We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chillin at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in David
pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“chillin at the beach”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

If you want to relax and chill, las olas resort and las brisas condos are the perfect place. This is right on a black sand beach with pounding waves about 30 minutes from the David airport.

The ocean can range from inviting to fierce. We had one day where it was so calm the we swam beyond the wave break and other days where we choose to swim in the pool.

There are three tennis courts, fishing, bikes, massage services and day trips. we did a day trip to Boquete to zip line and another to Boca Chica to snorkle, and site see. Both are highly recommended.

The restaurant on site was fine, we liked the breakfasts on the veranda. And you could never go wrong ordering the filet or special of the night.

The rooms were on par with the price we paid. Ask it there are any specials when you reserve.
Ask for confirmation, print it out and bring it with you so there is no confusion.

Service, we found that they, in general, were eager to help. But then we speak a little Spanish. If you don't speak Spanish bring a dictionary or app on your phone to help with getting your request across.

We have stay here a couple times, there is always good and bad, but the plusses come out ahead.

Room Tip: We booked an upstairs room for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    76
    37
    23
    26
See reviews for
73
100
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
David, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Every year we visit this Hotel, and hope for the better. It is the only place to go when you live in Chiriqui, Panama. The rooms are simple, rooms being cleaned by 3 pm, just when you want to relex on your patio. The pool are is simply discusting, ants and ants everywhere, the food is discusting and if you need service, walk yourself, because they are to stupid and slow to help. You need an extra chair, get it yourself, this is what the staff will tell you. It is just Unbelievable, and they want to sell this area to the world, ha ha what a joke. Any small resort in any caribbean Island or even in our neighbours in Costa Rica know hospitality means.
I have been all over the world, this beats all. Horrible, service worst, food discusting, staff lazy, WOW !!

Room Tip: Almost all the same, partial view of ocean, with dead grass in front of you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these David hotels

Vista Alegre
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This resort is ok if you want to spend a lot of time just chilling out. Front desk staff was welcoming and changed our room when there was only one key. The room was smaller than I expected and did not have a refrigerator. A bit worn around the edges. Charged for coffee and water provided. Small terrace was nice and lovely grounds. I was worried about being too close to the beach and noise from the waves at night. Even though our unit faced the beach it was far enough from the beach so no problem. Beach is sandy, but waves are strong, not a quiet cove to swim. Public areas were nice, lovely pool, restaurant and if you like to exercise and work out there seemed to be a lot of equipment. We planned to stay two nights, but the remote location wasn't to our liking. I'm sure there are activities at the resort, but at our age we don't participate. Lovely restaurant and our dinner and breakfast were very good. The wait person for both meals were better than most restaurants in Panama City. Panama restaurant staffs just don't get if you give good service you get a better tip. Things have improved over the 6 years we have lived here, but still needs some tweaking. Drive from David to the beach is about 20-30 minutes through farm county. Lovely but brings you to the remote location of the resort. There are some private condos next to the resort. It's a location for some, but not for us. We drove from PC so had a car. If you don't, you are a captive at the mercy of other transportation. All in all the resort would be ideal for those looking to chill and recharge their battery. Sidebar: Reason we chose the resort was a great coupon discount offer and by paying in advance forced us to explore this area of Panama after living here for 6 years. Been there, done.that. We went on to Boquete the next day and now have been there, done that.

Room Tip: Didn't investigate other room choices, but ours was smaller than expected. I think all rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyTuesdayFundador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I traveled with another couple. This was our first trip to Las Olas. We live in Panama and at this time of year rates of $70 to $80 were available. Through other promotions we were able to stay even cheaper. I'm rating it as if I had paid $80.

The direction to get to the resort are easy to follow. It is about 30 minutes from David. We arrived at 12:30 am and our rooms were ready. We were in room 103. The staff was friendly and provided us information. There were only 4 rooms occupied for our one night stay and our group had two of them.

The room was good sized. The doors were not the highest quality but they worked. The bathroom was nice sized and had a ledge that you could put your overnight stuff up and out of the way. The shower was big and had great water pressure. The AC worked fine and our room was always comfy. The patio off the room was nice. It has a table and two chairs. Our friends, who were next door, brought their two chairs over and we had cheese and wine that evening before dinner. They have wired Internet for free. Just ask for it and they will give you a cable for your computer.

The rooms are not right on the ocean, but you are very close. You can see the ocean and you can definitely hear the ocean. With so few people it was like having your own private resort. The pool was clean and nice. There were plenty of places to sit and talk, read or relax.

Out on the beach they had permanent structure thatched umbrellas and reclining chairs. There were plenty since there were so few of us. The beach is long in each direction and black sand. It is hot until you get down to where the waves wash up on it to cool it. NOTE: This is NOT a swimming beach or for small children. This beach has very high surf and very, very strong currents. At low tide you can get in but you have to still be very careful. Watch any children closely or if you are not a good swimmer, be very careful. I found the shore break and the waves hitting to be very relaxing.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The dinner menu was good and everyone enjoyed their meal. We had a bottle of wine that was reasonably priced. I gave the meal and service very good marks.

Breakfast was outside on the terrace of the restaurant. They have many selections and it was good. The omelet was big and filling.

The grounds were well maintained. They have a swim up bar that was not in operation because it is the low season. There is an exercise room

This was a great deal for the price and the fact it was not crowded. The normal rate for the slow season is $140. I wouldn't pay that for it any time of the year. If you can get it for $80 or less, especially in low season when it is not crowded, Las Olas is a very nice place to stay and relax, walk the beach, read, and just enjoy life.

If the place were 80%+ full, I'm not sure how much fun it would be or if there would be enough room in the pools, pool chairs, or on the beach. Just be warned that I think it would be very crowded in the high season (January to April).

Some English is spoken, but most only speak Spanish. Brush up on some of your Spanish when you come. Hope this info helps. Have a great time.

Room Tip: Special deals can be found here ofertasimple.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazerm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

After an extensive web search for a suitable place for our honeymoon in Panama we decided upon the Las Olas Beach resort near David, Panama. The Web site was very nicely presented, the pictures were appealing. I called the hotel for more information and the Receptionist Elicier was very courteous and professional and took his time to tell me about the features of the resort. A follow up email came from him shortly afterwards with a quote. The room rate was $65/ night +10% tax for a double occupancy room. This was a factor in my decision because I needed two rooms since my 14 y.o. daughter was coming also. We stayed at the resort for 6 nights. The beach has dark grey sand, but has a very nice texture. The only downside is that it becomes very hot to walk on as the day progresses. Its a wild beach with 12 to 14 foot breakers so its better to stay at the pool if you are not confident in those conditions. The pool and surrounds is very pleasing architecturally although the pool could be a little larger. Since there were very few other guests this was barely a factor, however this could have been a problem if the hotel was full. The rooms were nice with basic (not split system) air conditioners, and all have a large balcony facing the ocean. Only 5 or 6 TV channels which didn't bother me at all, but my wife would have preferred more selection. There is white ceramic tile wall to wall in the room which is cool. The door to the balcony in my room (room 208) could not be locked, but it didn't seem like theft would be a big problem here so I wasn't too worried. As far as I know there was no in-room safe. The noise of the waves breaking can be annoying to some, but my wife and I found it soothing and relaxing. There is one restaurant "Abigail" and the meals served are excellent, both in quality and diversity. The ambiance of "Abigail" is very fine and attention to detail meticulous. The cost of meals is similar to what you'd expect to pay in your Chillis, Applebee's etc, but the quality is substantially higher and presentation exquisite. We tried most things on the menu during our stay and ate outside of the hotel on only two occasions. There is also a wide range of cocktails available, and the local beer 'Balboa' is available for $1.50 a bottle which is very cheap for a restaurant of this caliber. Adjacent to "Abigail" there is a bar "Azule" which has soft mood lighting and pleasant ambiance. A wide screen TV is often playing loud modern Hispanic music videos. Breakfast is served on the patio in front of "Abigail" and was reasonably priced. A breakfast favorite of mine and my family was the yogurt, fruit and granola parfait. I ordered the 'Cafe Americana' with breakfast every day and was excellent local coffee, for $1.50. One downside is the wait staff do not speak English and appear to lack experience in working with international clientele as they sometimes can be abrupt when asked a question. At my first breakfast I was told in broken English that cash only is accepted which turned out not to be the case. Both my wife and daughter had a professional massage and at $60/hr each was well worth it. The day after we checked in I was told that my daughter would stay for free for the entire visit due to the confusion at check in. We checked in at 10.30 pm after a long and arduous drive from Panama city, and the reception was closed. We were told that the security guard would be giving us the room keys upon arrival, but there was no-one from security to be found. Eventually the hotel owner showed up and checked us in. When we checked out we found out that they were still going to charge for my daughter's room for the entire stay, so the discount offered amounted to nothing. It would have been better if they offered no compensation or a free breakfast would have been more than adequate compensation for the confusion. And finally one other small negative... I asked reception on a few occasions about tennis lesson for my daughter, but this never happened also. Overall the experience was very positive and I would recommend this property if you are looking for a peaceful and romantic getaway. There are no people on the beach trying to hustle their handicrafts, there are no nearby hotspots or nightclub district unless you want to drive 25 minutes to David. I would recommend you fly directly to David rather than drive from Panama city airport as we did and save yourself a lot of stress. Renting a car in David would be a good idea unless you want to stay at the resort for your entire visit.

Room Tip: It is cheaper to rent 2 rooms than a 2 bedrom suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globalroamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

I am sorry to see the previous reviewer because we had a very good experience. This place is away from everything so if you are expecting to be entertained, don't go here. We felt like we had our own private resort. The room was very clean, the staff pleasant, the food very good. Nice break for us. A vacation from our retirement!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

we had an absolutely lovely 7 day stay here. housekeeping is excellent, diligent, friendly & thorough. we left money & other valuables out in the open & nothing was ever missing. the onsite restaurant is beautiful & loaded with wonderful flavors & an extensive menu & the dining areas, both indoor & outdoor are beautifully set. the grounds/landscaping is beautiful & a groundskeeper was working every day. they have a delightful turtle pool loaded with turtles of all sizes. also a bird cage with large colorful parrots. the 3 pools were wonderful but they could have provided some pool toys/floats. the resort is approx 40 minutes from panama's 3rd largest city of david. lots of shopping & eating available there too. we are moving to boquete, panama which is about 75 miles from las olas & when we live there, we will definitely spend some time at las olas resort again. highly recommend. keep in mind it is a black sand beach with lots of driftwood awash but wonderful seating/lounging/umbrellas provided on the beach. we look forward to make this our go-to beach resort when we become residents.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
13.6 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
12.6 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
138 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
13.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Address: Ave. Don Antonio Anguizola | Playa La Barqueta, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 minutes from David, Panama’s second largest city and the Enrique Malek International Airport, Las Olas Resort is at the heart of the 14 mile stretch of beach called Playa La Barqueta and the surrounding 2,000 acre plantation. Some of the best surfers in all of Panama may be found catching waves on this spectacular expanse of beach and its waves giving Las Olas its name, meaning “The Waves”. Las Olas Resort offer 48 rooms all facing uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean. We have standard rooms with two queen beds or one king bed, six junior suites with a separate living area, and two king suites featuring two bedrooms and one living area. Each and every room is steps away from the gorgeous sand and beautiful blue waters of Playa La Barqueta. Each room has a terrace, with lower rooms having beachside access while the upper floors have their own enclosed private terrace.offers excellent shopping, dining, and nightlife. Las Olas Resort features lush gardens, wandering walkways surrounded by the umbrella shaped coverage of almond trees, tall and lovely grape leaves, multicolored crotos, pink bougabilia, hedges of hicacos and a wide variety of palm trees,. All forty-eight rooms are directly facing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular views of the majestic sunsets over Playa La Barqueta. In La Abigail Restaurant guests can enjoy local, organic plantains, pineapples, mangos (in season), papaya and watermelon. We raise our own grass fed beef and lamb, duck, pork, and chicken. Taste fresh coconut water to refresh your body and enjoy tennis, kayaking, surfing, strolling the beach or taking a swim. Good for mind and body, Las Olas Resort provides a quick way to hit your internal reset button.The Bella Donna Convention Center at Las Olas Resort offers meeting and event spaces of a variety of sizes with various services, food and beverage options available. Added to the adjacent covered outdoor space, one could hold a party of 500 or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas Beach David
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing