We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little oasis”
Review of Bambu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bambu Hostel
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in David
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Bambu hostel is a fantastic stopover if you are travelling through Panama. It is very easy to stay longer than originally planned, as we ended up doing. The outdoor kitchen and garden with a great swimming pool are an awesome place to chill out for a day or two and there is a variety of sleeping options to suit all different travellers.

The staff is great, especially the owner, Greg, who was happy to chat about anything from travel advice (he really knows his stuff) to Music. If there is something he can do to help you out, he will!

All of this for very reasonable prices for accommodation (from $11) and dollar beers at the tiki bar next to the pool!

I highly recommend breaking up your travels through Panama with a stay at Hostel Bambu!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisgeorge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Bambu Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

This place is ok for a hostel and they do have different accommodation options. We stayed in the bunk beds in the wooden hut. The bunk beds were unstable and the moskito nets were dirty and with holes. The common areas were ok and the people were friendly. The kitchen looked alright and the swimming pool is a plus. Good place to have a beer but maybe next time we would look somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gabesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place rocked, we got exactly what we reserved, the staff was very professional and Greg the host is a great person to chat with. They gave us plenty of information in regards to sites to see, in the area and as a result had several fun filled excursions in the surrounding areas. Yes there were rooster, and the shower wasn't very hot, but for the price you pay and the helpfulness of the staff make this so worth it. Oh yeah dollar beers, awesome pool, and the cute little coati hanging out by the pool definitely made it worth every penny. We will definitely stay here again our next trip to Panama.

Room Tip: Little difficult to find its actually on 8th street.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We made one of our few mistakes staying here. The pool is filthy as is the kitchen and the shred bathrooms. The receptionist an English girl was not overly helpful and made you feel as though you were interrupting her every time you asked a question. Location is not central, and we were just happy to get out of there before catching something! Thankfully the aircon worked well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NigelJulie1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agent421, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

First of all as hard as we try we can never be the perfect place for every person.

The week in question we had a large group of messy students in the house coupled with 4 days of heavy wind and rain which blew leaves and branches into the pool and the pool pump chose to break at the same time so yes the pool was dirty and that has been fixed, but a greater point is that this is a hostel, and you have to have a different set of expectations as such. We take cleaning very seriously and your review prompted an inspection during which we found that we needed to do a deep cleaning on top of the daily cleaning...so we did that.

But here is the bottom line we are a very well loved Hostel and #1 in our market, David which was really off the tourist map when we started has now become more of a destination and largely because its worth coming to Bambu Hostel to see what we have created which is really a little piece of paradise in an urban setting. Our outdoor communal kitchen is professional quality, 10 burners and tons of marble top counters and gear, our pool is once again sparkling and our grounds are filled with flowers and fruit trees and birds..come take a look!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we continued on the next morning. We were provided with lots of different options for rooms, all of which were a great price and value for your money. We ended up staying in a private with shared bathrooms. The room itself wasn't much, and was a bit hot, but the hostel made up for it with a great welcoming atmosphere and a decent sized pool to cool down in!

The kitchen had just been renovated i believe, and although we didn't have a chance to use it, it looked amazing! Outfitted with commercial kitchen supplies, the outside kitchen was definitely one of the best we've seen thus far.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a window or air conditioning.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stopped here overnight just to lay our heads before continuing on our bus journey the next day. The host had the funniest sense of humor. The rooms were big, clean and quiet. The pool area was really nice to have in this hot area. Communal kitchen was nice, and they even had a little gym area outside, which was cute but completely useless as the equipment was ancient. This place wasn't too far away from the Grocery Store, and the area felt really safe.

Room Tip: Private Room just outside the tv room, across from the kitchen was spacious, and close enough to the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

For $11 bucks with free swimming pool and Hot water shower and big big kitchen, is this worth? YES, definitely good value of money.
Private room with share bathroom is another good option because it's cheap and still including everything so it's similar to perfect private room. Why not choose it?

That's why I'm so happy to be here. Manager, staffs are all so friendly and kindness.

Room Tip: If you can't stand for the heat, why don't you choose Dorm with Aircon? It's Wonderful...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNgaNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
12.5 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
1.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#8 of 13 in David
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
1.1 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#5 of 13 in David
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Hostel

Address: Calle Virgincita | San Mateo neighborhood, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in David
Price Range: $10 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bambu Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A BACKPACKERS' HOSTEL, NOT A HOTEL OR AN INN OR LODGE We just completed a large out door kitchen with ten burners and loads of counter space all you need to create a gourmet creation (or a backpackers bowl of pasta) in the comfort and beauty of our flowing garden and pool.. When you are done following all the other tourists to Boquete and Bocas; come spend some time in David. This is real Panama. You will be interacting with Panamanians rather than always being around other tourists. This is a chance to stay at a super cool hostel and explore a real Panamanian city. Dance all night long to Salsa, Merengue, Rock and Reggaeton.. Great restaurants and shopping; and David is cheap!!!! 1/2 The price of Costa Rica. How about a $1 beer in a bar? David is a safe and friendly city too. Get your Latino on in David! New Jungle House in Garden at Bambu Hostel see photo below, built on stilts from native wood and bambu walls with tin roof, sleeps 10 backpackers and overlooks the sparkling pool, only dorm of its kind in Panama! Lonely Planet Recommended International Backpackers Hostel with a Pool and Deluxe tropical gardens in David Panama.We welcome Backpackers and International Travelers from all corners of the world. David is fun! It has everything that a weary traveler could need to recharge the batteries, fine dining, casinos, movie theaters, inexpensive shopping, nightclubs and discos, festivals, and, within 45 minutes, awesome mountains, Caldera Hot Springs, Playa Barqueta and Costa Rica. Come stay with us at Bambu, relax in the garden, swing on a hammock with a cold beer at the Bambu pool bar, dip in the pool and watch the tropical birds flying in the backyard. We have very few rules here, just come with a good attitude and have fun, but just remember this: If you think that you are going to have it all for a low price, think again. When you choose to stay at a hostel you need to accept the unwritten (until now) agreement of hosteling. The agreement is that there is a trade off. The deal says that you will receive a awesome travelers' community with lots of amenities, in our case, a clean luxury swimming pool, wifi, gardens with hammocks, amazing outdoor kitchen, laundry service, travel services, computers with skype, phone calls, books, games, a pool side bar with $1 beer, excellent and cheap seafood meals, etc . What you might not get is 100% quietness, privacy and comfort. That is the trade off at most backpacker hostels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel David
Bambu Hostel Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing