We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A doorway to the sun--a veritable shelter from the rain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Reviewed October 16, 2009

What accolades can I truly add that's not already been said about Hotel Puerta del Sol. I enjoyed my one-week stay. The staff made me feel at home; every one I had contact with was pleasant, courteous, and still conducted him/herself in a professional manner. My room had a airconditioning unit with a TV and a desk, and a clean, comfortable bed. The hotel is situated in a convenient location, just two blocks from the Parque Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra. The staff was most helpful with directions to several places I needed to get to on foot.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taitanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

This hotel is what it is. It is a clean hotel with an ultra clean bathroom and a powerful, hot shower. The linens are unmistakably clean. The staff was very accommodating. The location is in the center of David. David in not a place you are going to hang out for a long time, but if you need a good night's sleep before an early morning flight, then this is totally the place. I believe the cost was about $30 for a room that would easily sleep 3.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2weekadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

I booked this hotel because everyone said it was great, but honestly, I stayed in the best room they had, 79.00 a night, and it was ok, balcony, air, but the big problem here is the WIFI.

For some reason, the owner only allows people one hour of net access a day and they force you to use passwords and passcodes. I logged in, took a shower, then checked my email and was blocked.

I went downstairs and told her and she said, only one hour a day, and gave no reason. I explained to her it was FREE and why are you doing this, they don't care.

Pissed me off.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NorthwestMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuri_Sol, Marketing director at Hotel Puerta del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2009

Dear guests,

Taking in consideration how important for many of you are the internet services, we decided to expand the time allowed for our guests. For control and system reasons, the passcodes and passwords are still the way we provide access, but there are no more restrictions about the time a guest can use.

Hoping this measure will help to improve our services to all of you,

Yuribel Grajales
Bookings and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

This hotel was just fine. I went with my wife and two kids and we just use the room for sleeping purposes. With said:
1. The front desk ladies were very kind.
2. They have a 24hrs wireless courtesy and you have access to a small internet cafe in the lobby.
3. Rooms as I said for sleeping purposes and for the price around U$45.00 a night were OK.
4. They have indoors parking spaces.
5. This hotel is in the middle of David (very convenient).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Augusto_Cabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed twice at the Hotel Puerta del Sol as we stopped in David coming into Panama and on our way to Bocas del Toro. We enjoyed it both times. Excellent value - $44 per night for a triple - very clean, and responsive, friendly staff. The hotel is conveniently located just down from parque central. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VancouverHdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

The hotel is right on main square. VERY VERY shiney CLEAN, bathroom larger and nicer than normal for these places. Staff really very helpfull and friendly. Most speak english. Internet only in the lobby on two, 1 dollar for 30 minutes machines. So no ability to print anything. Also no ability to fax anthing internationally. But right across the street is an E-cafe with all those facilities. Its two minute walk to the National Hotel and its 2 good restaurants and its casino ( the casino is not recomended by any stretch)
The hotel restaurant is high end dining at bargain basment prices. Old world style with high ceilings and white table cloth good attentive service. I had a great big 1st class breakfast, fresh OJ, locally grown coffee, eggs, ham and toast with the crusts cut off and fresh butter-----tab was $3.41 US including tip!

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank Baronnovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

moving to Boquete, looking at property and needed a place not to far away....good value for the price, convenient location, clean... food in the restaurant was good.... hotel desk staff friendly and speak english... secure parking underground.... would stay there again... rooms could use some updating but hey, it cost me $30 a night

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank amortotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#9 of 13 in David
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
109 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Sol

Address: Calle Central y Avenida Tercera, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range: $47 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiriquí Province and to Puerta del Sol Hotel where you will feel the pleasure of being at home.We are located between 3rd Avenue and Central Street, at the commercial heart of David city and just 5 minutes away from Enrique Malek Airport. Our hotel offers 86 rooms, one restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and 2 parking lots, among other services that will make your visit to our province for business or for touristic purposes an unforgetable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Sol David
Hotel Puerta Del Sol Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing