We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful 6 days of peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contadora Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Contadora Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful 6 days of peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on the island from 1 till 7, May 2013. It was a very pleasant stay really. The island is beautiful, the sea is clear and very warm. The beaches are good, white sand, nice surrounding. There are more civilised beaches, like near Villa Romantico with sunbeds and bar nearby. We preferred plya Larga and the Nudist beach (though you do not have to be nude there). There was nothing there exept sand and trees, but no people at all and amaising view. You can find a couple of restourants on the island, the food is good, fresh fish. Contadora Island Inn is a nice place to stay. Clean and quiet, not big. It has no direct access to the beach, you may want to rent a golf cart for tansportation. The island is small but it is not flat and it might be hard to walk uphill/downhill in a hot afternoon. Tony, the manager, is great! Very helpful. He really cares for guests and this place. I definitly recommend this B&B.
If you are planning a trip to Contadora you probably should keep in mind the following: it is not a 5 star super resort, it's a simple island where people can just enjoy nature and peace. Water is a problem. Hot water does not exsist, you will have kind of warm, but since it's very hot, it's ok. No big varaity at breakfast. You will have eggs every morning plus fruits, toasts, jam, juice. I brought some cheese with me as I cannot have eggs 6 mornings in a row.
It was a very nice, very relaxing vacations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    74
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
48
120
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tony was more than welcoming! He picked us up straight from the ferry and then proceeded to take us on a tour of the island in his golf cart! Tony has a fun and easy going attitude and he is a friend you want to have on this tiny little island. He had suggestions for snorkeling to the best beaches to the best food and bars in town. You are able to rent golf carts from Tony for a very reasonable price. All in all the all of the fellow travelers at the Contadora Island Inn were practically like family by the end of our stay (which was about 24 hours). This was a memorable experience and I would highly suggest it to any of my friends or family visiting Panama.

Room Tip: Tony is updating all of the rooms in May 2013 (I think..) but all the rooms were spacious and had A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGreen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We flew into Isla Contadora thru AirPanama. I contacted Tony the day before and he stated he would be there to pick us up. We arrived 20 minutes early and Tony arrived saying he heard the plane come in. Tony gave us a tour of the island on the way to the Inn.

I recommend renting a golf cart for $50. There are a few markets and resturaunts. We had the Inn to ourselves. Tony was a knowledgable and great host.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This has been the nicest place that we've stayed at on our trip . Not because of the views or rooms but because Tony made us feel like family . He took us on a tour of the island and even picked us up 1 hour early when he heard our plane arriving . I have nothing but good things to say about this place we even rented a golf cart from them and it was $30 cheaper than Amy other place on the island our room was clean and they even put a queen size bed in our room to accommodate our height . I'm 6"2 and the bed was perfect . I also loved how friendly the staff was to us they would do anything to make your stay enjoyable . I would definitely go there again it's top notch thanks again Tony your the Man ...

Room Tip: The rooms are all good and one of them has a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Inn has comfortable, clean rooms and a quiet location. Unfortunately, it's further from the beaches than we anticipated. This meant a 15 minute walk to the water. Speaking of water, it is not drinkable on the island. The Inn does not provide potable water for free or sale, so that's another hike. You can rent golf carts to get around at $50 per day. Tony the caretaker would often be headed out on his cart, but never offer lifts. He was also one of the most pessimistic people I've ever met. Although there is a stove present in the kitchen, you are not permitted to cook.

Room Tip: On a future trip I would choose a place on a beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent five days here and enjoyed it immensely. From the moment Tony picks you up from the beach, he makes sure that your questions are answered and goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tony was a highlight of our trip! Clean rooms and a filling breakfast each morning! We love Contadora Island Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writergirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I had stayed here 7 years ago, and I was delighted to see it was still as wonderful as it was 7 years ago. Tony, our host, was still there as well! This is a delightful B&B, very chill, tranquila, and relaxing.....I would highly recommend renting a golf cart from Tony - you receive a special guest rate at 1/2 the price of anywhere else on the island......you can zip all over the island, check out the various beaches, etc.....the beds are comfortable, A/c is nice and cold, the rooms are clean, bathroom nice...and .a wonderful breakfast of 2 eggs, toast, sausage, OJ, coffee, and fresh fruit awaits you every morning. It is always fun getting to know the other guests as well! There is a bookcase full of books to read and DVD's to watch if you choose....A nice bonus is Tony will meet you at the ferry or the little airport to take you and your luggage to the Inn, He will also take you back down on the sad day you have to depart this little piece of paradise!
We will be back soon and not wait another 7 years to return!! Thanks for everything Tony!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saninpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contadora Island
0.0 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Contadora Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Gerald's
B&B Gerald's
#5 of 6 in Contadora Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#4 of 6 in Contadora Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perla Real By the Sea Hotel
Perla Real By the Sea Hotel
#2 of 3 in Contadora Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contadora Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contadora Island Inn

Property: Contadora Island Inn
Address: Archipelago de Las Perlas | Beachfront, Panama Province, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Contadora Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Contadora Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contadora Island Hotel Contadora Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing