We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, but very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Nacional
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice old hotel. Centrally located. Close to a casino and LOTS of restaurants. Great place to go and see the city. The pool is very nice and staff is friendly. The price has gone up a bit recently but you get a nice hotel. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 208 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Never wrote a bad review before, but this one was needed. We were charged for a reseration we did not make. When we went to the hotel to explain the issue, we were treated very nicely by the staff, but they could not make the decision to credit our card for their mistake, it had to handled by someone further up the chain. When the decision was finally communicated to us several days later, after daily follow ups on my part, we were told that we booked a reservation for the month prior to our arrival in the Panama (coincidentally the reseration that their clerk booked us for was the day following our call to book a room for the upcoming month).

Needless to say we were unhappy - if we are ever in David in the future, we would sleep in our car rather subject ourselves to their customer service.

Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel with kind staffs and a wonderful restaurant serving good seafoods and Italian/American food. Price was very reasonalble. Free buffet breakfast was different everyday and delicious and they have a very clean swimming pool. David was a good location to go see other towns like Boquete or Beaches.. etc.. Shopping in David was great, too!

Room Tip: We wanted to use a room by the pool but we choose a mini suite because of it's size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

That’s the oasis away from hot busy David. We just were changing busses on our way to the coast, so it was the ideal place for a rest. Big friendly room with big comfy bed, aircon, nice bathroom, very clean. Refreshing swimming pool in the flower garden and a nice dinner at the barbecue restaurant. Relaxing! Computer use, Wifi, big cooked breakfast buffet and welcome drink all included – excellent value for money (we paid 85$ for a double, booked online). Would always come back here! We didn’t leave the hotel, as we know David (nothing much to do there), but if you want to explore, it’s all walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was there for 4 nights few weeks ago. At first impresion I thought that will be a nice hotel ... well ... Front desk is not bad at all but you have to walk a lot to get elevator... once you get the room "340" with pool view . . . it was really hot ... I turned A/C but ws a really noisy one.. or watch TV or get Air running...

Bed Sheets are old as hotel, dirty ... I decide go to the gym .. well a think no more than 3 sq. meter with old machines.. 1 cycle .. 1 walking machine and one kind of exercise machine in a very bad conditions.... it really dissapointed me...

Restaurant was great... nice food and not expensive at all. Good deal here !!!.

Last day I arrive from work and my room was open.. so I asked front desk and she said I dunno... she asked manager and nobody knows why it was open... However nothing was missing...

I will say like a summary ... if can get a better hotel .. DO IT !!! This hotel does not worth it if you are lokking some 4* hotel.

Room Tip: A/C is really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From check in to check out everything was very pleasing. My room was small but clean and nicely appointed with great A/C, TV and WiFi. It was on a noisy side but it did not bother me. The hotel is a non-smoking property which I liked. It is centrally located so access to the myriad of shops and vendors is within a few blocks walk. Staff could not be faulted except for restaurant staff who consistently do not do provide follow-up service once you are served. Mind you, if you are tired of wait staff catching you with a mouthful...asking if, "You guys are doing OK?" this may be a good thing. But you will need to go find a waiter if you need another beverage or your bill....they just don't seem to come back otherwise. Nice, big inner court yard pool. Lots of on-site parking with security guards. David will never ever be a destination of choice for me, but I would stay at this hotel again any time if I must go to David.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner facing room - there really are no views worth suffering street noise for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrgould45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent two nights over New Years. Close enough to the plaza to easily walk to the festivities. Far enough away to be restful at night. Rooms were comfortable. Pool was magnificient. Complimentary breakfast buffet was very satisfactory. Dinner in the restaurant was very reasonable and more food than we needed. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
13.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#8 of 13 in David
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#10 of 13 in David
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Nacional

Address: Avenida Central | P.O. Box 378, David 0426, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range: $96 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nacional is located in the heart of David´s banking and commercial Center, Capital of Chiriqui Province completely remodeled. Its surroundings are great to spend a good vacation with your family, also to plan the business meetings, weddings, seminars, etc.Our comfortable rooms, Jr. Suites, Pool–Side, Master Suites, are mostly furnished with two double beds, and some are equipped with king or queen sizes.There are 3 restaurants on property: the Coffee Shop serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the daily exquisite lunch-buffet, the Italian–Pizza Restaurant offers “A la carte” all day from lunch to dinner, furthermore the Gazebo, located in the small Tropical Garden, the room transforms every night to a Barbecue Restaurant with a salad-bar.For your evening activities the hotel offers “Multicinema” with 6 theater, plus Las Vegas style Casino open 24 hours.Gran Hotel Nacional, “More than a Tradition, a Chiriqui Heritage”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel David
Gran Hotel Nacional Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing