We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
109
75
27
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
75
27
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room tree house outdoor kitchen the owner the bus nice atmosphere swimming pool cold beer minute walk thanks guys nice pool hot springs keep an eye quick stop dorm beds long hot day huge supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 236 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We made one of our few mistakes staying here. The pool is filthy as is the kitchen and the shred bathrooms. The receptionist an English girl was not overly helpful and made you feel as though you were interrupting her every time you asked a question. Location is not central, and we were just happy to get out of there before catching something! Thankfully the aircon worked well.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NigelJulie1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agent421, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

First of all as hard as we try we can never be the perfect place for every person.

The week in question we had a large group of messy students in the house coupled with 4 days of heavy wind and rain which blew leaves and branches into the pool and the pool pump chose to break at the same time so yes the pool was dirty and that has been fixed, but a greater point is that this is a hostel, and you have to have a different set of expectations as such. We take cleaning very seriously and your review prompted an inspection during which we found that we needed to do a deep cleaning on top of the daily cleaning...so we did that.

But here is the bottom line we are a very well loved Hostel and #1 in our market, David which was really off the tourist map when we started has now become more of a destination and largely because its worth coming to Bambu Hostel to see what we have created which is really a little piece of paradise in an urban setting. Our outdoor communal kitchen is professional quality, 10 burners and tons of marble top counters and gear, our pool is once again sparkling and our grounds are filled with flowers and fruit trees and birds..come take a look!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we continued on the next morning. We were provided with lots of different options for rooms, all of which were a great price and value for your money. We ended up staying in a private with shared bathrooms. The room itself wasn't much, and was a bit hot, but the hostel made up for it with a great welcoming atmosphere and a decent sized pool to cool down in!

The kitchen had just been renovated i believe, and although we didn't have a chance to use it, it looked amazing! Outfitted with commercial kitchen supplies, the outside kitchen was definitely one of the best we've seen thus far.

Room tip: Pick a room with a window or air conditioning.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharissa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stopped here overnight just to lay our heads before continuing on our bus journey the next day. The host had the funniest sense of humor. The rooms were big, clean and quiet. The pool area was really nice to have in this hot area. Communal kitchen was nice, and they even had a little gym area outside, which was cute but completely useless as the equipment was ancient. This place wasn't too far away from the Grocery Store, and the area felt really safe.

Room tip: Private Room just outside the tv room, across from the kitchen was spacious, and close enough to the showers and toilets.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

For $11 bucks with free swimming pool and Hot water shower and big big kitchen, is this worth? YES, definitely good value of money.
Private room with share bathroom is another good option because it's cheap and still including everything so it's similar to perfect private room. Why not choose it?

That's why I'm so happy to be here. Manager, staffs are all so friendly and kindness.

Room tip: If you can't stand for the heat, why don't you choose Dorm with Aircon? It's Wonderful. and Private room with share bathroom is another choice for private thing.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNgaNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

we stayed here one night, and I'm glad it was only one night. We had a room right next to reception which was a little noisy, but nothing compared to the late night cock fighting going on outside.

Nothing about the hostel seemed especially safe. The door to our room had clearly been kicked open at some point so didn't seem very secure. When we went to bed we pushed a bedside cabinet behind the door for peace of mind, and I'm very glad we did!! About 1am somebody opened the door and came in. Another guest had been given a key to our "private room". The complete lack of interest in me in my PJs shouting at a random guy who entered our room, astounded me. The lad who was working at the front desk when we arrived was watching TV and could not have cared less that an old man had just come in to the 'private room' that 2 girls were staying in. That was really disappointing. We mentioned it the next morning to some of the other guys who worked on reception, who had a much more sympathetic view.

The electrics looked positively dangerous. We opted for cold showers and no air con as the risk of electrocution seemed high.

On the plus side, the hostel has a nice swimming pool / bar / kitchen area.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panama14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews