We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream getaway place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Contadora Island Inn
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A dream getaway place!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was our second visit at this B&B in 2 years. The new owner was incredibly attentive and helpful. The price was great. Breakfast was delicious. Contadora Is. is a dream getaway place and is topped off with this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    74
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
48
120
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent four incredibly relaxing, beautiful days on Contadora. Contadora Island Inn itself is unpretentious and comfortable. The Ritz it's not, but it was perfect for a low-key getaway. Likewise, you have to manage your expectations for the island itself -- there's very little infrastructure for visitors. That said, everyone was incredibly friendly, and it felt like we were part of a community.

Tony, who runs the inn, is practically the mayor of the island and was super-helpful in showing us around and arranging anything we asked for. He's also a great storyteller!

The one frustration was that we weren't able to make meals in the B&B, something that wasn't explained until we, and others, already had. I understand the owners' reason for not wanting us to, but given the quality (and cost) of the dining options on Contadora, it's unfortunate.

Room Tip: The Pelicano room, in back, had the benefit of being a bit farther from kitchen noise, and it was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed over Easter. Service was great and met our expectations of cleanliness, price and room.

Would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diplomaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a lovely island and lovely place to stay. We were met by Tony off the ferry and after showing us how to drive the golf cart :-), we did a little tour of this little island. The Inn is lovely...nicely decorated and comfortable. You get to meet the other guests which is also nice. If you want, they have DVDs and play station in central area plus a few books to borrow.

We just walked everywhere on the island (helped to wear off the beer calories:-)
The beaches are lovely but you can really only get to 5 of them, not 11 (you can't walk through the private property in order to get to the public beaches).

Breakfasts were fine but we got a little tired of eggs every single day...we would recommend more variety...especially for guests staying more than a few days.
Yoghurt, granola and fruit or pancakes (we had one day only out of 7) or French Toast would be nice.

Do NOT count on sleeping in here...the house does not hide sound and breakfast set up sounds like dishes and cutlery are being thrown around and the kitchen chairs moved continually...in fact, our theory was that the kitchen help wanted us to eat as early as possible. This was a bit annoying as on holidays, it is nice to sleep in a bit if you can.

The only mix-up we had was that we thought we could use the main kitchen to cook but we were told No the second night. Luckily, we were able to improvise with our 'kitchentte - fridge and microwave only'. When we are on holidays, we prefer to cook because it is enjoyable and we can ensure nutritional/health needs are met.

Room Tip: We had the Frigate room which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights for a beach vacation before taking a Panama tour. A nice relaxing place on a relaxing island. There is not much to add to the other favorable reviews

The island is small and for the young and those in good shape it would be possible to walk everywhere, but everything is not in easy walking distance. One restaurant is in easy walking distance (at the Villa Romantica Hotel). We ate there each night. The food is good, though the service is rather slow and the menu is not in English. (After eating there a couple of times, we discovered that one of the waitresses did speak English.) They will also come and pick you up. Waling seemed safe day or night and most places where are street lights. The beach at the Villa Romantica is thus also in easy walking distance, but I don’t think it is one of the best beaches on the Island. If the manager is around he is often willing to drive you wherever you want to go. Also, golf carts can be rented for $45 a day for residents.

One would go to Isla Contadora for relaxation and for the ocean and the beaches (not for night-life) The difference between high tide and low tide is quite great, so the beach that is ideal at low tide may not be the same one that is ideal at high tide. I didn’t find any particularly good snorkeling from the beaches, but there is a snorkeling boat trip available each day. Unfortunately the boat was already full for the day we wanted to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Contadora Island Inn is a very pleasant BandB with a beach house feel even though it is not right on the beach. It is a very relaxing place on this beautiful island. Tony is a terrific host who is very helpful. The Island is small enough to walk everywhere. Food isn't particularly good on the island but the beauty of the beaches makes up for it. Just be prepared that it is not the US and so not everything works perfectly all the time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriettaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a delightful Panamenian spot. My husband, daughter and I were welcome at the beach by Toni, who is just what you need when you arrive at a new place. He was welcoming and very helpful, all 3 of us enjoyed the instant golf car tour you get at arrival on the island.
If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing time, Contadora Island is what you need, and the Contadora Island Inn the place to stay. The rooms are clean and have everything you need for a short stay, a mini-refri loaded with sodas, wine, beer, chocolate bars, all at a reasonable price.($1.50 per soda), confortable beds and a deck with patio furniture just for you. You feel as if you were at your own small beach home. Isolda welcomes you every morning with a good breakfast. On the first morning she made us pancakes, fresh cut up watermelon and pineapple, eggs, toast and good coffee. You are welcome to use the coffee maker, toaster and microwave as long as you do all the clean up. The Inn is NOT at the beach, the nearest beach is a 15 minute walk, or you can rent a golf car.
We visited Contadora at Carnaval and it was still quiet, we had most of the 5 beaches to ourselves. The beaches are wonderful, clean turquoise water and the sads feels more like powder sugar then sand.
The island transport you back to the 1960, the way Bermuda felt back then, quiet, uncomplicated with lots of beautiful flowering bushes all over the island.
We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Book the Pelican room, it spacious with 1 double bed and a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameer815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contadora Island
0.0 mi away
Mar & Oro
Mar & Oro
#1 of 1 in Contadora Island
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.0 mi away
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
Hibiscus House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Contadora Island
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Perla Real Inn
Perla Real Inn
#5 of 6 in Contadora Island
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Gerald's
B&B Gerald's
#6 of 6 in Contadora Island
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Sol
Casa del Sol
#4 of 6 in Contadora Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contadora Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contadora Island Inn

Property: Contadora Island Inn
Address: Archipelago de Las Perlas | Beachfront, Panama Province, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Pearl Islands > Contadora Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Contadora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Contadora Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Contadora Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contadora Island Hotel Contadora Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing