We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool, Great Value, Great People”
Review of Bambu Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bambu Hostel
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in David
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

an oasis in ridiculously hot climate of David. Great little bar, cheap jaeger, and they even knew about our restaurant 40 km away. Got to love this place. $32 for a private room with bath. Compare that to $125 at Gran National. Really friendly staff. Ill be back to have a beer here any time im in David.

Room Tip: We stayed in private ensuite (with bath) they also have hammocks in the Jungle House which would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rehmeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms and washrooms were clean. The gardens & pool area were fabulous! It was a little bit of a walk to get to town (5/10 min. depending on your speed), but that was a good thing because it made this hostel and nice quiet place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NolaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Bambu really has no pretensions. It is a hostel - a cheapish place to stay with good facilities, lovely pool and garden and convivial staff. I only stayed one night with my partner. The first room we were allocated was a good sized double room, but the air con was feeble. Being off season there was no problem moving us to a smaller double room with much better air con.

I think it's value for money - cannot say anything about the dorms tho, as we did not use them

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank whizzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We only spent a night here on the way to Boquete, but would've spent longer here if we'd had time. The pool, poolside bar and gardens (where breakfast is served) makes it feel more like a hotel - great value for money. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed - the right balance between social but quiet enough to get some sleep. There's loads of info about local tours available and the owner and staff were very helpful. David seems to be generally overlooked as a tourist attraction but there seemed to be plenty to do. Our room (double ensuite) was very clean with air-con.
There are lots of restaurants (Italian, Chinese etc as well as Panamanian) within walking distance and we felt very safe wandering around at night. If you're arriving by bus it's about 10 minutes by taxi from the bus station in a residential area.

Room Tip: If you're getting a dorm bed, the treehouse looks good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank adam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had a wonderful time at the Bambu Hostel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure that I enjoyed my stay and got to know the best the area has to offer. Of course, it is not a five-star hotel, it is a traveler's hostel, but it more than makes up for it with warmth, atmosphere and service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ndghnykidt7ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was traveling with my father in law and brother in law on a working vacation. We were moving some earth around on a farm on Via Volcan when our lodging reservations fell through without warning at the last minute during Semana Santa (Easter week). We had to wait a couple days before a room here opened, but the wait was worth it.
For a budget price the three of us were able to share a room with an air conditioner, make use of an adequately equipped kitchen, and have laundry facilities for $5 a load. Plus the Hostel Bar and pool--definitely a great deal.
But the best thing about it was the interaction with other travelers. It's been a while since I have hit the trail and not worry about finding a place where we can fit all our children.

Room Tip: Get a private room with an air conditioner. In the hot city of David, it is worth the extra couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DadOf9Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I read about this hostel in a guidebook on my way from Costa Rica to David...went there last minute, wish I didn't.

Worst hostel I stayed in Central/South America...

1 small standing fan in the room for 10 beds. It was hot and humid.

The room is in a wooden shack that if anyone walks up the stairs or in the room, the whole room shakes. If you like to shake while you sleep, go here.

The kitchen is dirty, cupboards look like they havent been cleaned since the place was made...bad lighting everywhere.

Yeah they have a swimming pool...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mazzidinapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
12.4 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.8 mi away
Hotel Los Rivera
Hotel Los Rivera
#9 of 13 in David
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#11 of 13 in David
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0 mi away
Waterfall Hostel
Waterfall Hostel
#7 of 15 in David
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Hostel

Address: Calle Virgincita | San Mateo neighborhood, David 0426, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in David
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bambu Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE A BACKPACKERS' HOSTEL, NOT A HOTEL OR AN INN OR LODGE We just completed a large out door kitchen with ten burners and loads of counter space all you need to create a gourmet creation (or a backpackers bowl of pasta) in the comfort and beauty of our flowing garden and pool.. When you are done following all the other tourists to Boquete and Bocas; come spend some time in David. This is real Panama. You will be interacting with Panamanians rather than always being around other tourists. This is a chance to stay at a super cool hostel and explore a real Panamanian city. Dance all night long to Salsa, Merengue, Rock and Reggaeton.. Great restaurants and shopping; and David is cheap!!!! 1/2 The price of Costa Rica. How about a $1 beer in a bar? David is a safe and friendly city too. Get your Latino on in David! New Jungle House in Garden at Bambu Hostel see photo below, built on stilts from native wood and bambu walls with tin roof, sleeps 10 backpackers and overlooks the sparkling pool, only dorm of its kind in Panama! Lonely Planet Recommended International Backpackers Hostel with a Pool and Deluxe tropical gardens in David Panama.We welcome Backpackers and International Travelers from all corners of the world. David is fun! It has everything that a weary traveler could need to recharge the batteries, fine dining, casinos, movie theaters, inexpensive shopping, nightclubs and discos, festivals, and, within 45 minutes, awesome mountains, Caldera Hot Springs, Playa Barqueta and Costa Rica. Come stay with us at Bambu, relax in the garden, swing on a hammock with a cold beer at the Bambu pool bar, dip in the pool and watch the tropical birds flying in the backyard. We have very few rules here, just come with a good attitude and have fun, but just remember this: If you think that you are going to have it all for a low price, think again. When you choose to stay at a hostel you need to accept the unwritten (until now) agreement of hosteling. The agreement is that there is a trade off. The deal says that you will receive a awesome travelers' community with lots of amenities, in our case, a clean luxury swimming pool, wifi, gardens with hammocks, amazing outdoor kitchen, laundry service, travel services, computers with skype, phone calls, books, games, a pool side bar with $1 beer, excellent and cheap seafood meals, etc . What you might not get is 100% quietness, privacy and comfort. That is the trade off at most backpacker hostels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel David
Bambu Hostel Panama/David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing