We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Tortuga italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Tortuga

Casa Tortuga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: It is a new restaurant on the Island of Contadora - much needed to expand the choices. I would like to share this gem as it is tucked away in the residential neighborhood and new.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Casa Tortuga italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Casa Tortuga is the place to eat good and simply pasta and pizza in town. There are no much choices in Contadora, so you should try Casa Tortuga making reservations, because is the best restorant in my point of view. It´s only for eating and wine. The place could be better and cleaner. The pasta is home made it is very nice. There are only 2 choices, except for pizzas. Prices are quite high.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    65
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Reservation is a must for this popular restaurant! Food is delicious and service was amazing. When we went the Island was experiencing the worst drought in recent history, so we ate on colorful plastic plates! They also had a big party to cater for from the "survivor" crew, but our service and food was still superb! Wished I had eaten there every night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meggoesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Piero's Casa Tortuga BEST dining experience on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've been living on the island for over a year and a half and I recommend all clients, family and friends to dine at Casa Tortuga. The small intimate atmosphere is a great way to meet island locals and other travelers. Piero is a very talented chef and his creations are amazing!

It's because of his PIZZA we are able to continue living on the island! If you are a pizza lover, CASA TORTUGA is a must!

Without a doubt, Casa Tortuga must be part of your trip to Contadora!

GRACIAS PIERO + Casa Tortuga Family!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We made a reservation for my 29th Birthday and never have I had such amazing service. Piero and his AMAZING wife were such characters. The food was GREAT and they went out of their way to make my birthday special. We walked there from the beach (where we were achored) and got a bit lost on the way home but it was a birthday I will never forget.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pietro is a great cook. We had focaccia as an entree, pasta with sea food as a first dish, red snapper and potatoes as second dish, and a sweet desert. It was fantastic! Don't miss going there if you visit Contadora Island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Tortuga also viewed

Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 

Been to Casa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing