We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an ideal place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kibbutz de Rita Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 David B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
“an ideal place”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

we were traveling in the area of cerro punta ,boquete and david.
deffenetly this is one of the best places to stay for the night.
the house cousy and clean rita and moty will make you feel at home.
we stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed all, food company and tours of moty.
very recomended.
galia and boaz Dorfman

Room Tip: the suit is recomended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Who would like to explore Panama from firsthand, with an Israeli that leaves and love the place and know it inside out. We strongly recommend Moty from the “Kibutz de Rita"
We are not “mochileros” and we are exploring Panama in the footstep of our young daughter that did it before us. We have come to the area of David - Chiriqui and were recommended to stay at “Kibutz de Rita” and engage Moty to be our tour guide.
At the beginning we were a bit concerned.
Both of us are professional in the hospitality industry with a worldwide experience in hotels management and tour guiding, we are spoiled and accustomed to high class hotels and exotic places.
At “Kibutz de Rita" we have found Luxurious suite, with all the necessary amenities, a warm place with a home feeling.
Rita cooks great local dishes with emphasis on local Panamanian food, using the ingredients of fruits and vegetables that we were picking up in the field, obviously with the permition of the framers on a journey that we had with Moty during the day. This is an excellent way to explore Panama through the food and special cooking, it can be considered as a gastronomy trip.
To sum-up if you are passing in this area you should not skip meeting these 2 wonderful people Rita & Moty, very warm and helpful couple!
Staying at their home and touring together with Moty, that is what made our trip memorable adventure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here after we spent some time in Boquette. This is a clean family run B&B. The owners are very welcoming and make every effort to be helpful. We only stayed one night but wished we would have allowed more time for a private tour of the area with Moti. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There are many animals on the property including birds, dogs and a few monkeys. One is really special. We stayed in the front room. From this room you can hear the birds early in the morning. This was it a problem for us, we were up early. Moti offered to take us to the bus station the following morning. I can't say enough nice things about the owners. They make you feel right at home from the beginning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Rita. Nice comfortable place, great breakfast and friendly pets. She has a few monkeys and birds on her property a little jungle zoo. Overall a nice quiet comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlink77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were passing through David and planned to stay with Moty and Rita for just a day or two. We ended up staying for a wholw week.
Many people pass through David without stopping. It is indeed a rather ordinary place, but it is recommended to stay there because it is a great base for touring many amazing locations. And this is the advantage of staying with Moty and Rita - Moty will take you on his SUV to places you wouldn't get to by yourself, and show you the great many layers of Panama, and it's beauty.
As a B&B, the place is great. The feeling is very cosy, as it is people's home, and they take great care of you - Rita cooks great food and Moty will provide excellent coffee whenever you ask for it. The rooms are good, beds are comfy, and there is always hot water (not a trivial thing in Panama hostels).
To conclude, this is a very special place with very special people. Without them, we surely wouldn't get to experience Panama in such a wonderful way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itaybn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA and Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are traveling to the David-Chiriqui area of Panama, this is the place to stay! The guest house is warm and inviting and Rita is simply an AMAZING cook! We came as a family (2 adults and 4 kids) and had the most wonderful time. (We are Orthodox Jews and the food is certifiably kosher ) Aside from the rooms and the food, Moti (the other half of the de Rita ownership) is an excellent tour guide. We stayed in the area for three days and each day was jam packed with fun and interesting experiences. Moti has developed a way of showing you Panama that no other tour guide can. He is well versed in the culture as well as the history of the land, and each day is an introduction to something new. On our first day, we went swimming in a local waterfall ---the whole area was ours, as well as two or three other local boys. Our next two days were filled with wonders. Moti took us to a local sugar cane plantation where we saw the whole process of making sugar out of the cane -- from harvest to wringing out the sap to boiling the sugary water to the creation of sugar patties. Then a visit to a mom and pop type coffee plant where the smell of the freshly ground coffee lingers in the air 24/7. Then a visit to the beautiful area of Boquette and a tour of the surrounding lands and sights: from small coffee houses to luxurious spas and hotels. We were privvy to a pineapple packing line: from harvest to the packing. And a cigar factory where my children learned that even the rolling of the leaves is an art. In between were stories and ancedotes -- Moti is a joy to travel with. He is able to tailor your tour to meet your interests and both Rita and himself are warm and friendly. I highly recommend staying with them or at least taking a day or two to tour with him. Definite 10 all around !!!

I will add, however, that the place usually does not take couples with small children. The grounds are filled with animals that Moti and Rita have saved over the years and are aware of the possible bad results when children and animals meet. They have tried to make their establishment as welcoming as possible, but also want to keep peace, health, happiness and quiet for all. If you are traveling with young children, I would recommend using Moti as your guide, but staying somewhere else. He will come pick you up from wherever you are !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but if you can get the "suite" -- it is simply a pampering experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykonash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staff at this B&B are just great. They are committed to creating an excellent experience. Food and service are outstanding, as is their behavior as hosts. Consequently, friends and guests are interesting, friendly and comfortable. Flaws: the absence of electrical outlets (at least in my room) required an extension cord; there were no lights other than the overhead (bedside lamps had nowhere to plug in); and the (shared) bathroom lacked a lock. Although it's distant from any other facilities or the centre of town, hosts can usually provide transportation, and taxis are available. (Remember, navigation is by landmarks, not by street addresses!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near David
0.5 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
12.6 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#6 of 13 in David
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz de Rita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz de Rita Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kibbutz de Rita Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calle 2da, 7 | Urb. Santa Lucia, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibbutz de Rita is the premier bed and breakfast in the province of Chiriqui. The hostel is located near the David Airport, Very near Costa Rica boarder Your hosts, Rita and Moti, have several comfy rooms in different price ranges. Kibbutz de Rita always strives to provide a terrific vacation, and can arrange customized day tours to Boquete and other areas all over Panama. Looking for activities? Rita and Moti can arrange tours including: whale watching, fishing, nature and wildlife excursions, coffee farms, horseback riding, Baru - the Volcano mountain , cigar making, Native Americans and local people, bathing in streams and sea, agriculture, primitive and advanced agricultural enterprises, treks, beaches, jungles, rodeos and much more. Kibbutz de Rita is world known for good food and hospitality. Moti and Rita speak many languages include: Hebrew, English and Spanish and always try to make your stay memorable. Read our guest recommendations ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kibbutz De Rita Bed And Breakfast Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing