We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contadora Island Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mar & Oro(Contadora Island)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
176
76
17
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
76
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrent a golf cartother guestseggspanama citybed and breakfaststayed two nightscasa tortugatonybeachesislandferrycontadoramayorhousekeeper
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 276 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was on a weekend jaunt to the island of Contadora. I had zero expectations, so was delighted to find cool people and a nice, manageable island vibe going on. Contadora Island Inn was the main reason I can write this review and the manager, Tony, is a real gem. He's got some great stories and has kinda seen it all. He knows the island and the island knows him (if you know what I mean).

All I can say is stay here for the clean, comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and the chillaxingness of the place. They didn't know me, but treated me like I was an old buddy back for a visit. And, yes, I will return to this place. I couldn't believe how rich in biodiversity it is. We went fishing with Pedro and saw literally hundreds of dolphins on a feeding frenzy. Hundreds of pelicans and we even caught a mackerel. The beaches are white powder and you have the place to yourself. Can't say enough good things here. Just go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srynecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was our second visit at this B&B in 2 years. The new owner was incredibly attentive and helpful. The price was great. Breakfast was delicious. Contadora Is. is a dream getaway place and is topped off with this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent four incredibly relaxing, beautiful days on Contadora. Contadora Island Inn itself is unpretentious and comfortable. The Ritz it's not, but it was perfect for a low-key getaway. Likewise, you have to manage your expectations for the island itself -- there's very little infrastructure for visitors. That said, everyone was incredibly friendly, and it felt like we were part of a community.

Tony, who runs the inn, is practically the mayor of the island and was super-helpful in showing us around and arranging anything we asked for. He's also a great storyteller!

The one frustration was that we weren't able to make meals in the B&B, something that wasn't explained until we, and others, already had. I understand the owners' reason for not wanting us to, but given the quality (and cost) of the dining options on Contadora, it's unfortunate.

Room Tip: The Pelicano room, in back, had the benefit of being a bit farther from kitchen noise, and it was lovely to sit out on the deck.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed over Easter. Service was great and met our expectations of cleanliness, price and room.

Would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diplomaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a lovely island and lovely place to stay. We were met by Tony off the ferry and after showing us how to drive the golf cart :-), we did a little tour of this little island. The Inn is lovely...nicely decorated and comfortable. You get to meet the other guests which is also nice. If you want, they have DVDs and play station in central area plus a few books to borrow.

We just walked everywhere on the island (helped to wear off the beer calories:-)
The beaches are lovely but you can really only get to 5 of them, not 11 (you can't walk through the private property in order to get to the public beaches).

Breakfasts were fine but we got a little tired of eggs every single day...we would recommend more variety...especially for guests staying more than a few days.
Yoghurt, granola and fruit or pancakes (we had one day only out of 7) or French Toast would be nice.

Do NOT count on sleeping in here...the house does not hide sound and breakfast set up sounds like dishes and cutlery are being thrown around and the kitchen chairs moved continually...in fact, our theory was that the kitchen help wanted us to eat as early as possible. This was a bit annoying as on holidays, it is nice to sleep in a bit if you can.

The only mix-up we had was that we thought we could use the main kitchen to cook but we were told No the second night. Luckily, we were able to improvise with our 'kitchentte - fridge and microwave only'. When we are on holidays, we prefer to cook because it is enjoyable and we can ensure nutritional/health needs are met.

Room Tip: We had the Frigate room which was nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews