We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in David
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Dont worget to visit this place. It was incredible. Nice people. I recommend it. Dont forget to visit this nice place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexander777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
34
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Logansport, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 days and the service was OK, but could use a little more professionalism at the front desk. The desk was ran by two girls who were more interested in talking to each other than helping us. The rooms were clean and the hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfreshour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arraijan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This is nice hotel, located in a very good location; near everything in David. The attention is not great but is passable; the rooms are comfortable enough with hot water. The restaurant is also ok. I sent a weekend with my wife and the first night we have a problem with the remote control of the AC; we complain and they tried to fix it, once they were unable to repair it, we were switch to a different room. Overall of the hotel is average, recommended for a night rest during a long trip or as a base to travel around chiriqui

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose_Angel_Pitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff was very nice. Very close to all shopping. TV was small. I don't know if breakfast was included (wasn't told and didn't ask). I didn't eat any meals in the restaurant so I can't say anything about it. I read earlier about problems with the key locks. My lock was difficult, too. You have to put you key card in a receiver in the room to make the a/c work so you can't leave the a/c running when you leave (some may see this as a negative but I love it). The only problem with the a/c is that we couldn't control the temp and it got too cold. I would stay again because of the great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisB_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Puerta del Sol was the best economy hotel we stayed in while in Panama. Our room was quite comfortable, overlooked part of David, and was air conditioned. The cost was a mere $36 plus tax! You can't beat that! In addition, the hotel staff members were very friendly. The hotel is centrally located for walking around the main part of the city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room 148 which is away from the street traffic and has a partial view of David.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This was the best place we stayed in a hotel in Costa Rica and Panama. Great value. clean rooms. no bugs. great meals in the restaurant. staff was very helpful in advice in getting around.

Room Tip: You can't beat the price $42 for a couple for a nights stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Having spent some time in Panama City two months earlier, I was extremely pleased with the differences i experienced in David. In the capital I paid $150 for three nights in a clean but modest hotel. At Puerta del Sol I found a well-located hotel in a well-maintained older building with all the facilities I required in top-notch condition at about 75% of the price.
The bathroom was 21st Century with a dynamic shower and more hot water than I could ever need. The air conditioning had multiple settings and functioned perfectly. I used only the larger bed, and I slept like a king. There was no problem with noise from the street or from the hall. Chamber maid was efficient and thorough. The small closet had ample space to hang clothes, and shelves to lay things on.
The staff was professional and friendly, but not pushy. I´m not sure how many spoke English, as I prefer to use Spanish with Latin Americans.
Breakfasts were awesome. I especially liked the small fruit salad, typically pineapple, cantaloupe, papaya, watermelon and banana. Enough for two people. Toasted wholewheat bread with blackberry marmalade, Wonderful coffee. And all the hot and heavy ham and eggs and cereals that one might wish.
Heat and humidity are present during daylight hours, but all buildings and taxis are air conditioned and I had no problems. Of course I´m only 80 years old, so i may have to adjust some day. I will be back to Puerta del Sol.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CorvanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Central y Avenida Tercera, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiriquí Province and to Puerta del Sol Hotel where you will feel the pleasure of being at home.We are located between 3rd Avenue and Central Street, at the commercial heart of David city and just 5 minutes away from Enrique Malek Airport. Our hotel offers 86 rooms, one restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and 2 parking lots, among other services that will make your visit to our province for business or for touristic purposes an unforgetable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Sol David
Hotel Puerta Del Sol Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing