We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel Ever”
Review of Bambu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bambu Hostel
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in David
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Hostel Ever”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have only stayed at a few hostels, and Bambu is the best one by far. Great amenities: pool, bar, kitchen, a/c in the room, free internet, 24-hour reception - everything you need. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Greg (owner), Peter (manager), and Michael (jack-of-all-trades) went out of their way to ensure that I had a pleasant stay. Special thanks to Michael who would drop everything to help me out if I had a question or needed assistance. The buildings and grounds are clean and orderly, and I felt comfortable and safe. If you need to stay in David, this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pdxbob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    67
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
4
72
73
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went to David to renew our visa, stayed in Bambu hostel two nights. The staff helped us in many ways even late and early.
We found a nice atmosphere and good accommodation with pool for reasonable price.
The place is not too big so you can meet the owners and meet other travelers.
If we need to come back in David we`ll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CasaMoabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really great place to stop and stay for the night or a few days. The staff is friendly and nice and the hostel is clean and has just about everything you would need. My only complaint would be that the kitchen can be a bit difficult to work with at times. Prices for food are very cheap in David so this is not a huge deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

While the pictures for the hostel look good, it's too far from the town centre, had a pool that didn't look clean enough to swim in, and had staff that weren't all that attentive. David as a whole didn't have that much too offer; I'd only recommend staying if you have to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank micahrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

an oasis in ridiculously hot climate of David. Great little bar, cheap jaeger, and they even knew about our restaurant 40 km away. Got to love this place. $32 for a private room with bath. Compare that to $125 at Gran National. Really friendly staff. Ill be back to have a beer here any time im in David.

Room Tip: We stayed in private ensuite (with bath) they also have hammocks in the Jungle House which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rehmeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms and washrooms were clean. The gardens & pool area were fabulous! It was a little bit of a walk to get to town (5/10 min. depending on your speed), but that was a good thing because it made this hostel and nice quiet place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NolaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Bambu really has no pretensions. It is a hostel - a cheapish place to stay with good facilities, lovely pool and garden and convivial staff. I only stayed one night with my partner. The first room we were allocated was a good sized double room, but the air con was feeble. Being off season there was no problem moving us to a smaller double room with much better air con.

I think it's value for money - cannot say anything about the dorms tho, as we did not use them

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank whizzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfall Hostel
Waterfall Hostel
#6 of 14 in David
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Hostel

Property: Bambu Hostel
Address: Calle Virgincita | San Mateo neighborhood, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bambu Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A BACKPACKERS' HOSTEL, NOT A HOTEL OR AN INN OR LODGE We just completed a large out door kitchen with ten burners and loads of counter space all you need to create a gourmet creation (or a backpackers bowl of pasta) in the comfort and beauty of our flowing garden and pool.. When you are done following all the other tourists to Boquete and Bocas; come spend some time in David. This is real Panama. You will be interacting with Panamanians rather than always being around other tourists. This is a chance to stay at a super cool hostel and explore a real Panamanian city. Dance all night long to Salsa, Merengue, Rock and Reggaeton.. Great restaurants and shopping; and David is cheap!!!! 1/2 The price of Costa Rica. How about a $1 beer in a bar? David is a safe and friendly city too. Get your Latino on in David! New Jungle House in Garden at Bambu Hostel see photo below, built on stilts from native wood and bambu walls with tin roof, sleeps 10 backpackers and overlooks the sparkling pool, only dorm of its kind in Panama! Lonely Planet Recommended International Backpackers Hostel with a Pool and Deluxe tropical gardens in David Panama.We welcome Backpackers and International Travelers from all corners of the world. David is fun! It has everything that a weary traveler could need to recharge the batteries, fine dining, casinos, movie theaters, inexpensive shopping, nightclubs and discos, festivals, and, within 45 minutes, awesome mountains, Caldera Hot Springs, Playa Barqueta and Costa Rica. Come stay with us at Bambu, relax in the garden, swing on a hammock with a cold beer at the Bambu pool bar, dip in the pool and watch the tropical birds flying in the backyard. We have very few rules here, just come with a good attitude and have fun, but just remember this: If you think that you are going to have it all for a low price, think again. When you choose to stay at a hostel you need to accept the unwritten (until now) agreement of hosteling. The agreement is that there is a trade off. The deal says that you will receive a awesome travelers' community with lots of amenities, in our case, a clean luxury swimming pool, wifi, gardens with hammocks, amazing outdoor kitchen, laundry service, travel services, computers with skype, phone calls, books, games, a pool side bar with $1 beer, excellent and cheap seafood meals, etc . What you might not get is 100% quietness, privacy and comfort. That is the trade off at most backpacker hostels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel David
Bambu Hostel Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing