We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Doesn't get better”
Guest house on ocean front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest house on ocean front
Villa Marquez (street view towards water)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Guest house on ocean front
Villa Marquez (street view towards water)
Steps to private beach
Private Beach
Villa Marquez Private Beach
Nearby beach ¨Executive Beach¨
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands, Panama Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Luvleggs
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have nothing but great things to say about our stay. Where to start? Excellent communication, pickup on arrival, tour of the island, Apartment aired out and cool upon arrival, ready supply of beer, water and coke brought up by Carlos shortly after getting settled at prices that were way better than on the island, Jerry answered all our questions and was available whenever, great price on Golf Cart as well.

The facilities are top notch, full kitchen, wireless was the best we had during our trip, beds were comfortable, rarely needed aircon with the trade winds keeping everything comfortable.

Stairs down to your own personal beach, Jerry suggested that Executive beach was nicer for swimming and sure enough the 5 minute stroll down the hill was worth it, gorgeous cove, perfect water and nobody to there.

Would highly recommend to anyone unless they want to let me live there for free ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adagal13
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay on Contadora”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Marquez for 2 nights last week (September 2014). We had a great stay and enjoyed the guest house immensely. The Villa is a private unit, very well kept and clean. Great hosts made cheap beer and water available for purchase and a golf cart rental at about half the price of the others on the island.

This place is fully equipped with kitchen utensils, a gas range, BBQ and other essentials. It is located close to Playa Caracol and Playa Executiva, which was our favorite beach.

I would recommend this property to anyone and would stay again, myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and private beach access.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach D
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa in an Amazing Destination”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights and we were both in love with the island and the house. The place is gorgeous and well taken care of, and the hosts were welcoming and very friendly and informative. We rented a golf-cart at a fraction of the cost of other places, and the house itself is unbeatable for the price. I would recommend this to anyone going to Contadora, I don't think you'll find a better value anywhere on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How beautiful the house was
Liked least: That we had to leave so soon
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebOnTheW...
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place - Perfect for Relaxing”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great time staying at Villa Marquez. The pictures don't do it justice - it's even nicer in person. We'd start each morning enjoying a cup of coffee on the balcony and end our nights sitting out there as well. The place was clean, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. As another reviewer said, Adriana and Jerry were very helpful when needed but respected our privacy as well.

We had fun snorkeling off the beach below the property and walking to Playa Executiva just a short walk away. If you enjoy snorkeling then we recommend going to Playa Larga. Go at low tide and enter the water near the abandoned ferry. You'll see some dark spots slightly to the left - this is a beautiful reef that's only about 5 feet below the surface at low tide.

The island is so small that it was easy to take a stroll into town when we chose to eat out. One day we rented Adriana and Jerry's mule (golf cart but runs on gas). It was a fun way to tour the whole island and at a significant savings over renting one in town.

From picking us up at the ferry and orienting us to the island, sharing favorite recipes and taking us to the runway to leave, Adriana and Jerry were wonderful hosts. We'd love to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohmeohmay
san francisco bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beatiful condo with wonderful beach & great hosts!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a wonderful three day/two night stay at Adriana and Jerry's condo and are already plotting a trip back! It was our second time on Contadora and we liked this visit even more.

The home is spacious and airy, no AC needed. Everything is super clean and well maintained. Adriana and Jerry are so helpful with everything from stopping at the grocery to wholesale rates for beer and Coke to a cheap golf cart rental.

The beach is beautiful and completely private, a bit rocky so bring waterproof shoes with which to navigate. We spent all day down there and had it to ourselves.

The island itself if beautiful, with beaches that compare to the best of any Caribbean or Central American location we have visited. Everyone is very friendly and the food at the local places near the airstrip is delicious! Definitely bring some food with you on the ferry as grocery stores are very expensive.

Thank you so much, Adriana and Jerry and Frida the dog! We hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia K
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse - would definitely come back”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Visited the villa with my husband and his brother and had a great time. Villa is a guesthouse on the owner's property, but it is a complete house of it's own. Rooms were spacious and the living room, dining area and kitchen has everything you need. Comfortable beds and chairs. Also has a nice balcony with a gas grill. Villa is located in a very quiet, residential area which gets pitch black in the evenings. Only downside is that it doesn't have an ocean view but the price justifies it. House has access to private beach which, in my personal opinion, has the best snorkeling in all Contadora. Owners Adriana and Jerry were very helpful in everything we needed, as they are right next door. They also introduced us to Gustavo, a local guide who showed us whales, took us to the other islands and helped us catch a fish.
I would recommend this place to everyone I know.

One this though is that Adriana's cell does not seem to work well sometimes so you should also call the home number.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself
Liked least: sometimes it was hard to reach owner on cellphone
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin5...
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
“Great People, Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My friends and I stayed at this beautiful house, located 3 minutes walking from one of the nicest beaches on the island. The owners were extremely friendly, helpful and respectful of our privacy. The house was fully furnished, really clean and an absolute pleasure to rent. We all enjoyed our time there, and I will definitely be staying there again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the house
Liked least: There were some bees, but the owners quickly removed them
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing