We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hacienda Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Nacional
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic Hacienda Hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a classical style. The room was large and comfortable. Wi-fi did not work in the room so I and to go outside or into the lobby.
I can't say enough about the lobby/reception staff. They all were awful and not the least bit concerned about the customer. I had an issue with the TV in my room and when I approached them they had a "we don't care"'attitude.
The restaurant is ok but over priced for dinner. The breakfast buffet was nice but redundant.
Overall,'I'd stay there again if the price was right. Otherwise, look elsewhere.
Oh, when I checked in they charged me for one night on a two night prepaid stay. I remedied this with my credit card provider when I got home. They are sneaky as evidenced by other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
50
53
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We actually quite liked this hotel but I have to give them a bad review because we were charged twice for a one-night stay. We didn't realize it until we got home and when I tried to contact the hotel we could not get anyone to even return an email. Luckily we booked through booking.com so they were able to intervene on our behalf and very quickly arrange a refund.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank peggy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I called to book a room for 4 so the receptionist promised a suite for $110 per night. When we arrived we were given a small room with 2 beds. Not only this, but the greatest mistake was the price given , after been told the room was $110 they charged $175 at checkout.
After complaining to the receptionist, he decided that the best way to handle the situation was to ignore me not saying a word to me, not even "thank you"
The room was clean, and comfortable. I would recommend it for younger people/couples. And I would think the actual suites are even better if you are willing to pay extra, and as long as the staff is willing to accommodate you in the correct room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krlos0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nice hotel in central David. Has restaurants, pool, casino and on site parking. Friendly staff and nice room with TV, safe, fridge etc. Excellent buffet breakfast included. Price is quite reasonable too. No complaints here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice old hotel. Centrally located. Close to a casino and LOTS of restaurants. Great place to go and see the city. The pool is very nice and staff is friendly. The price has gone up a bit recently but you get a nice hotel. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Never wrote a bad review before, but this one was needed. We were charged for a reseration we did not make. When we went to the hotel to explain the issue, we were treated very nicely by the staff, but they could not make the decision to credit our card for their mistake, it had to handled by someone further up the chain. When the decision was finally communicated to us several days later, after daily follow ups on my part, we were told that we booked a reservation for the month prior to our arrival in the Panama (coincidentally the reseration that their clerk booked us for was the day following our call to book a room for the upcoming month).

Needless to say we were unhappy - if we are ever in David in the future, we would sleep in our car rather subject ourselves to their customer service.

Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fossil, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel with kind staffs and a wonderful restaurant serving good seafoods and Italian/American food. Price was very reasonalble. Free buffet breakfast was different everyday and delicious and they have a very clean swimming pool. David was a good location to go see other towns like Boquete or Beaches.. etc.. Shopping in David was great, too!

Room Tip: We wanted to use a room by the pool but we choose a mini suite because of it's size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Nacional

Property: Gran Hotel Nacional
Address: Avenida Central | P.O. Box 378, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nacional is located in the heart of David´s banking and commercial Center, Capital of Chiriqui Province completely remodeled. Its surroundings are great to spend a good vacation with your family, also to plan the business meetings, weddings, seminars, etc.Our comfortable rooms, Jr. Suites, Pool–Side, Master Suites, are mostly furnished with two double beds, and some are equipped with king or queen sizes.There are 3 restaurants on property: the Coffee Shop serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the daily exquisite lunch-buffet, the Italian–Pizza Restaurant offers “A la carte” all day from lunch to dinner, furthermore the Gazebo, located in the small Tropical Garden, the room transforms every night to a Barbecue Restaurant with a salad-bar.For your evening activities the hotel offers “Multicinema” with 6 theater, plus Las Vegas style Casino open 24 hours.Gran Hotel Nacional, “More than a Tradition, a Chiriqui Heritage”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel David
Gran Hotel Nacional Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing