had two king beds, two hvac units, two bath rooms, etc.

This place probably would not suit you if you are looking for a resort atmosphere, however, if you are in David it is a safe bet that you know it isn't Cancun.

This place is a hoot. From the third floor I could see the painted and patched roof. The overwhelming feeling is that you are someplace exotic, off the beaten path.

The staff let us check in early. No elevator. OK dining on site. Wi Fi was a bit wobbly on the third floor (my PC worked fine, iPads did not have enough signal).

Five solid stars if you are in the mood to wear a sharp looking Panama hat.

Room Tip: Go for the suites on the third floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Slowtwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

On a recent ovenight in the Gran Hotel Nacional, we were given a gloomy ground-floor bedroom which smelled strongly of damp and looked out at a wall topped with barbed wire. There were mosquitoes in the room - when we asked if they could spray the room while we had dinner, we were informed they did not have a spray. In the outdoor bar area, the mosquitoes drove us indoors to the "Italian" restaurant where the food was mediocre (undercooked buffalo wings, a doughy pizza). Wifi did not work in the bedroom. The hotel is simply not good enough. The overnight rate was €104.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
3  Thank Maeve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
13.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#9 of 13 in David
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Nacional

Address: Avenida Central | P.O. Box 378, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range: $96 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nacional is located in the heart of David´s banking and commercial Center, Capital of Chiriqui Province completely remodeled. Its surroundings are great to spend a good vacation with your family, also to plan the business meetings, weddings, seminars, etc.Our comfortable rooms, Jr. Suites, Pool–Side, Master Suites, are mostly furnished with two double beds, and some are equipped with king or queen sizes.There are 3 restaurants on property: the Coffee Shop serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the daily exquisite lunch-buffet, the Italian–Pizza Restaurant offers “A la carte” all day from lunch to dinner, furthermore the Gazebo, located in the small Tropical Garden, the room transforms every night to a Barbecue Restaurant with a salad-bar.For your evening activities the hotel offers “Multicinema” with 6 theater, plus Las Vegas style Casino open 24 hours.Gran Hotel Nacional, “More than a Tradition, a Chiriqui Heritage”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel David
Gran Hotel Nacional Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing