We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Med smell”

Restaurante Romantico
Price range: $9 - $24
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Med smell”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Don't go there....big disappointment. This people can't even make good eggs. Over and easy doesn't mean over and over cooked crisp.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aurora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    53
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeside, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I would give it ZERO points if that was an option!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Avoid this place at all costs. The view was great, and that is it. We couldn't get anyone to serve us. When the young server finally came over after playing on his iphone, he looked annoyed. Took our order...didn't come to our table for another 1/2 hour. (Mind you, we are the only people there! Seriously!) I got up and served myself my own coffee that I ordered! Food was beyond gross. Pressed lunch meat? Wonder bread? Twelve dollars for food I wouldn't serve to my dog? Yikes. We never went back after visiting this place on our first day on the island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montanaboysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
1,083 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“What is a croque-monsieur?”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

It certainly is not a grilled cheddar cheese with toasted bread, dry like Sahara. Where was the béchamel? Emmental or Gruyere? Isn't that what you should get for $12?

The salad was not washed properly, I kept biting in to dirt or sand. The onion on the tomato was just overpowering. Service was slow. No English spoken.

Ok - don't want to be all negative so let's bring on the positives, or rather the positive - the view is great!


Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Run down place”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 5 years ago and went back for dinner one year ago. We did not like what we saw at that occasion, but met the new French owner. So we thought, we will not stay at the hotel, but will check out the restaurant and stay a moment at the very nice beach. We saw immediately that the place further deterioated. The beach is a mess. On the way down (nobody bothers to repair the steps) garbage everywhere. Most deck chairs are broken. Some very small parasols for rent at $10. Ridiculous. Needless to say that all 4 just stood there alone. We stayed a couple of minutes, had a swim and then to the restaurant. No chance to take a shower or wash your feet, which of course were full of sand. The waiters are very friendly and efficient. The food was good. This places has one of the best locations of the whole island. What a shame that nothing is done about it to bring the hotel and restaurant up to a certain level. We would stay at this place every year and would recommend it to our many friends who travel around Panama.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FranzinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a stop for lunch as There was no other opportunities for lunch around playa cacique
Finally quite expensive for what it is, poor service, not very good food
Feeling of being caught by à catch-tourist place
Excellent view but it is the case everywhere at contadora

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toultour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Romantico also viewed

Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
Contadora Island, Pearl Islands
 

Been to Restaurante Romantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing