We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian to die for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Tortuga

Casa Tortuga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: It is a new restaurant on the Island of Contadora - much needed to expand the choices. I would like to share this gem as it is tucked away in the residential neighborhood and new.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Italian to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our supper at Casa Tortuga. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Piero is a super chef. Lots of food. Little pricey but would go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    63
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Homey Enviroment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had read reviews of how good this restaurant was, so we decided to try it, even though I am not an Italian food lover. It was a three course meal, salad, pasta & postre and it was delicious. Our hotel booked our reservation and said they would pick us up at 7:30. That was a great surprise and really appreciated. We ate at a communal table and got to meet two other interesting couples. The whole experience was delightful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bankerross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My hubs and I went here for our first nights dinner for our honeymoon here. The experience was amazing and thebestbfoodnwe have had so far in panama. Piero his gorgeous wife and his family exercise remarkable attention to detail when it comes to the entire dining experience. And they treat you like you are their first and only customer. Our meal was pasta grilled fish and frilled eggplant finished off with a an island fruit sorbet. We ate eveything. Come here with an empty stomach. Pay in cash and do make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Missryder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best place for dinner on Contadora Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Two words. A Mazing. The set menu when we went was a shrimp salad (fresh greens) with crispy flatbreads buttered with a tomato sauce. Our entrée was grilled amberjack (whitefish) alongside some eggplant and red peppers that were also grilled. Desert was a passion fruit mousse and it was outstanding. Everything is fresh and so flavorful.

The atmosphere here is really cool. We dined with a couple from France/Argentina, and between our English, broken Spanish, and French (Canadian) we were able to carry on a conversation all night. When you’re finished your dinner you can sign the wall too!
Piero has wine and beer available, but also allows you to bring your own bottle.

I wish he was open every night we were on the island as we would have eaten there every night. Just a treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loving Casa Tortuga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I just fell in love with this place. Piero the owner, his wife and even his little son treated us like royalty. Fresh ingredients and great taste made the night perfect for all of us. And I can say that pizza was delicious, fully recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TanitaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Tortuga also viewed

Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 

Been to Casa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing